Unjustified parking fine?

Falc

Agree

From what I've read, TS is upset that the fine was not waived on the basis of his past record when he feels that his personal circumstances should've been taken into consideration. Whether he would have been satisfied had the response to his appeal said that he still has to pay the fine because the reviewing officer feels that the circumstances surrounding his case does not justify a waiver, only he knows.

Back to this case or any other appeal case for that matter, any waiver is essentially a matter of goodwill. To feel that one is justified to it, in the absence of an absolute error in the way a rule was implemented is, I'd think, a little overboard.

appela to MP

Better yet. Refuse to pay the fine and present his case to the judge. Don't forget to complain to the judge how it was only 5 minutes and how the officer in charge shouldn't have used his past records against him because it is unfair.

Oh wait, that's exactly what judges do.

If i remember correctly, there was this case when a man was fined for parking in a handicapped lot without a handicapped label. He refused to pay his fine, went to court. Presented himself in court and showed to the judge that he had a handicap (polio or something but something to do with his legs) where in another person with the same condition, was given the handicapped label.

The judge could see for himself the handicap but still ruled that he had to pay the fine for he had no handicapped label.

Think it was published in New Paper.

Send an appeal again. Generally, 5-10mins allowance should be reasonable unless you park at a location which cause great inconvenience to other road users.

Highlight the short timing and be humble, tell them you will make effort to park properly in future. gd luck. [bounce2]

If i remember correctly, there was this case when a man was fined for parking in a handicapped lot without a handicapped label. He refused to pay his fine, went to court. Presented himself in court and showed to the judge that he had a handicap (polio or something but something to do with his legs) where in another person with the same condition, was given the handicapped label.

The judge could see for himself the handicap but still ruled that he had to pay the fine for he had no handicapped label.

Think it was published in New Paper.

LL lor.. the guy never apply for the parking label, who to blame?

Wow your posting is longer than my appeal email ... lol ...

I only managed to read your conclusion at the end and the part underlined, but i think you deserve a reply on your pts underlined.

1) Past records are not usually good consideration for finding liability. When one is hauled up in court under charge, the judge is not supposed to know the guy's past record, if any, prior to sentencing.

2) I wasn't here to air any grievance. My purpose was to see if anyone knows if it is fruitful to re-appeal. If the roles are reversed, and someone in my shoe would ask for information, i would volunteer to share any experience i had. That's what i liked about this forum.

3) I wasn't contesting that they have to *agree* with my reasoning or justification. If they turned me down by specifically giving reasons why they rejected mine, i have no qualm, because i respect their decision and they had shown me their decision was a considered one, taking into account the reasons i gave. This they had NOT done, at least not from the content of the rejection email they sent me because the only reason given was my past record.

Anyway, the ticket was waived, thanks to all who offered sound advice. They now admitted that they would take into consideration individual case's merits .... , but also past record. Sorry to disappoint those who like to throw the first stone.

I got a $100 parking fine. And appealed too.

Was wondering do these officers actually do any checks? Or they just based on the reasons/excuses that were submitted. I submitted an excuse, hoping to reduce the fine.

Now those outsourced warden dun wait anymore.

Last time its was ok to park for 5-10 mins...cos the warden will come back later to see if your ride still around. Only 2nd time then they issue.

Anyway...I find that going to appeal face to face with officer easier. I kenna rejected cos of old waiver. They say waive off 4 time liao (twice was on the same day cos car was waiting for tow truck to come). They also rejected initially but you tell them your reasons etc...sometime they do waive it off.

Anyway...now many pple TL those warden liao...at my place got pple argue with them when they park outside the kopi shop to makan....pple take out their cams and start snapping...they also buay siong...pple tell them go park at the MSCP and tear coupon lah. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Since someone bumped this thread up, I guess I'll reply to this post.

Just last Saturday i was at Jalan Kayu CP waiting for someone, the parking warden was there making his rounds, he looked at me, i smiled and waved back and he said he gave that car 10mins but the owner isn't back yet so he fined it.

I guess SOME still do give grace period.

it could also be other road users or residents in the area took picture of your illegally parked car and sent the picture to the TP.

Yes, I strongly agree to that!!! I was summoned too for parking at loading/unloading bay $100 buck ANGBAO and guess what???The sumon was issued 4am in the morning....somethings, it is the freaking KPO neighbours wo called and complaint..any other situations, parking there is absolutely safe esp graveyard hours.

STUPID neighbours!!!! [rifle]

Not sure if anyone can share experience.

Me got a $100 angpow for parking beside (not at) loading/unloading bay becoz the bay was taken up. On the hazard light, rush up to 11th floor, pick up some heavy baby stuff from my sis, rushed down, and surprise to see white ang pow there. I thought it will be safe becoz i took less than 5 minutes in all and i wasn't blocking at all but road was yellow-lined.

Appealed online, they didn't consider the merits of the case just email back to say they have waived twice previously (years back) and that's it. Furthermore, those two times they waived were for tickets at my own season parking area. [bigcry]

I just felt they should have considered the genuineness of the circumstances instead of framing their reason over historical records.

Anyone knows if it will help to call them directly? Either way, i'm quite resigned with those people in gaberman already.

Can forget about appealing...1 lifetime 2 times wavier...i can attest to it. I am a 'victim' too.

I got a $100 parking fine. And appealed too.

Was wondering do these officers actually do any checks? Or they just based on the reasons/excuses that were submitted. I submitted an excuse, hoping to reduce the fine.

You would greatly bolster your case if you provide evidence or offer to provide evidence, eg if u book to go toilet coz laisao, then a doc's MC would be good evidence. [;)]

Actually I think HDB/URA easier to cham siong. And though the first time is always a templated answer, the 2nd time usually shows you they really look into the case. However, TP not that simple. Reply v v guai lan. 2nd appeal they will "threaten" you with bringing the case to court liao. haiz.. even claimed Summon pple can park their bikes illegally when other govt agencies clearly say that as long as not emergency cases, summon bikes are to be parked legally and obey the same rules "made for our safety" when they discharge their duties