Buying A Kangoo Renault

Renegade777

URGENT!

Any workshop to recommend (NTUC insurance - sigh) for citroen berlingo? Kena sandwich between Lancer and Peugeot 307. Likely that engine have problem - got smell and smoke. Tomorrow going IDAC [:(]

Go to evc.sg/forum...the resident mechanic is good...

or if wan another option....pm me.. :D

1 thing to add....insurance....since the yr end of 2009...comprehensive insurance for eurovan went up quite steep...more than 1k liao....for a 2 to 3 yrs old ride. chk it out :D

One of my contractor has a Kangoo. On one of those leisure talk, I ask him how is the Kangoo.

His first response was DON'T BUY. It gives him a lot of problem.

Timing belt breaks at around 50k and costs him a bomb to repair.

Plus some other problems which I can't remember.

isolated case....50k/km timing belt burst....maybe sumthing to do wif his driving habit....

I heard clutch pad worn off @ 9k/km of a new jipun pickup...when I was in one of the workshop in AMK auto ctr couple of wks ago :D

I think tt driver could'nt forget his learned driving lesson.

In fact the newer 1.5L turbo engine has a lot improvements.

Now it seems the other problem was the clutch worn if I recall correctly.

Maybe timing belt is isolated case, but that's what he told me.

I didn't even ask more than a casual question.

At one time, I was renting a van and they only give me Suzuki Carry. I ask the company for a eurovan, but they declined, saying they have a lot of problems. So I got the Carry for a whole year without any issues. Although, the ride is lousy, it is reliable. [laugh]

which year of kangoo should i look into in order to be safe?

beside kangoo model, what are the better similar choice? list the year of make can cos sometime certain year come out certain fault..

sorry to trouble the bros here..

have you considered Fiat Doblo?? comes in 1.3Multijet 75bhp and 1.9JTD 105bhp engines...but only manual version...

it's quite a looker i must say, especially the facelift model...a new 2011 model coming out end-of-year...

Avoid all Kangoo 1.9D. Will have issues with fuel pump every 2-3 yrs and cost SGD1,xxx to replace.

The 1.5T and newer no longer has this problem.

If you are buying used, I will say go for the Berlingo, Doblo than the Kangoo.

If you are buying new, then the new Berlingo is great :)

I have driven a Feb 2004 Kangoo before. Owned it since new and drove it till mileage 140000km and gave it up.

For the first 100k km, there is absolutely no problems at all provided you service it regularly. I suggest you go to Billy Car Care for servicing if you want. They are quite professional in their approach and will return to you the changed parts to show that it was necessary.

After 100k km, problems started to come in due to wear and tear. The parts are rather expensive. Subsequent to the 100k servicing, each of the 4 servicings I went ( till 140k) cost me around 1000 each time.

Be careful of the fuel pump that cost more than 1500 to replace. Go check it at billy car care before you make your purchase.

It is a wonderful van to own, used to load in two bicycles and it was a great 'addition' to the family.

Diesel consumption is around 14km/l which is really very good.

The ride is ok la, expected noise from diesel engine.

Edited by Turbogoo

Heard from my friend who drives small truck for 4 years.

His VW Caddy is damn reliable. haven't been into workshop before (except regular servicing).

Pros (i personally think):

No cage or rod behind driver's seat (unlike kangoo & partner etc), so that u can lie down on ur seat

Bigger in size comparing to Kangoo.

Cons:

Can't drive to malaysia - not a big problem anyway, diesel in singapore won't cause u to bankrupt;

Beep beep sound when going above 70. (However, we know there're WAYS to 'silent' the car isn't it?)

Hope that helps.

just to add another pros to VW Caddy...it has turbo-diesel, and can be optioned to have a 6DSG gearbox...a 7DSG gearbox coming out soon...

i quite like the new 2010 VW Transporter with 170bhp TDI 7DSG...0-100kph in 14.3s!!

Avoid all Kangoo 1.9D. Will have issues with fuel pump every 2-3 yrs and cost SGD1,xxx to replace.

The 1.5T and newer no longer has this problem.

If you are buying used, I will say go for the Berlingo, Doblo than the Kangoo.

If you are buying new, then the new Berlingo is great :)

Thanks for the great advise all. It seems much clearer for me now. i still have some detail to check. Due to the fact that i can only look into auto transmission, T_T which year of the kangoo i should avoid? im looking for about 5 years van due to the amount i can afford. I dun mind other realiable euro brand if there is auto transmission with competative price.

just to add another pros to VW Caddy...it has turbo-diesel, and can be optioned to have a 6DSG gearbox...a 7DSG gearbox coming out soon...

i quite like the new 2010 VW Transporter with 170bhp TDI 7DSG...0-100kph in 14.3s!!

i have a doubt here, at 170bhp with turbo charge only 14.3s?? typo error?? sorry im not very sure but the figure i cannot justify the 14.3 sec performance. should be better bah.. ??

I have driven a Feb 2004 Kangoo before. Owned it since new and drove it till mileage 140000km and gave it up.

For the first 100k km, there is absolutely no problems at all provided you service it regularly. I suggest you go to Billy Car Care for servicing if you want. They are quite professional in their approach and will return to you the changed parts to show that it was necessary.

After 100k km, problems started to come in due to wear and tear. The parts are rather expensive. Subsequent to the 100k servicing, each of the 4 servicings I went ( till 140k) cost me around 1000 each time.

Be careful of the fuel pump that cost more than 1500 to replace. Go check it at billy car care before you make your purchase.

It is a wonderful van to own, used to load in two bicycles and it was a great 'addition' to the family.

yah Billy is French specialist. many goos there whenever i go.

buy the new caddy 1.9TDI with 5doors. [thumbsup] interior and reliability is great. been on expressway at 90km/h still stable. pickup really wonderful even fully loaded as it is a TDI. consperm better than any kangoo ar!

Yep, get a VW Caddy TDI with DSG. Been driving one for 2 and a half years and still enjoying it. The torque and DSG are good.

But the price of a new one is very ex now, I believe it costs abt $65K now. I got it at $47K that time.

The old one looks like a tortoise, never like it.

Best part, can go to a workshop for software upgrade to stage 1. Increase from 105bhp to 140bhp and from 250Nm to 320Nm. Costs abt $2000. I haven't done it yet though.

Edited by Fcw75

i owe a 2004 kangoo (1.9D) before also. and i dun realli like BCC.. advisor was telling me change wiper when i just change few days ago, ask me change air con filter when i just change few days ago.. tell him wiper just change his face change. haha.. tell him take out aircon filter for me to see whether dirty a not he tell me hard to take out (ya kangoo air con filter troublesome to take out.. not like car at passenger side one).

also kana a major accident before and went BCC for repair.the repair bill ended up 19k..BCC is super expensive man..

give up on them and went united motor instead ..but maybe they have change for the better now..

the fuel pump i kana 2 times in my 5 ownership.. both change under warranty.. air con knob faulty 2 times also..

kangoo to me is a sensible choice.. cheap running cost provided dun kana the fuel pump problem. so as per the others advise get the 1.5 if possible.

i still miss my kangoo nowadays.. [:(]