BuB Neutral Newbie November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 I checked on the Sorento Fuel cover before in the Show room, it can't be open, so I ask the sale person and was told that car is disable, unable to pop open the cover. But when I test drive, I press the Fuel Cover and it pop and the SE close it back for me, wahahahaha Sportage was not available at that time so dint try it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurrypokteh 1st Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 ok so the demo Sorento in the showroom has disabled the fuel door cover huh...got such thing one meh? but if the test drive vehicle can pop open the fuel door cover then gd...cos I read earlier post, it did not pop open after a few times at the petrol station, so malu for the owner...needed the attendent's help in knocking on the cover to pop open it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurrypokteh 1st Gear November 18, 2010 Share November 18, 2010 ya i saw that ad in the 2nd hand website..stated that owner upgrade as the reason...Sorento already still can upgrade to what car, i wonder....somemore only 5 months old...wonder if the Sorento was an impulse buy by the owner... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 I checked on the Sorento Fuel cover before in the Show room, it can't be open, so I ask the sale person and was told that car is disable, unable to pop open the cover. But when I test drive, I press the Fuel Cover and it pop and the SE close it back for me, wahahahaha Sportage was not available at that time so dint try it. U mean the fuel capcan be disable to prevent it for opening? So high tech eh?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 ya i saw that ad in the 2nd hand website..stated that owner upgrade as the reason...Sorento already still can upgrade to what car, i wonder....somemore only 5 months old...wonder if the Sorento was an impulse buy by the owner... Maybe upgrade to a Porsche Cayenne?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cttan456 2nd Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 (edited) Sorento is currently the best selling Kia model in 2010 in the US. The engine is the Theta II engine used in many models in Kia, Hyundai and Mitsubishi range of cars. Its not a brand new engine but it is still very up to date and has proven itself in its many applications so I wouldn't worry about the engine. Edited November 19, 2010 by Cttan456 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuB Neutral Newbie November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 I think the key remote is not there or something. Let me go check kekekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuB Neutral Newbie November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 I am afraid of that too, if the station long Q, plus you have no petrol. KNS liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 i tried to pop open the fuel door at leng kee. first try cannot. after that SE explained that have to press longer. after that it worked. dunno is tyco or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BurpBerry Neutral Newbie November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 Hi Pentux I ordered it from JL Sim Lim at Serangoon Gardens. Cost me $180 including installation. Hi Bro, Just gotten my COE. A few questions to ask you about your ICE setup. When you install the DVD (pioneer avh4250). The controls at the steering wheels still can use? How about the Iphone controls? still can use? Or need to install extra "modules" from Uncle Lim again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged November 19, 2010 Share November 19, 2010 i tried to pop open the fuel door at leng kee. first try cannot. after that SE explained that have to press longer. after that it worked. dunno is tyco or not electronic ah? i don't like electronic stuff leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 electronic ah? i don't like electronic stuff leh yeah its electronic. but the SE told me there's another manual catch elsewhere if the button fails. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentux 1st Gear November 20, 2010 Author Share November 20, 2010 Hi Bro, Just gotten my COE. A few questions to ask you about your ICE setup. When you install the DVD (pioneer avh4250). The controls at the steering wheels still can use? How about the Iphone controls? still can use? Or need to install extra "modules" from Uncle Lim again? they need to install additional control for your steering wheel functionality. but ipod controls on steering will not work except volume. cannot chg song... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sko Neutral Newbie November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 The undercarriage rust proofing was not mention, so I take it as a no. as I dont see those black sticky(spray) thing. Sealant CS-II is an additional paint protection (Similar to Grooming, wash & wax) job for the ride. kekekeke Just to revisit the issues of rust-proofing and sealant cs-ii (aka glazing?). Been informed that these can be done for $385 and $165 respectively by Kia motor before delivery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuB Neutral Newbie November 20, 2010 Share November 20, 2010 Fuel Cover Tested 10 time on the show room's unit. IT POPS. Long press and short press, it still open. [On the Button] When depress the hook went off and while released the hook came back. So I tried closing the cover Hard/ Lightly and Flip, its still open. Guess its okey bah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 Just to revisit the issues of rust-proofing and sealant cs-ii (aka glazing?). Been informed that these can be done for $385 and $165 respectively by Kia motor before delivery. even if you keep the car for 10 yrs, rust proofing is a waste of money. for sealant, matter of personal choice.. $165 sounds like gd price for CSII Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BurpBerry Neutral Newbie November 21, 2010 Share November 21, 2010 they need to install additional control for your steering wheel functionality. but ipod controls on steering will not work except volume. cannot chg song... PM me what is the damage of the extra module? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divedarren Neutral Newbie November 22, 2010 Share November 22, 2010 ok so the demo Sorento in the showroom has disabled the fuel door cover huh...got such thing one meh? but if the test drive vehicle can pop open the fuel door cover then gd...cos I read earlier post, it did not pop open after a few times at the petrol station, so malu for the owner...needed the attendent's help in knocking on the cover to pop open it. >> That malu owner was me :-( happened again just yesterday. This time no attendant and i was alone, so i hit the button -> run to the back and knock the cover -> wont open -> run to the front hit the button again -> run back again. Like playing telematch. Finally it popped open. So much for a 7 month old supposedly "flagship model" for Kia. So far -> 1. stuck signal indicator (you flip it to signal -> it never flips back no matter how much you turn the wheel) 2. non-opening petrol cap cover But engine is fine, starts well, no shuddering. Feel free to ask any questions about the Sorento, i'm not a Kia employee nor an expert, but have driven it for 7 months now and will try to help answer any queries to help you guys make good buying decisions. The 2nd hand Sorento for sale -> it sure looks alot like Bodyglove's ride (another first batch pioneer Sorento owner). Hey Bodyglove, are you still in the forum? Bro you sold your ride ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...