Darryn Turbocharged February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Frankly speaking my friend, $8k cap for couple is not reasonable.. There are plenty out there combined income easily > $8k. Just throw one stone, there is one couple standing right beside you.~ For like couples of $8k ~ $12k, get private property is too taxing for them. Want to get HDB, must get bank loan. Even more taxing..~ Personally, I think $8k cap should adjust accordingly, same to single cap. There are private properties out there in the 400-600k range, just have to source around a little more, and be more willing to compromise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 1. Increase the number of ppl allowed to buy flat beyond the $8k salary cap will put upward pressure on prices. U sure u want? Furthermore that would mean that more than 80% of ppl will live in HDB. Very unhealthy for a country when more than 80% live in public housing. 2. For old uncle who complain his son buy from PR who made 110% profit. Why not u and ur son do some national service and DONT BUY FROM PR? 3. Simple solution is basic economics. Public housing of 80% itself is unsustainable. Now want more? Public goods are meant for defence and sewers. Not public housing. It is unsustainable. 4. Solution is to shut down HDB, release parcels of land for development. Nothing to complain. Should I argue, it's between me and developer. If I cant afford, then I'm daft, too bad. 5. There is no making singaporeans happy. If you 'solve the HDB problem', the ppl who own flats will complain. Shucks! If I cant sell my flat at a profit during resale, then I'm better off owning property overseas! Screw new couples. Who ask stupid girl marry poor man who cant put roof over their head? 6. Many of those whining in My Complain Forum dont really have a HDB issue. I suggest ppl hold their tongue. 80% of singaporeans own flats and can make money thru resale. Those newbies are sufferring. Life's unfair. Rock the boat, gahmen support new families, those of us who already own flats will take to the streets. 7. Those of you who own flats and disagree with me, can you honestly say you are willing to forgo your profit should you sell your HDB just so young couples can enjoy? Especially if you're selling to migrate oseas? Dont be so self righteous lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 That's why - If HDB truely public housing then remove the profit motive altogether. All HDB buy and sell at fixed price. Only problem will be to regulate pricing for more / less desirable areas - but I am sure govt can control this, can go by many different methods, if more than one person want to buy, then just go by ballot. Buy house from govt, sell back to govt if want to move. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 I remember they tried to Lelong most of their the balance stocks of unsold units, which could otherwise added as buffers to cushion the surge in demand. Building houses is not like masa masa or PNP, I am not a civil guy, but I think it takes 2 years to build. Pricing is too high. I stay in 4 room. But I dont want to be a HOUSE SLAVE, so I am reluctant to upgrade. They will come down-- 2 years time. How they price new flat... it's really Bo Bian. MP said still affordable. so maybe he expect people to eat air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 (edited) I had been thinking about this for quite some time now. Since HDB flats are meant for peasants then it should be affordable. I meant that a HDB flat shouldnt be seen as a money making tool for singaporeans. i think HDB should sell their new launches at a much lower price. Say for a 5 rm flat in pungol, hdb priced tham at about 400k with subsidy now. buy at 400k can sell in 5 yrs time, but i (HDB) know many young plp cant afford so i sell you at 200k but you cant sell for 30 yrs. die die must stay there, you plp complained cant afford right?All you need is a roof over your head? i give u a cheaper option to make sure you would not take advantage of the market movement. got 2 choices. good idea? can give some comments? This scheme is only for a singapore born citzen whose parents both are also born in Singapore. PR cant apply! because my ah gong & ah ma travel 30 days on a ship when sinkapore is just a fishing port they dunno this Sinkapore will sink or not. Have 13 Sinkapore children dunno the children will sink or not. They dunno how to play table tennis one. All my ah gong ah ma and 13 sinkapore kids dunno how to play Ping Pong one, cause they really really work hard one. Edited June 3, 2010 by Songsong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 its just a guess : all if not most of the members who posted or replied to this thread do not own a place of your own yet, right ? becoz if you already bought your unit, you won't be discussing on how to lower the value of your home. its clear cut demand and supply; a buyer will always hope to get that cheaper buy, whereas a seller will always hope to find that filthily rich willing buyer !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 1. Increase the number of ppl allowed to buy flat beyond the $8k salary cap will put upward pressure on prices. U sure u want? Furthermore that would mean that more than 80% of ppl will live in HDB. Very unhealthy for a country when more than 80% live in public housing. 2. For old uncle who complain his son buy from PR who made 110% profit. Why not u and ur son do some national service and DONT BUY FROM PR? 3. Simple solution is basic economics. Public housing of 80% itself is unsustainable. Now want more? Public goods are meant for defence and sewers. Not public housing. It is unsustainable. 4. Solution is to shut down HDB, release parcels of land for development. Nothing to complain. Should I argue, it's between me and developer. If I cant afford, then I'm daft, too bad. 5. There is no making singaporeans happy. If you 'solve the HDB problem', the ppl who own flats will complain. Shucks! If I cant sell my flat at a profit during resale, then I'm better off owning property overseas! Screw new couples. Who ask stupid girl marry poor man who cant put roof over their head? 6. Many of those whining in My Complain Forum dont really have a HDB issue. I suggest ppl hold their tongue. 80% of singaporeans own flats and can make money thru resale. Those newbies are sufferring. Life's unfair. Rock the boat, gahmen support new families, those of us who already own flats will take to the streets. 7. Those of you who own flats and disagree with me, can you honestly say you are willing to forgo your profit should you sell your HDB just so young couples can enjoy? Especially if you're selling to migrate oseas? Dont be so self righteous lah. absolutely well said ! I cannot agree more . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 Haha, wrong. I already paid up years ago. Need more space. But dun want to be house slave. So gramble, also shiok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 1. Increase the number of ppl allowed to buy flat beyond the $8k salary cap will put upward pressure on prices. U sure u want? Furthermore that would mean that more than 80% of ppl will live in HDB. Very unhealthy for a country when more than 80% live in public housing. I agree - dunt let people who can afford private buy HDB, but the real problem now is that the price of new HDB flats is much too high for 8k household familly. maid about - 1k (need maid cause 2 parents working + grandparent also got to work) Childcare - 1k per kid include pampers n milk give parents - $600 Car - 1.2k housing - 1.6k loan 3ook over 30yrs makan whole family - 1.2k misc -$500 =$7.1k left with $900 2. For old uncle who complain his son buy from PR who made 110% profit. Why not u and ur son do some national service and DONT BUY FROM PR? i Totally agree 3. Simple solution is basic economics. Public housing of 80% itself is unsustainable. Now want more? Public goods are meant for defence and sewers. Not public housing. It is unsustainable. Not in Singapore context. Sinkapore is unique with out it plp sinkapore will sink. if you take away HDB, plp will riot cause prices will shoot up so high until we have to rent from MNC that will buy these land parcel and create domitories for us to work for them. Singapore is like a beehive we all need holes to sleep in so that we can continue to make $$$ for this hive. HDB will always be there & and i hope they will be there, if not my children and yours will stay in a hole belonging to Microsoft or shell. 4. Solution is to shut down HDB, release parcels of land for development. Nothing to complain. Should I argue, it's between me and developer. If I cant afford, then I'm daft, too bad. I disagree - see number 3 above. I chinese and american developers got so much $$$$ and i am going to sink u. U capital land bid 300mil i will bid 400mil. Then i price my flats at 1mil per pop, u dunt buy? nevermind i wait. I got so much moolah that i can wait for decades. Look how the condo costa del sol own by hk tycoon did. he waited. he got so much moolah to wait. 5. There is no making singaporeans happy. If you 'solve the HDB problem', the ppl who own flats will complain. Shucks! If I cant sell my flat at a profit during resale, then I'm better off owning property overseas! Screw new couples. Who ask stupid girl marry poor man who cant put roof over their head? If you truely wants to live and die in singapore you will not complain how much your flat will fetch. HDB is about providing a shelter not about making money and leave the country with the $$$. If my 5rm can sell for 500k now and if i upgrade to an exec for 600k. It makes no dif if i sell for $5 and buy for $6. 6. Many of those whining in My Complain Forum dont really have a HDB issue. I suggest ppl hold their tongue. 80% of singaporeans own flats and can make money thru resale. Those newbies are sufferring. Life's unfair. Rock the boat, gahmen support new families, those of us who already own flats will take to the streets. I agree i have no HDB issue but i feel for the newbies. 7. Those of you who own flats and disagree with me, can you honestly say you are willing to forgo your profit should you sell your HDB just so young couples can enjoy? Especially if you're selling to migrate oseas? Dont be so self righteous lah. I dunt profit hor. if i sell i stay where? i sell at 500k then stay where? I dunt like angmo country, i dunt speak jap or korean. even if migrate also rent out hdb lar returns so much which idiot will sell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 (edited) 1. Increase the number of ppl allowed to buy flat beyond the $8k salary cap will put upward pressure on prices. U sure u want? Furthermore that would mean that more than 80% of ppl will live in HDB. Very unhealthy for a country when more than 80% live in public housing. I agree - dunt let people who can afford private buy HDB, but the real problem now is that the price of new HDB flats is much too high for 8k household familly. maid about - 1k (need maid cause 2 parents working + grandparent also got to work) last time no such thing as maid.... and though prices were lower... but so were the pay Childcare - 1k per kid include pampers n milk can't comment.. dun have but i last time no childcare though i have 2 working parents and i still turn out fine i am sure pampers n milk wun cost 1k/mth give parents - $600 i tot you say the parent or the child's grandparent is working? so is either maid or grandparent will look after the child.. so is double counting Car - 1.2k - this is a luxury.. if no money take bus... i now taking bus to work too. housing - 1.6k loan 3ook over 30yrs CPF based on 8k should be sufficient to pay. makan whole family - 1.2k eat less eat cheaper... misc -$500 have less misc then.... =$7.1k left with $900 Rubbish calculation.... playing very hard with numbers to try to prove your point. 6. Many of those whining in My Complain Forum dont really have a HDB issue. I suggest ppl hold their tongue. 80% of singaporeans own flats and can make money thru resale. Those newbies are sufferring. Life's unfair. Rock the boat, gahmen support new families, those of us who already own flats will take to the streets. I agree i have no HDB issue but i feel for the newbies. I am the newbie... just got married and just shifted into a place of my own last nov but i am not suffering, in fact, i am very comfortable financially..... i bought resale. bought from PR... but i dun give a damn how much he earn... i only care that i paid what i feel is a decent price now. the ex ex owner just came over last week.. she ask how much i bought the place.. i told her the price then she say like that the PR earn.. i told her... of cuz lar..... you sell that time you also earn mah.... so if dun want to earn then dun sell lor..... dun sell then PR no place to buy.... simple right.... it mostly all boils down to greed of human.... regardless of PR or SGP Edited June 3, 2010 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 anyway i dun understand why people say 8k not enough...... i am living very well with much lesser...... are their expectations too high? are their needs for luxury being blinded as necesscities? are they jealous that there are people profiting from the rise in HDB prices and they are not one of them? are they hoping to be spoonfed, to work less but earn more? are they facing peer pressure that people they know are doing better than them? questions questions questions......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UltraLiving Neutral Newbie June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 Instead of complaining about rising costs of properties and living, why don't we worry about how to make more money and beat the inflation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lamemonster Clutched June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 was looking around for flats in serangoon n amk area recently.... guess whats the price owner asking ? val $370k asking $470k for typical 4s non corner 86sqm at serangoon, cov $100K! val $650k asking $980K for rundown 5rm in amk ,cov $330K!!! tsk! tsk! tsk! this kind of cut throth pricing really turn me off....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 was looking around for flats in serangoon n amk area recently.... guess whats the price owner asking ? val $370k asking $470k for typical 4s non corner 86sqm at serangoon, cov $100K! val $650k asking $980K for rundown 5rm in amk ,cov $330K!!! tsk! tsk! tsk! this kind of cut throth pricing really turn me off....... if u r lookg for 4rm at amk area & less than 350k, it is not impossible. just a matter of whether did u specify look at the younger or older flat, location etc. thus if u r serious abt gettg a place, do yr homework before u hunt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 anyway i dun understand why people say 8k not enough...... i am living very well with much lesser...... are their expectations too high? are their needs for luxury being blinded as necesscities? are they jealous that there are people profiting from the rise in HDB prices and they are not one of them? are they hoping to be spoonfed, to work less but earn more? are they facing peer pressure that people they know are doing better than them? questions questions questions......... actually, its depends on the area. eg, In area like yishun, woodlands, sembawang.... family with lesser thann 7K pay can easily afford an EM. But for places like TPY, Bt Merah, Clementi & etc... its a bit tight to own a 5 room flat with anything lesser than 8K.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 actually, its depends on the area. eg, In area like yishun, woodlands, sembawang.... family with lesser thann 7K pay can easily afford an EM. But for places like TPY, Bt Merah, Clementi & etc... its a bit tight to own a 5 room flat with anything lesser than 8K.... u got a point there but to add on, i've seen family of 4 stayg in bigger unit e.g. EA/EM. Complained housework killing them so get a maid. Then complained their flat too far so get a car. thus, if they are realistic, want to be near town, can consider taking on a smaller unit, thus no need for maid nor car. basically, if one chooses to be slave to housing/car/luxury then they just have to pay for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leclair 3rd Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1034246/1/.html those in tampines who are not happy with the way HDB has been run, speak with your votes... this was the same minister who was originally tasked to bring S'pore to World Cup 2010, attended tons of Tiger beer functions (not sure doing what)... Last yr, we can't even win the SEA games gold for football I stay in tampines. I voted with my wish for freedom and to send a signal. but then others voted for the party the candidates are in ( not for the candidates , i think . I think some folks and older people just vote for anyone dressed in white- ugly or not, short or not, minister or not, capable or not, unrealistic ambitions or not, hated by everyone@whichever ministry he is at helm or not ( search for his past portfolio and you will get what i am trying to say). So as they say, the majority rules. But the minority will keep trying. And so long one do not give up or give in , one still has hope. Who else is with me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Have anyone think that the reason for our high HDB cost are due to those pple with combine income higher than 8K and want to buy a good location and are willing to pay a high cost for it. Hence pushing the price up? then this same group come in and complain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...