Come election, how to decide who to vote for?

Christan

I think the opposition needs to send more credible and quality people to contest more wards and GRCs.

yes. . . please start sending someone who is credible. . .

On the same note, I really hope for the opposition to strategise their election effort. Chose the battleground and campaign wisely.

In my opinion, PAP is going to win Potong Pasir. Not because they are fielding good candidates, but because they have artifically altered the electorate profile of Potong Pasir by allowing a number of high density condos (One Leicester, Platinum Edge, etc) which will be pro PAP due to the 'negative' effects of a condo in an opposition ward. If these condo dwellers vote in favour of PAP, it will give PAP a very marginal victory, maybe 55%.

For GRC, it is a little worrying that Mr Chiam has expressed interest in PAP stronghold BishanTPY (nevermind about Wong Kan Sing). I hope all this is part of a publicity front for him to throw surprise to compete in another GRC come nomination day. Which GRC then? Perhaps the opposition should work together and revisit Aljunied and AMK since they did so well in the last election.

As for the campaigns, some possible topics:

1) Efffects of 7% GST

2) CPF withdrawal

3) Minister's Pay in the midst of downturn

4) PR and foreigner policies

5) Town Council's fiasco

6) The great escape....guess this will be covered in detail by CST.

7) It's an honest mistake.

Many who stayed in Changi actually also made one........

I agree, one too many cannot pardon.

But many actually only made one.......

[gossip] we need more voices from the opp!!

actually no. we need more voices from the people. pap does not give voice to the people. that's the difference.

next election, potong pasir will be lost.

CST going to GRC will also lose.

WP and Reform party each will shoot for a GRC. both will not win 1.

SDP is gone case in the minds of singaporeans.

End result of next election: Only LTK in Hougang left. (might even lose his seat if gerrymandering succeeds)

next election, potong pasir will be lost.

CST going to GRC will also lose.

WP and Reform party each will shoot for a GRC. both will not win 1.

SDP is gone case in the minds of singaporeans.

End result of next election: Only LTK in Hougang left. (might even lose his seat if gerrymandering succeeds)

do you have a crystal ball to see the future?? [:p]

but you might be right if we dun voiced out in the next election. . . [bigcry] [bigcry]

do you have a crystal ball to see the future?? [:p]

but you might be right if we dun voiced out in the next election. . . [bigcry] [bigcry]

LOL.. bro, if i had a crystal ball, i wouldn't use it to look at the elections, can't change the result and doesn't benefit myself. might as well look for 4D or TOTO.

I don't want to be right. I don't bother about it. not my gahmen, not my concern. heck, I might even go as far to say not my country. after all some ministar did say singapore is not a country.

seriously, so what if we got 5 or 6 WP or Reform party MPs? doesn't make any difference.

I might pay attention is enough ministars don't get elected.

I'd sit up if LKY and LHL lost.

I'd pop champaign if PAP lost.

But my so called crystal ball says next parliament might have 1 or 0 WP MPs.

LOL.. bro, if i had a crystal ball, i wouldn't use it to look at the elections, can't change the result and doesn't benefit myself. might as well look for 4D or TOTO.

I don't want to be right. I don't bother about it. not my gahmen, not my concern. heck, I might even go as far to say not my country. after all some ministar did say singapore is not a country.

seriously, so what if we got 5 or 6 WP or Reform party MPs? doesn't make any difference.

I might pay attention is enough ministars don't get elected.

I'd sit up if LKY and LHL lost.

I'd pop champaign if PAP lost.

But my so called crystal ball says next parliament might have 1 or 0 WP MPs.

i would go as far as to say not my country too.... guess thats how the culture is now.... :ph34r:

Why dun they make it this way, i buy new flat for 200k, den when i sell it i can only sell at 200k, no less no more. Den i go n buy another house at 300k, sell at 300k no less no more etc. This only apply at HDB flat. Those that wanna invest go n buy condo n play, dun play with flat that is for the peasants.

Ok the fear that I am striking is not official. I have not experienced that I have been hounded because of my action on the ballot paper. Then what is all this talk of voting is not secret because of the ballot paper serial numbering that the opposition is sounding?

Why dun they make it this way, i buy new flat for 200k, den when i sell it i can only sell at 200k, no less no more. Den i go n buy another house at 300k, sell at 300k no less no more etc. This only apply at HDB flat. Those that wanna invest go n buy condo n play, dun play with flat that is for the peasants.

You can't do that. If this is implemented, the 80k flat that your parents brought in 1985 will still only be worth 80k in 2010.

Even if you consider inflation over the past 20 years, its only worth 160k max.

HDB's plan for us to buy a flat when we are young and sell it to downgrade to a smaller retirement flat when we reach our sunset years. That is why everyone of us is given 2 chances to purchase subsidise flats.

Singapore Population = 5mil

Residents = 3.733mil June 2009 figures

Citizens = 3.2mil

Actually Citizens born in Spore = 2.2mil someone estimated. If this is true, 1mil are IMPORTED !

Therefore TRUE BLUE Sporeans are now lesser than Foreigners of 2.8mil. This is why Gahmen not afraid of us. These 1 mil (minus their children) will vote for them.

If you can remember 2.2mil is our population in the early 1980s...

We are slowly but surely being replaced by Foreigners. Frankly I still don't mind Malaysians Chinese/Indians/Malays to come here and become citizens as we have so much in common.

However, Gahmen wants this place to be Zhap Pa Lang (mix ka luan) so that the FTs can make the Bridge of Business to their host countries. But little did they know that they are here for the money and Stepping stone...

Please Brudders and Sisters, if true blue Sporeans are at 2.2mil, you cannot relak and hope some other couple to make more Babies. We have to increase ratio or else we are being replaced... Go and Procreate, this is the survival of our RACE...

Voting for the opposition parties does not mean that they will takeover the running of the country and run it to her knees. It's just a scare tactic by the PAP.

By voting for the opposition, it means getting an alternative voice into the parliament to check-and-balance all the policies proposed and exercised by the PAP. We need that alternative voice. Enough of all the nonsense policies that PAP is stuffing down our throat.

If ever the Opposition wins with Majority to take over the government, they should :

A. Employ all the current Ministers to do the same job but apply Opposition new policies.

B. adjust pay to a level that befits their Roles.

If they all resign, then you will know their true colors...

Edited by Tigerwoods

So now those bot HDB Flat @ $650k how ??

If the actual price bot by 1st owner is $300k so his house now become $300k ?

Your idea is ideally great but practically stupid...

Edited by Tigerwoods

then y got 200k to 300k flat? might as well all 200k and ballot. also this will lead to alot undertable money... or if family A offer 200k and family B offer 200k, to sell to family A or B? or see which family daughter or wife sleep with seller? [sweatdrop]

The million dollar Q.

Actually just remember since the last election, how has your life been? better or worse. Gov can say all they about doing this, giving $$ etc. What u need to ask yourself has your life improved or become harder since last election?

I'll treat the vote just like a warning letter to some employees.

Throw it to them for slacking, incompetency, complacent, lying etc.

Make them wake up their idea!

I'll treat the vote just like a warning letter to some employees.

Throw it to them for slacking, incompetency, complacent, lying etc.

Make them wake up their idea!

good reason

we don't need the opposition to take over or form the new govt, just need one or 2 GRC to be captured by them. Go in and make some noise, they will not be able to form a new govt. Any way its only 4-5yrs term, not happy with them next term get them out. They won't be squandering the $$$ so fast as GIC or Town council. Hope Aljunied, Tampines, Bukit Panjang lost to Opposition. Best if my place also captured by them

This is pure fear mongering, same tactic used by our MIW. If they are not in power, your wife and daughter will work as maid in other country, what type of stupid resulting is that. Your logic is flaw, aka increase GST to 7% is to help the poor....then Vivian urge like mad about increase aid of $40 in parliament, asking weather the poor eat in restaurant or hawker centre. wtf

1st, nothing will happen if you discard ERP as the car population is controlled by COE.

2nd, you know how much surplus our gov generate every year? 376million per yr from the period 1990-2005 not withstanding the >50% ministerial pay increase after the last election.

3rd, you know how much profit our reserve(rumors to be US$300 billion) generate per year? no one knows cos it would take 52 man yrs to calculated.

Why do you think that without GST & ERP, our country would go broke?

Bro rumored to be 300 billion but our temasek's boss already quietly lose around 100~150 worth of them , ML , MS, Citi , RBS , UBS etc etc

Edited by CH_CO