Malay wedding at void deck how much Ang Pow???

Hammerhammer

My chinese wedding I specially ordered 6pax for muslim friends which 3 of them from wife's side and 3 other are my colleagues.

My wife asked me to confirmed whether my colleagues are coming before she asked them for the dinner.

Last min, none of my 3 colleagues came.

Not about the ah-bao but the heart that counts.

And also, planning for the tables like their table left with 3 empty seats and I got some tables with 11pax.

Can easily move someone over and everyone will have enough food.

WOW colleague also never give face ah, your PR skills not good enough ah?

Would like to know what you guys use to put the money in? Envelope? If i'm not wrong, Malays don't like red, so ang pow might be impolite...

its called "green packet"

Revive old thread..

I will be attending a malay wedding.. it's my sec sch classmate.. so considered quite close..

Would like to know what you guys use to put the money in? Envelope? If i'm not wrong, Malays don't like red, so ang pow might be impolite...

Give your money all in crisp green $5 notes in an envelope (green packet is best, but I had to use a white envelope), and they'll be quite happy. Green is an auspicious colour for Muslims.

1 person $50, 2 person $100.

that was what i give for all malay wedding.

some ppl told me $10 is enough but i find too little.

we are going to wedding lei. how can calculate how much is the dish and setting than try to give around there price. Like that like go kopi tiam makan........

Edited by Tom_kkh

at least give 30 for each attendee la. 10 maybe can cover food but how abt venue and decor? I know it's not your concern but if can help then help. Chinese wedding cost more upfront but end of the day sure can cover. Underblock wedding sure lose cash. I heard got families only give 2 dollars for each family member attending. really jialat.

Pity I married Liao.. If not I invite u.. Haha

Minimum $20 per person as a guide la..

Wat ever color envelope is ok 1, dun give envelope juz give cash w/o cover oso ok.

malay wedding quite cheap one.All those cook you see,some is family members.Decor also cheap cheap one.Those ribbon max max i think less than 1k.They reused from wedding to wedding.$20 a person already very decent.If want to give more,doesn't matter also lah.

ya wrong already

they invite alot pple,sometimes the angbao cant even cover the whole event...so the cost can be higher than Chinese dinner

ya wrong already

they invite alot pple,sometimes the angbao cant even cover the whole event...so the cost can be higher than Chinese dinner

bro,you cannot like that think.Invite people to their wedding,cannot think of making money out of it.If people come here to sincerely give their blessing.Then at the couple end,they keep thinking of making money out of it.Right a not like that?$20 should be quite sufficient if everyone give that amount.

bro my point is it cost higher than chinese wedding sometimes only as usual most will think that Chinese Wedding cost more but generally looking overall view..it might not be the case fromt those u mentioned [;)]

Edited by Freestylers09

i'm malay lah.

can give any amount, up to you.

sometimes i see dispatch riders, technicians go attend weddings and give $10. that's the best they can do.

sometimes i see malay businessmen come and give $100.

there was even once in the throughs of recession people gave empty envelopes :o

so its really up to you, how close you are to them and your sincerity.

btw to my knowledge none of my relatives (well off or not) count on the angpows to break even. everyone saved up the hard way.