Kia Sorento 2010

Pentux

On 12/13/2010 at 3:36 PM, Sko said:

seems Sorento is now available only in the SX edition and it is going for 139,999 ... ...

heng ah...bought the car early..otherwise no $$$ buy new car

The headlamp condensation issue:

Feedback to Kia during 1k servicing and they did a test which confirmed that there is a leakage somewhere. The headlamps need to be replaced.

Btw, the service was efficient, in and out in 2 hrs.

Actually I am scouting around for a 7-seater SUV with good gadgets, gd FC, gd price....which I found out that it's impossible... [laugh]

CRV and Tucson is a 5-seater SUV leh...Santa Fe is a 7-seater SUV and wow..it looks really cool man the exterior...but interior I din notice much...

Did they replace the headlamp on the same day or need to go back another day? Sending mine in for 1K these coming Friday and also to fix the condensation problem.

Edited by Hp72

  On 12/15/2010 at 11:19 AM, Sko said:

The headlamp condensation issue:

Feedback to Kia during 1k servicing and they did a test which confirmed that there is a leakage somewhere. The headlamps need to be replaced.

Btw, the service was efficient, in and out in 2 hrs.

Hi Sko,

Where did you service your car? Need your feedback as my car also faced headlamp condensation issue and went to leng kee on my 1K service.

They took it for leak test but found not leaking. They assure me can change anything as under warranty for 5 years.... They told me already feedback Korea

on the issue. It seems that it is a normal as per instruction manual on headlamp fogging. What rubbish? They do not even know what they are talking about.

Need to go to the correct party to rectify this issue.

On 12/15/2010 at 1:57 PM, Kurrypokteh said:

Actually I am scouting around for a 7-seater SUV with good gadgets, gd FC, gd price....which I found out that it's impossible... [laugh]

CRV and Tucson is a 5-seater SUV leh...Santa Fe is a 7-seater SUV and wow..it looks really cool man the exterior...but interior I din notice much...

hi Kurrypokteh, i think if you want good FC, 7 seaters by default are drinkers, especially if you compare against your current Vios. I know of only 1 small engine 7 seater; VW Touran. The others are all guzzlers; sorento, santa fe etc. Oh yah, there's also the mpvs; stream, wish etc? I dont know much about the Wish, but i hear its FC is typical of toyota engines; quite good.

  On 12/16/2010 at 1:04 AM, Ltlysn said:

Hi Sko,

Where did you service your car? Need your feedback as my car also faced headlamp condensation issue and went to leng kee on my 1K service.

They took it for leak test but found not leaking. They assure me can change anything as under warranty for 5 years.... They told me already feedback Korea

on the issue. It seems that it is a normal as per instruction manual on headlamp fogging. What rubbish? They do not even know what they are talking about.

Need to go to the correct party to rectify this issue.

@ Ltlysn: Went to Kia SC Eunos.

@Hp72: They place an order for the hdlamps which is estimated to arrive in 3 to 4 weeks. Will be notified when the stock arrives.

Cheers.

I just bring my to Pandan Garden to today for 1K servicing and to rectify the fogging. The service guy did some modification to the headlight ventilation to allow more balance of temperature between outside and inside. Today, did not the see the fogging under light rain. Will wait for heavy rain and see again. [:)]

Would like to check does the aircon "Clean" indicator turn on when it does the ion clean? Did not notice any "Clean" indicator on sign even when there exhaust gas coming in from outside when using outside air intake mode.

Can I check is installing aftermarket DRL onto our headlights is it legal or illegal?

I've seen many aftermarket DRL being installed onto Hondas and other makes that does not have factory fitted DRL.

  On 12/24/2010 at 4:16 PM, Lycanthrope said:

guys any comments on sorento's power ??? is it under powered ?

So you bought a Tucson or Santa Fe? How was your ride?

Power Wise, I guess its up to individual, for me, I am so used to vtec. The pick up is not as power as Vtec Engine but so far I find my ride very smooth.

It pop up to 120km without notice, knn must keep track on the speedo, wahahah.

Over taking was not much of a problem.

Picking up from traffic stop or right turn, i will say good pick up for a car that big.

Tried mounting up curb to turn out due to narrow lane with car blocking in front.

Front Tyre were about less than 5 cm away from curb and it just crossover with out much effort from me.

If you are on highway and being tailgate you can switch to manual & drop gear to pick up speed, of course on vtec engine, I dont really have to do that wahahaha.

No complaint from me and my family so far. [thumbsup]

But still need to maintain the speedo tracking as I travel 80% on Highway.

QUOTE (Lycanthrope @ Dec 25 2010, 12:16 AM)

guys any comments on sorento's power ??? is it under powered ?

So far for me, i still find the power average. The ride ist still nice for me... hehe

On 12/25/2010 at 9:21 AM, Kurrypokteh said:

Can I check is installing aftermarket DRL onto our headlights is it legal or illegal?

I've seen many aftermarket DRL being installed onto Hondas and other makes that does not have factory fitted DRL.

dun tink illegal...can chk with LTA first if u wan...anyway, sorento got DRL to fix? how much isit?

i am planning to buy tecno hydro spray for self washing..wonder anyone here got experience using such?

saw karcher 2.14 model at carrefour...but the water must plug into a tap..cannot use bucket of water...hmmm...