Malay wedding at void deck how much Ang Pow???

Hammerhammer

Pity I married Liao.. If not I invite u.. Haha

Minimum $20 per person as a guide la..

Wat ever color envelope is ok 1, dun give envelope juz give cash w/o cover oso ok.

hahaha, baby shower invite me lor...

not i generous la.

I always thinks that if someone invited you to a wedding, its a blessing... don be so calculative.

i hate it when someone ask me how much I pow at the wedding... knn eg. if i say i pow $1000(never pow so much before btw), will this person follow, i don think so. But if i say i pow $10, will this person take out the extra he has already put into the red packet, i definitely think so... this type of ppl CMI.

Pow to your means, but don be calculative in your red packet just because of the setting..... i seriously think $10 even for void deck wedding is too little.

$10 eat a decent meal in starbucks also not enough...

Revive old thread..

I will be attending a malay wedding.. it's my sec sch classmate.. so considered quite close..

Would like to know what you guys use to put the money in? Envelope? If i'm not wrong, Malays don't like red, so ang pow might be impolite...

If you are really his close friend/colleagues, normally ppl will atleast put $50. and put name on the envelope.

$10-20 only if you are not related or casual friends....

Malay wedding food is better than any 10 course dinner at a hotel wedding, because for malay wedding you can eat more and not share round the table.

Im brought up from both culture & tradition - Malay & chinese..so I've seen and experienced wedding invitations from both. Intense plannings and lotsa money are spent in such special occassions and ultimately to please the guests - us. So, give what you think is right and more so, affordable to u. It's the blessings, respect in presence and sincerity that matters to the couple whom hv specially thought of u and invited. Unless u indicate on the angpow, they will never know how much u gave. But how much or how little u actually contributed..it'll be at the back of your mind everytime... hehehe...

Of coz wat I've said wont apply to couples who 'sets the table's price-tag' lah..follow 'market rate'..! hahaha!

Ya truth. I seen malay wedding before at void decks all the people there are like really enjoying the occasion especially the host I see they smile until dun see the eyes. But at chinese wedding first thing you go there is to go to a table and there are some volunteers whom seem to be helping you to check the guest list and tell you which table to sit and usually there is a map to show you on the spot and at the same time ask you to sign a guest book and take a souvenir or some sort and then collect the Ang Pow for you and then usually there is an assistant will put the Ang Pow to a box for safe keeping and "register" your name on the Ang Pow at the same time. KNN so they know who give how much. So we lan lan dun dare to give too little. Chinese wedding dinner is all about making money [blush]

I don't agree on this part about "Chinese wedding dinner is all about making money". Ask those who has got married and threw a wedding dinner if any of them have made money out of it. If you are talking about 2 or 3 decades ago, then I would agree that you could make some money out of a Chinese wedding dinner from the "ang pow" money after deducting all the expenses. Nowadays, throwing a Chinese wedding dinner at any restaurant or hotel is a very expensive affair. You would be lucky if you break even or have to cough out a bit of money after balancing the book. Those who managed to make some money out of it, I would say, are in the very small minority and perhaps most of the guest are big businessmen or rich relatives whose "ang pow" money go into 3 or 4 digits.

Edited by Redstorm

I just attended a close Chinese fren who married a

Muslim wife and gave $100 ang po.

It doesn't matter where they host the wedding.

It is the thought and kind of relationship you and the

couple are having.

If want to gv $10, u might as well save yr face and dun attend.

U go and buy the famous Lee Bro nasi lemak already cost u $1.60.

2 otar $1.20. Plus yr coke another $1.20.

The Muslim wedding have food like Chicken / Mutton Nasi Brani, Curry chicken,

kueh kueh, bandong and the list go on.

Sometimes they will also hv BIG KILLER PRAWNS.

Edited by Yahgo22

malay wedding quite cheap one.All those cook you see,some is family members.Decor also cheap cheap one.Those ribbon max max i think less than 1k.They reused from wedding to wedding.$20 a person already very decent.If want to give more,doesn't matter also lah.

Ur wrong..

Decor not all can reuse, pple tink coz void deck it's cheap. As we speak my bro in law side getting married later, lunch tomorrow.

Gift for guest: $2.50 per guest

Catering: around $20k+ (depends on hw many pple u invite & quality of food)

Decor: $4k+

entertainment: not sure

Other miscellaneous exp.. Not sure.

Thing is Malay wedding dun require u write name on Angpao, so u dun give much oso nobody knows. Host invite u to share their joy.

a real good statement. sometimes it really puts chinese wedding to shame. but no choice, the culture is as such. one table for chinese wedding these days can cost $700 min.

oh btw b4 pple say i racist, i chinese.

a real good statement. sometimes it really puts chinese wedding to shame. but no choice, the culture is as such. one table for chinese wedding these days can cost $700 min.

oh btw b4 pple say i racist, i chinese.

700 go where find??

i just booked 1300++...

sianz :wacko: :wacko:

Ur wrong..

Decor not all can reuse, pple tink coz void deck it's cheap. As we speak my bro in law side getting married later, lunch tomorrow.

Gift for guest: $2.50 per guest

Catering: around $20k+ (depends on hw many pple u invite & quality of food)

Decor: $4k+

entertainment: not sure

Other miscellaneous exp.. Not sure.

congrats bro [laugh] [laugh]

700 go where find??

i just booked 1300++...

With this kinda price per table, coupled with other cost of hosting the dinner, you will probably only break even if each ang pow money is at least S$200.

700 go where find??

i just booked 1300++...

wow.... power of inflation.....just 4 yrs ago I was complaining my 1.1K table was cut throat already.... <_<

With this kinda price per table, coupled with other cost of hosting the dinner, you will probably only break even if each ang pow money is at least S$200.

yeah... probably... expected to lose money

anyway already set aside a sum of money liaoz... just take it as give ppl a treat to celebrate a joyous occasion...

[cool] [cool]

yeah... probably... expected to lose money

anyway already set aside a sum of money liaoz... just take it as give ppl a treat to celebrate a joyous occasion...

[cool] [cool]

good for you...but be warned about the special kind of guests who bring family of 6 and slip in a $20 ang pao.... [bigcry]

it's not the $$$....but it is disgusting on hind sight that you actually have friends/relatives who are so "buay zhi dong"

Edited by Carpinion

wow.... power of inflation.....just 4 yrs ago I was complaining my 1.1K table was cut throat already.... <_<

apparently next yr is a 'hot' year

cuz rabbit year...

ppl rushing to get married so can have kids in dragon year

hahaha [laugh] [laugh]

i never understood the logic of having kids in dragon yr... make everything so difficult and competitive ... hahaha