Come election, how to decide who to vote for?

Christan

Maybe one day, the hummer may just rule Singapore or the social depreciating people do. Probably the first thing the new govt would do is take down the ERP gantry, great - a very popularist move! Another one - remove the GST.

Then I see how they going to generate income for the country. Maybe first year or two, you may find foreign funds coming in, from those who support so called democracy and human rights but after that they will find that 'ok, we have enough fun. we pull out now'.

How revert back to rubber and pineapple plantation. Grow our own vegetables. Where? Potong Pasir, Chua Chu Kang, Thomson!

On 1/30/2010 at 12:20 AM, David said:

Maybe one day, the hummer may just rule Singapore or the social depreciating people do. Probably the first thing the new govt would do is take down the ERP gantry, great - a very popularist move! Another one - remove the GST.

Then I see how they going to generate income for the country. Maybe first year or two, you may find foreign funds coming in, from those who support so called democracy and human rights but after that they will find that 'ok, we have enough fun. we pull out now'.

How revert back to rubber and pineapple plantation. Grow our own vegetables. Where? Potong Pasir, Chua Chu Kang, Thomson!

This is pure fear mongering, same tactic used by our MIW. If they are not in power, your wife and daughter will work as maid in other country, what type of stupid resulting is that. Your logic is flaw, aka increase GST to 7% is to help the poor....then Vivian urge like mad about increase aid of $40 in parliament, asking weather the poor eat in restaurant or hawker centre. wtf

1st, nothing will happen if you discard ERP as the car population is controlled by COE.

2nd, you know how much surplus our gov generate every year? 376million per yr from the period 1990-2005 not withstanding the >50% ministerial pay increase after the last election.

3rd, you know how much profit our reserve(rumors to be US$300 billion) generate per year? no one knows cos it would take 52 man yrs to calculated.

Why do you think that without GST & ERP, our country would go broke?

  On 1/30/2010 at 12:54 AM, Shando said:

This is pure fear mongering, same tactic used by our MIW. If they are not in power, your wife and daughter will work as maid in other country, what type of stupid resulting is that. Your logic is flaw, aka increase GST to 7% is to help the poor....then Vivian urge like mad about increase aid of $40 in parliament, asking weather the poor eat in restaurant or hawker centre. wtf

1st, nothing will happen if you discard ERP as the car population is controlled by COE.

2nd, you know how much surplus our gov generate every year? 376million per yr from the period 1990-2005 not withstanding the >50% ministerial pay increase after the last election.

3rd, you know how much profit our reserve(rumors to be US$300 billion) generate per year? no one knows cos it would take 52 man yrs to calculated.

GST: every age group WILL pay tax. Small businesses, sole prop, taxi, freelance etc cannot siam this tax.

ERP: most convenient revenue collection in the world, suka suka increase, suka suka build gantry. No need to go thru Bills and debate in parliament, much lesser hassle.

I remember clearly before the election, lhl say no price hike, more gd years. Now u think back, u still trust his word. No price hike... haha. Haiz...

NO PRICE HIKE ?????. Recently many hawker stalls have increased their prices to $3.50. KNN

Also, dun use scare tactics pls. The more u dare us, the more we will try.

WELL SAID. The younger generation ppl are more educated and want to be treated with respect, unlike our parents or fore parents are mostly BO TAK CHE. When GARMENT (ZHENG HOO) say anything, they scare oledi.

PAP MP Alvin Yeo: Foreigners will not come here if we make them serve National Service

In yet another sign that young Singaporeans are getting increasingly impatient and frustrated with some policies of the ruling party, a PAP MP Alvin Yeo was lobbied relentlessly with tough and sensitive questions during a policy forum held at NUS on 26 January 2010. (read the field report here)

When asked by a NUS student during the Question-and-Answer session on why foreigners who take up Singapore citizenship are exempted from the mandatory two years National Service which all Singapore-born males have to go through, he shot back:

On 1/29/2010 at 2:07 PM, Maroon5 said:

well our MM jus said dun cast the protest vote becos of HDB prices....well i thk there are many other reasons hahah

Protest vote? That's how it works thru out the world, right? Other country when their citizen not happy with their government, they cast protest vote to have a change. So why should S'pore be different?

On 1/29/2010 at 1:52 PM, Christan said:

The million dollar Q.

Actually just remember since the last election, how has your life been? better or worse. Gov can say all they about doing this, giving $$ etc. What u need to ask yourself has your life improved or become harder since last election?

why you dun want to abide to the forum guidelines?

On 1/30/2010 at 12:54 AM, Shando said:

Cash Flow

seriously, if you vote for opp and opp won, what will happen to you & your family?

- lost your job & career?

- your house value drops to 50%?

- carpark attendents more "on the ball"?

- corridor, void decks and parks more dirty?

- Sing dollar value drops to 50%?

- economy nose dived?

- schools in opp wards condemn cannot go NTU, NUS?

- more crimes in your estate?

- zero HDB upgrading?

- apply house longer queue?

- apply grant/ schorlarship/ bursary easily rejected?

seriously, what will happen?

My ward is not opp, but i see no diff, nobody bother visit or communicate with us, except well planned activities that make someone looks good & score points....also many coloured banners of handsome/ chiobu smiling MPs.

dun believe wat they said lah...once u give them more votes..they may just change policy or delay n delay..

sg is not going to collapse if opp is the majority. taiwan didnt collapse due to their messy fighting in parliament also.

seriously, why miw ministers do not want to come out n form their own party? dont they have their own belief instead of being a puppet?

Edited by Babyt

MM is scared. maybe he noes singaporeans are not happy w HDB pricing coz its too ex...he noes we cant afford it but he telling us not to vote against them coz of it....u see..he noe we are not happy and i think he is scared...lol

Edited by Babyt

I think the opposition needs to send more credible and quality people to contest more wards and GRCs.

Groundwork for elections and getting into the good books of us citizens should start right after the last election and not within months of calling the next one and offering people such as sharks fin soup, lift upgrading etc.

Win - they provide the checks and balances in the Parliament. Not some NMP system whereby they do not or may not veto their rights in Parliament.....

Lose - Give the ruling party a run of their money and a strong message to them " We have came back stronger....Watch out for the next one in five years time...."

Voting for the opposition parties does not mean that they will takeover the running of the country and run it to her knees. It's just a scare tactic by the PAP.

By voting for the opposition, it means getting an alternative voice into the parliament to check-and-balance all the policies proposed and exercised by the PAP. We need that alternative voice. Enough of all the nonsense policies that PAP is stuffing down our throat.

On the same note, I really hope for the opposition to strategise their election effort. Chose the battleground and campaign wisely.

In my opinion, PAP is going to win Potong Pasir. Not because they are fielding good candidates, but because they have artifically altered the electorate profile of Potong Pasir by allowing a number of high density condos (One Leicester, Platinum Edge, etc) which will be pro PAP due to the 'negative' effects of a condo in an opposition ward. If these condo dwellers vote in favour of PAP, it will give PAP a very marginal victory, maybe 55%.

For GRC, it is a little worrying that Mr Chiam has expressed interest in PAP stronghold BishanTPY (nevermind about Wong Kan Sing). I hope all this is part of a publicity front for him to throw surprise to compete in another GRC come nomination day. Which GRC then? Perhaps the opposition should work together and revisit Aljunied and AMK since they did so well in the last election.

As for the campaigns, some possible topics:

1) Efffects of 7% GST

2) CPF withdrawal

3) Minister's Pay in the midst of downturn

4) PR and foreigner policies

5) Town Council's fiasco

  On 1/29/2010 at 4:02 PM, Kopitam said:

if new citizens dont want to serve then what about the citizen

then why citizen have to serve and still PR and new citizen have similar benefits

2 1/2 years of service is a large part of our lives

please dont play play ok

dun forget the 10 yrs reservist cycle after the full time NS.. basically we are binded till 40-45yrs old by NS! nt forgetting the mandatory IPPT and RT that NSmen have to go take time to go thru.