Would you spend $3,400 on a vacuum cleaner?

Stary

Hi Gary,

you are related to this http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2694260-does-this-2-vacuum-looks-the-same/

New account with 2 word post and all long post is about LURA?seem you still a sour grape trying to misled other.I being checking with the website you say,try called them but unable mean is a fake advertising or fake product or whine up company.I give you the benefit of doubt.Further check show they are completely different as your so call Libelle size is 12.9kg stated in there site.And LURA only weighted 6.25kg,To claim a 1 machine double there weight as same?

How can a same machine reduce their weight by half,next on my review will be either on HYLA or LURA.Do you guy have any other top vacuum cleaner that you guys want to see the review on it?

Hi Melvin 85,

1 click on internet already know you from Lura. Thanks to advance technology. Well, please carry on writing about Delphin from China, blow it as big as possible. Make sure your pocket is deep enough when people go after your claims ok? How old already still hide behind computer do this kind of lame thing! Go get a life lah

Edited by Gary88

Similar experience with me too.

After demo the prc sales auntie start to hardsell.. trying to say my living conditions is how bad to how bad, then to a point of being sarcastic I can't afford it.

I had to 'invite' her out of the house, then told my wife off never ever to believe those nonsensical 'free' bed cleaning sales talks at the malls.

Which company is that?I need more info so i can update more on my site so future buyer can make comparison

Just gone to your blog... u already mentioned them.

Sibeh jialat.

Hardsell and don't let u even think about it.

This incident was over a year ago though.

U are their competitor or kenna bad experience huh?

Just gone to your blog... u already mentioned them.

Sibeh jialat.

Hardsell and don't let u even think about it.

This incident was over a year ago though.

U are their competitor or kenna bad experience huh?

nope i started to blogging so pick up my niche on vacuum cleanerand yes i kena from them before at Woodland civic centre.It seem alot of people are being misled so i come up with review about them.Solar from what you say it point to only one which is Delphin right? Gary try to defend his company by trying to pushing the blame to other.Even if i am competitor ,do you think other guy post here is fake?

use common sense lah those laojiao account created 2005,2006 ,2009 and etc?If you got nothing do hide why scare.Plus what i say did it come with fake info?i backed up all my point with evidence and proof.

I am working in Beauty Product company call Vinevera.You can see it in Orchard or Suntec.Just ask the staff for melvin they will say they know me.Btw mention my name, i ask them give you a 10% discount :).

Bro u do more homework, I just sprinkle some pepper on top nia

Hahaha piciak lobang liao now kalang kabo...

Edited by Gary88

to be fair, someone with vested interests does not necessarily spreads fake or conniving comments. at least I find the comparison of the respective weights of lura and libelle a fair one.

someone with vested interests at least have more knowledge in the field and have done more extensive research. the advice is likely to be more educated one as long as not crafted towards hoodwinking the reader.

the moment we have read and are educated on the subject, we can never be unbiased. the bias is towards the truth. the only truly unbiased comment is an uneducated comment, which has no bias towards or away from the truth.

Edited by Acemundo

hehe I have allowed the demo for rainbow, delphin and lura to be done at my house.

rainbow was totally not in my consideration at all....too big and at that time not convinced with the technology.

I took a hard consideration at delphin because my brother is also using it. I asked for time to consider, the salesman face turns black and I didn't buy it.

recently lura person came. the set looks more convincing than the other 2. comes with hepa filter, bigger suction (rpm higher as well) power and less bulky. still we asked for time to consider and research and they accepted it and left. after some researching and discussion with my wife, we bought lura.

I know such a price tag makes it difficult to convince most people, even my wife and I had different opinions as well. but after reading through the comments from both camps, I gathered opinions on such vacuum cleaners are going to stay very divided and also while there are definitely benefits to owning such a vacuum cleaner, it is very difficult to justify in dollars and cents whether it is worth it or not worth it.

if it addresses the health issues in a sick person, it is worth the money. yet, most of us are healthy persons and we think nary the vacuum cleaner can benefit our health.

hence, let's just accept there are going to be two very differing opinions of the worth of such vacuum cleaners.

The price of consumer electronics from TV, aircon to normal vacuum cleaners have dropped by at least 50% (TV from 5k to 1k) in the last 10 years but not these 3k machines. I can only conclude they are for suckers as the technology is already very old and the manufacturing cost is probably less than 500. HEPA cleaning???? So you keep your windows closed all the time. LOL.... Edited by Voodooman

The price of consumer electronics from TV, aircon to normal vacuum cleaners have dropped by at least 50% (TV from 5k to 1k) in the last 10 years but not these 3k machines. I can only conclude they are for suckers as the technology is already very old and the manufacturing cost is probably less than 500. HEPA cleaning???? So you keep your windows closed all the time. LOL....

if I use your logic, every technology that has existed should cost less, then most of the jap car buyers are suckers then? the technology is the same but refinements and changes comes in terms of the size, performance, flexibility and many other facets. a hepa air filtration purifier is old technology but the earlier generations of such vacuum cleaners in the form of rainbow and dolphin never had incorporated the hepa filtration. 1 air purifier+1 vacuum cleaner+1 dustmite cleaner+1 floor mop istand alone are definitely less useful to me than one that can combine all functions into one machine. using one hepa air filtration example to compare against a set that has all such function definitely shows how slipshod you are.

are you even a key decision mover in the electronics field to say the least? even if you are, by insisting pricing trends in semicon electronics should extend to other consumer electronic shows how superficial you view things.

those electronics that see price drops as time passes are those in the semiconductor and high tech electronics. it is not the same as your other consumer electronics like washing machine, bread toaster, microwave oven and vacuum cleaner.

The price of consumer electronics from TV, aircon to normal vacuum cleaners have dropped by at least 50% (TV from 5k to 1k) in the last 10 years but not these 3k machines. I can only conclude they are for suckers as the technology is already very old and the manufacturing cost is probably less than 500. HEPA cleaning???? So you keep your windows closed all the time. LOL....

Ok ok.. Heard from my friend who used to work in Delphin, is like that.

You let them into the house, you better be mentally prepared to be nasty if things don't turn out nice later.

When they purify air and show you, they will shine the lamp on top of the pail of water ( note, this is where the trick is). By shining on top you see water crystal clear, but after purifying the air, they will shine the pail of water from the side using the lamp they holding. This time you see the water, so many tiny dust on top. Why? Cos actually the water already got some dust already. So next time if you see them shine the lamp on top of the pail, ask them to shine from top of the pail, he sure sweat

Next is mattress cleaning- our mattress not that clean I agree, but not to that extend until like long kang water. But why after they clean water so dirty until u wanna puke? The trick is- they use DETTOL in the water. You will notice they pour a cup of dettol into the water, tell you kill germs etc, then use their fingers to stir the water, after that dettol will dissolve and water still crystal clear. But once dust goes in with the spinning separator under the machine..oh, the water become so jia lart cos Dettol mix water plus dust is sibay dirty looking water. So next time, ask the demonstrator, do not put anything into the water and clean your mattress see how dirty. He suck thumb liao cos he cannot show you long kang water

And lastly- after demo, they will ask you to sign for their service- FAKE ONE. now this is the brainwash part liao, is like selling you the service, why don't you consider owning the machine? It is cheaper then doing servicing. Then you do the maths, owning machine like cheaper leh. They beat around the bush like wanna sell you service in the end guide you to buy machine. Salesman are paid for selling machines, not service.

And when you reject or consider- words like: for your child you also need to consider

Don't tell me you like your child to breadth in these dust and sleep on dirty mattress

What if your child get asthma? NOTE~ what is the attacking direction everyone notice? CHILD

So good luck on your next outing seeing them and inviting them over for demo...cheers

if I use your logic, every technology that has existed should cost less, then most of the jap car buyers are suckers then? the technology is the same but refinements and changes comes in terms of the size, performance, flexibility and many other facets. a hepa air filtration purifier is old technology but the earlier generations of such vacuum cleaners in the form of rainbow and dolphin never had incorporated the hepa filtration. 1 air purifier+1 vacuum cleaner+1 dustmite cleaner+1 floor mop istand alone are definitely less useful to me than one that can combine all functions into one machine. using one hepa air filtration example to compare against a set that has all such function definitely shows how slipshod you are.

are you even a key decision mover in the electronics field to say the least? even if you are, by insisting pricing trends in semicon electronics should extend to other consumer electronic shows how superficial you view things.

those electronics that see price drops as time passes are those in the semiconductor and high tech electronics. it is not the same as your other consumer electronics like washing machine, bread toaster, microwave oven and vacuum cleaner.

My philip vacuum cleaner has a HEPA filter and cost me $300, it has worked well for years. LOL.

A car today probably cost less in real terms that 10 years ago and you see real improvement in technology (more airbags, sensors, efficient engine with higher output and lower emission, new GB technology, etc). A Rainbow is just a vacuum machine with HEPA and perhaps a powerful motor, the more than 10 years old technology/design used may be different from the conventional one but is it worth 10 times more than the conventional type? My answer is obvious.

And you are taking my general observation out of its context, Maybe you can tell me what improvement, technology breakthrough you can find in a rainbow machine today relative to one sold 10 years ago?

Rainbow is, imho, for suckers only. They are however free to sell at whatever price they want, I am just not buying one. As a non industrial expert and a consumer, can I share my observation/view? Oh, it is my money, so I guess I can decide and readers can decide too, we don't need industrial experts in senior management role to tell us what to buy and how much to pay, right?

Superficial or not, it is my money and if i don't see value in it, I don't. [laugh]

Ok ok.. Heard from my friend who used to work in Delphin, is like that.

You let them into the house, you better be mentally prepared to be nasty if things don't turn out nice later.

When they purify air and show you, they will shine the lamp on top of the pail of water ( note, this is where the trick is). By shining on top you see water crystal clear, but after purifying the air, they will shine the pail of water from the side using the lamp they holding. This time you see the water, so many tiny dust on top. Why? Cos actually the water already got some dust already. So next time if you see them shine the lamp on top of the pail, ask them to shine from top of the pail, he sure sweat

Next is mattress cleaning- our mattress not that clean I agree, but not to that extend until like long kang water. But why after they clean water so dirty until u wanna puke? The trick is- they use DETTOL in the water. You will notice they pour a cup of dettol into the water, tell you kill germs etc, then use their fingers to stir the water, after that dettol will dissolve and water still crystal clear. But once dust goes in with the spinning separator under the machine..oh, the water become so jia lart cos Dettol mix water plus dust is sibay dirty looking water. So next time, ask the demonstrator, do not put anything into the water and clean your mattress see how dirty. He suck thumb liao cos he cannot show you long kang water

And lastly- after demo, they will ask you to sign for their service- FAKE ONE. now this is the brainwash part liao, is like selling you the service, why don't you consider owning the machine? It is cheaper then doing servicing. Then you do the maths, owning machine like cheaper leh. They beat around the bush like wanna sell you service in the end guide you to buy machine. Salesman are paid for selling machines, not service.

And when you reject or consider- words like: for your child you also need to consider

Don't tell me you like your child to breadth in these dust and sleep on dirty mattress

What if your child get asthma? NOTE~ what is the attacking direction everyone notice? CHILD

So good luck on your next outing seeing them and inviting them over for demo...cheers

Thanks for sharing. Yes, they sell it using exactly the same tactics.

A mop, a broom, a cheap $100 vacuum cleaner is all I need.

It does the job of cleaning the house. Maybe not 100%, but 90% is more than good enough.

To pay $3k to $4k for a vacuum cleaner, how good can it be ? How long can it last, depending on counting whether you use it everyday or hide in the closet to take out and count the number of years ?

As long as they are people with deep pockets willing to pay, these overpriced vacuum cleaners will be around.

To me, $4k can do a lot of things, except to pay for a vacuum cleaner.

My philip vacuum cleaner has a HEPA filter and cost me $300, it has worked well for years. LOL.

something doesn't sound right with your example. even if genuine you are not comparing apple to apple. you are using a cleaner that is used for purely sucking dirt to one that is used for dust mite cleaning, air purification, sucking the dirt and mopping the floor. it is almost like comparing a van to a compact sedan or an ipod to an iphone. of the examples in the market, so far only rainbow, delphin, hyla and lura are in the same category that makes for reasonable comparison.

And you are taking my general observation out of its context, Maybe you can tell me what improvement, technology breakthrough you can find in a rainbow machine today relative to one sold 10 years ago?

Rainbow is, imho, for suckers only. They are however free to sell at whatever price they want, I am just not buying one. As a non industrial expert and a consumer, can I share my observation/view? Oh, it is my money, so I guess I can decide and readers can decide too, we don't need industrial experts in senior management role to tell us what to buy and how much to pay, right?

Superficial or not, it is my money and if i don't see value in it, I don't. [laugh]

Thanks for sharing. Yes, they sell it using exactly the same tactics.

I am returning it to you in your own medicine when you used a hepa filter as an example to talk about dated technology without even considering functionality, performance, flexibility.if air purification is as simple as a hepa filter, why don't you see people wear the hepa filter around their mouth and nose to combat dirty air?

no one is asking industrial experts to teach you. but you used a very skewed example of high tech consumer electronics to say that pricing for low tech consumer electronics should follow the same pricing trend. I am merely returning the compliment to you. you also talk about pricing in relation to cost of manufacture, which seemingly suggest you are educated and learned in passing the comment. I will tell you cost plus pricing is only one of the mechanism of pricing. in fact, market demand driven pricing is more prevalent than cost plus mode of pricing. last but not least, by using a condescending term of "suckers" on buyers of such a product, you are placing yourself high on a pedestal.

conventional wisdom is that value is based on how much positive externalities you can extract from the product. a more comprehensive wisdom with foresight considers even the negative externalities you can avoid from using the product. [sleeping]

Edited by Acemundo

something doesn't sound right with your example. even if genuine you are not comparing apple to apple. you are using a cleaner that is used for purely sucking dirt to one that is used for dust mite cleaning, air purification, sucking the dirt and mopping the floor. it is almost like comparing a van to a compact sedan or an ipod to an iphone. of the examples in the market, so far only rainbow, delphin, hyla and lura are in the same category that makes for reasonable comparison.

I am returning it to you in your own medicine when you used a hepa filter as an example to talk about dated technology without even considering functionality, performance, flexibility.if air purification is as simple as a hepa filter, why don't you see people wear the hepa filter around their mouth and nose to combat dirty air?

no one is asking industrial experts to teach you. but you used a very skewed example of high tech consumer electronics to say that pricing for low tech consumer electronics should follow the same pricing trend. I am merely returning the compliment to you. you also talk about pricing in relation to cost of manufacture, which seemingly suggest you are educated and learned in passing the comment. I will tell you cost plus pricing is only one of the mechanism of pricing. in fact, market demand driven pricing is more prevalent than cost plus mode of pricing. last but not least, by using a condescending term of "suckers" on buyers of such a product, you are placing yourself high on a pedestal.

conventional wisdom is that value is based on how much positive externalities you can extract from the product. a more comprehensive wisdom with foresight considers even the negative externalities you can avoid from using the product. [sleeping]

Consumer electronics is very competitive field and prices fall with economies of scale. Constant improvement is needed just to maintain price as once mould is fully depreciated, competition will ensure price will drop for end products. It is just an observation and may not apply to all but the rule generally holds.

Yes, 3+k for a rainbow are for suckers as you can also clean a mattress with a powerful vacuum cleaner, the air purification part is just marketing talk unless you aircon your whole house and don't open the windows ever. So what else besides a powerful motor, HEPA and water cleaning that deserves a 10x pricing premium?

Edited by Voodooman