Achiever Neutral Newbie April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 What else have you install after you get your Sorento? Care to enlighten? Would like to know, has anyone install other things like Voltage Stabliser, Cable, Alarm etc; other than the Side Step which one of the bro here shown in his picture? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanse098 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 Got the cargo cover or tonneau cover if it is also called. Got the contact from bro Sgsorento...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinoman Neutral Newbie April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 Hi New Sorento owners,, Congrats on yr new ride.. ! Sure u must be loving riding on yr new ride..! I read thru all the posts here,, thinking of visiting this Sun to test drive.. still in few minds if I will want a SUV 2.4 Sorento. EX $109k SX $119k. Sure it is a nice SUV, love all its stuff... Can some kind Sorento owners advice the FC ? does it drink ?? Pros & Cons of the new Sorento... Appreciate yr input, & I can firm my mind better. Big thanks in advance to u all ... Sorentos !! Hi I just collected my EX today. Drove about 120km so far. Here are my thots: Drive is quiet. good insulation. First gear a bit drag. But once it reaches about 40kmh upwards, the ride becomes smooth. FC about 10.5 to 12 litres per 100km. Tried the SX audio and compare with my EX. Not much diif coz the 4 additional speakers are a lil' far from driver's seat. But definitely better if you're sitting in the middle of the car, ie. the 2nd row passengers. No luggage cover. So for now the stuff are exposed. Man Can Do sells them. Heard they're out of stock though. If anyone else knows where to buy them, pls advise. The aircon is bloody cold. The car is huge. I tell u, itz bigger than u and i think. I parked beside a forrester and a Harrier. It looks huge. Parking is a real prob man. Itz long n wide. I pride myself as a good parker, but I needed my mum to get down and hold two flags to guide me. Damn sia suay. Hopefully this is temporary. Itz v comfortable except that shorties like my mum found it hard to get in. Itz definitely value for money. Lots of features and very comfortable with reasonable handling. I saw quite a few SORENTOS, black, white, bronze, silver. Good luck to those waiting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SunnyGary Neutral Newbie April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 Congrats to all the new owners of sorento! Hope you are going to enjoy yr ride just as i am doing for mine now. FC for me is about 7-9km/L. Still haven't got a steady average yet. The car is indeed very big. Parking lots which are slightly narrower would mean the car just fit into the lines only. I checked with my SE and he says after pressing the engine stop button to switch the engine off, I will have to press the button again (without pressing the brake pedal) to turn on my radios and stuff. Unlike conventional ignition type using key where there's the ACC without switching everything off. I'm also looking for the luggage cover and side step. Btw, the car keys provided do not have alarm features. No sound is emitted either when i press and hold the boot unlock button. (Maybe the other two buttons may have other uses, haven't checked that.) However, the indicator lights blink a few times. If any of you guys have contacts for the alarm, please PM me. Thanks in advance. As for sound system, I believe the subwoofer is at the dashboard area. In any case, i'm no expert on sound systems but as it is now, I'm very happy with the sound quality already. Do any of you find that your headlights are shining at the other cars a little bit too high? My fren who was in front of me commented that the lights were a bit glaring in his rearview mirror. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tankie Neutral Newbie April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 I also find the headlights shining a bit too high, like I'm highbeaming everyone in front of me Still fiddling here and there, trying to know my new toy a bit better each time I drive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinoman Neutral Newbie April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 I'm also looking for the luggage cover and side step. Hey guys, I just contacted a shop (not Mancando coz they're out of luggage covers and do not carry spoilers n roof racks) selling accessories for korean cars for luggage cover and spoiler and roof racks (for EX owners). She said she'll call her supplier to order. Are there any of you who are interested in any of the above? Do indicate (via PM so that I don't have to track the thread all the time to note the interests) what items you are keen in so that we can order in bulk. If there are sufficent interest for bulk orders, I'll reveal the shop's name and contact so that the pricings will be transparent to all potential buyers before payment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckdon Neutral Newbie April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 I am interested in the spoiler and side steps. Let me know if there are good deals around! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bodyglove Neutral Newbie April 18, 2010 Share April 18, 2010 Hey guys, I just contacted a shop (not Mancando coz they're out of luggage covers and do not carry spoilers n roof racks) selling accessories for korean cars for luggage cover and spoiler and roof racks (for EX owners). She said she'll call her supplier to order. Are there any of you who are interested in any of the above? Do indicate (via PM so that I don't have to track the thread all the time to note the interests) what items you are keen in so that we can order in bulk. If there are sufficent interest for bulk orders, I'll reveal the shop's name and contact so that the pricings will be transparent to all potential buyers before payment. I'm interested in the lugguage cover and side steps! Yesterday went to do the paper works.. Yipee.. Finally.. but burn a big hole in my pocket... issue cheque to C&C, AIG, and DBS.. My SE told me that my ride is currently "naked"... They'll start to "dress up" my ride on Tues and it shld be rdy by mid of next week!! While I was doing my paper work yesterday, i really feel bad for the SEs.. ther were only 3 customers in the premise... after I finished my paper work, there was ZERO customers.. all the SEs were sitting at the refreshment area chit chating... Wah lau, compared to the time when I went to C&C in Feb, u basically got to get the SE attention for enqueries... and have to wait for half an hr for test drive.. itz like a market... But now.. COE not only kills the buyers, it also kills the career of the SEs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentux 1st Gear April 18, 2010 Author Share April 18, 2010 I'm interested in the lugguage cover and side steps! Yesterday went to do the paper works.. Yipee.. Finally.. but burn a big hole in my pocket... issue cheque to C&C, AIG, and DBS.. My SE told me that my ride is currently "naked"... They'll start to "dress up" my ride on Tues and it shld be rdy by mid of next week!! While I was doing my paper work yesterday, i really feel bad for the SEs.. ther were only 3 customers in the premise... after I finished my paper work, there was ZERO customers.. all the SEs were sitting at the refreshment area chit chating... Wah lau, compared to the time when I went to C&C in Feb, u basically got to get the SE attention for enqueries... and have to wait for half an hr for test drive.. itz like a market... But now.. COE not only kills the buyers, it also kills the career of the SEs... but did your SE tell u how long it takes to process? mine say likely end of the month. like a bit too long like tat when i did my paperwork on thur..sat went down to settle old car loan...anyway how much is your insurance? mine like is $1.7k 20% ncd (tis year is my 3rd year but not due yet..so like kenna eaten like tat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bodyglove Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 but did your SE tell u how long it takes to process? mine say likely end of the month. like a bit too long like tat when i did my paperwork on thur..sat went down to settle old car loan...anyway how much is your insurance? mine like is $1.7k 20% ncd (tis year is my 3rd year but not due yet..so like kenna eaten like tat... My SE told me will be ard 7-10days... Actually want to collect the ride on weekend, but it is a Good Friday.. So no choice, told her weekday.. So she said try to rush for me on the week b4 the PH... My insurance is $1030... I got 50% NCD... : I'm a safe Haha... Maybe those bros who had collected their rides can share with us how long it takes from paper works to collecting the car. Tx! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divedarren Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 mornin bros, (and a special shout-out to bodyglove), i finally collected my sx last saturday after 4 months waiting. Feedback: similar to what the others wrote about about ride comfort, quiet cabin, solid built etc. Bottomline: its a driver's car; very nice to drive for long distance, and one of the most comfy seats ive experienced, esp the electric lumbar support Kia has definitely come a long way, it feels more like a continental car inside. I think its only downside is its badge name; unfortunately still alot of badge snobs in our country. Got 2 colleagues who freaked out when i told them i bought a kia, saying i made a big mistake etc etc, but once they saw the specs, these 2 clowns suddenly (and quietly) start asking me more details about the sorento cos they were interested! jokers man.. hey dinoman, u collected ur car on saturday too ya? i saw an EX at the pandan collection centre, a darkish color, maybe that was yours :-) total i saw 4 sorentos at the collection centre carpark; 3 SX, 1 EX. fuel consumption not too bad for its size, but yeah, i agree on the parking; its a big fella when u have to park it in HDB carparks, u definitely need to take note of the RPAS sounds & watch your side mirrors carefully. Thankfully its got massive lorry-sized mirrors hahaha. But be careful when u first park it in small lots, dont rush in bros, take ur time, its a monster. p.s. hey bodyglove, re: paperwork timelag, i waited exactly 2 weeks from settling paperwork date to collecting ride, and burning hole in pocket too :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bodyglove Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 mornin bros, (and a special shout-out to bodyglove), i finally collected my sx last saturday after 4 months waiting. Feedback: similar to what the others wrote about about ride comfort, quiet cabin, solid built etc. Bottomline: its a driver's car; very nice to drive for long distance, and one of the most comfy seats ive experienced, esp the electric lumbar support Kia has definitely come a long way, it feels more like a continental car inside. I think its only downside is its badge name; unfortunately still alot of badge snobs in our country. Got 2 colleagues who freaked out when i told them i bought a kia, saying i made a big mistake etc etc, but once they saw the specs, these 2 clowns suddenly (and quietly) start asking me more details about the sorento cos they were interested! jokers man.. hey dinoman, u collected ur car on saturday too ya? i saw an EX at the pandan collection centre, a darkish color, maybe that was yours :-) total i saw 4 sorentos at the collection centre carpark; 3 SX, 1 EX. fuel consumption not too bad for its size, but yeah, i agree on the parking; its a big fella when u have to park it in HDB carparks, u definitely need to take note of the RPAS sounds & watch your side mirrors carefully. Thankfully its got massive lorry-sized mirrors hahaha. But be careful when u first park it in small lots, dont rush in bros, take ur time, its a monster. p.s. hey bodyglove, re: paperwork timelag, i waited exactly 2 weeks from settling paperwork date to collecting ride, and burning hole in pocket too :( *envy* I shall tahan for another 10 days to 2 wks!! Haha.. Totally agreed that Kimchi cars had come a long way... My last Kimchi car was abt 15 yrs ago with Elantra... Dun hv good experince with it... the gear box was rough, the body panel was soft... toward the end of my 7 yrs with it, I spent more on repairs then my monthly installment!! And I told myself, no more kimchi car for me... And I vow to stay with Sushi... Den comes Forte... Gosh, I really start to having a 2nd look at Kimchi... But I wasn't looking fwd to get another sedan... Had been driving Sedan & MPV before, so was aiming for SUV... checking the mkt for good SUV but couldn't find anything suitable... CRV, Crossroad, Forrester, Rav 4, etc all not value for $$... Ideally, it'll will be XC60, Q5.. but my $$ printer is not working.. Haha... So comes Tucson... nice to look at 1st sight, but lost the charm after a while... too curvy... and the ride is not smooth... So aft going thru all SUV that I can afford... Sorento is the best!! My OC is complaining that Sorento is so big that we are going to be seating further apart.. haha.. I too find that the car is huge cos' when I was test driving, that was a Toyota Rush infront of me.. It looks like I'm gona "sollow" it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divedarren Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 *envy* I shall tahan for another 10 days to 2 wks!! Haha.. Totally agreed that Kimchi cars had come a long way... My last Kimchi car was abt 15 yrs ago with Elantra... Dun hv good experince with it... the gear box was rough, the body panel was soft... toward the end of my 7 yrs with it, I spent more on repairs then my monthly installment!! And I told myself, no more kimchi car for me... And I vow to stay with Sushi... Den comes Forte... Gosh, I really start to having a 2nd look at Kimchi... But I wasn't looking fwd to get another sedan... Had been driving Sedan & MPV before, so was aiming for SUV... checking the mkt for good SUV but couldn't find anything suitable... CRV, Crossroad, Forrester, Rav 4, etc all not value for $$... Ideally, it'll will be XC60, Q5.. but my $$ printer is not working.. Haha... So comes Tucson... nice to look at 1st sight, but lost the charm after a while... too curvy... and the ride is not smooth... So aft going thru all SUV that I can afford... Sorento is the best!! My OC is complaining that Sorento is so big that we are going to be seating further apart.. haha.. I too find that the car is huge cos' when I was test driving, that was a Toyota Rush infront of me.. It looks like I'm gona "sollow" it... >> aiyah bro tell ur wife she can "rub elbows" with you on the centre panel arm rest lah.. both of u can rest ur elbows on it when driving and massage each other's elbows hahaha.. You are spot on on sorento being a top choice for its pricing point. Maybe now its pricey cos of COE, but previously when it was $89,999 or thereabouts, damn good value for money considering what features are thrown in. soon bro, soon.. your sorento already being fitted with the leather seats, ritecool etc at the workshop this week :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfisti168 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 any sorento owners' club here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bodyglove Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 >> aiyah bro tell ur wife she can "rub elbows" with you on the centre panel arm rest lah.. both of u can rest ur elbows on it when driving and massage each other's elbows hahaha.. You are spot on on sorento being a top choice for its pricing point. Maybe now its pricey cos of COE, but previously when it was $89,999 or thereabouts, damn good value for money considering what features are thrown in. soon bro, soon.. your sorento already being fitted with the leather seats, ritecool etc at the workshop this week :) Wah lau bro... So mushy!! haha.. My SE told me they'll only "dress" my ride up tmr... hehe.. BTW, how many key fob did Sorento comes with? Alfisti168: Dun think that is any official Sorento Club yet... As u can see, the active members who posted here is not more than the numbers of fingers u have.. haha.. Maybe when more bros here collected their rides, den we can arrange for meet up... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hueywong Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Can any1 pls advise if I should apply sealant coat or anti-rust to my clear white SX? It's been less than a week and it's already quite dirty cos' of my car park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divedarren Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Wah lau bro... So mushy!! haha.. My SE told me they'll only "dress" my ride up tmr... hehe.. BTW, how many key fob did Sorento comes with? Alfisti168: Dun think that is any official Sorento Club yet... As u can see, the active members who posted here is not more than the numbers of fingers u have.. haha.. Maybe when more bros here collected their rides, den we can arrange for meet up... hey it comes with 2 key fobs. If u leave one in the car the door wont lock; its smart enough to detect key fob left inside car and wont lock you out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bodyglove Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 hey it comes with 2 key fobs. If u leave one in the car the door wont lock; its smart enough to detect key fob left inside car and wont lock you out. Wow.. datz cool.. so can leave 1 at hm for spare use... Juz saw a Bronze EX and SX at GE carpark... sibei sui... Haha... Guess the SX juz collected his ride... Any bros here park their Sorento at GE carpark? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...