Thargor 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Hi all..... Yet another 'baby' thread from me again I seen lotsa friends becoming a different person for the better after their kids arrive in the world. How has fatherhood/motherhood change you? For better or for worse? Hehe come share share....me counting down now...6 weeks more... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 5:44 AM, Thargor said: Hi all..... Yet another 'baby' thread from me again I seen lotsa friends becoming a different person for the better after their kids arrive in the world. How has fatherhood/motherhood change you? For better or for worse? Hehe come share share....me counting down now...6 weeks more... For me, there are times when i wish that i did not give birth to my children as they take up a lot of my personal time. But the moment i think of their face only. All that wishes go into dust. Nothing is more valuable than when they look at you and smile, laugh, cry.etc. So the only changes is that i play my Computer games after 10pm. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 lol. can tell you really anticipating the arrival of your baby. what a cute father lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 5:44 AM, Thargor said: Hi all..... Yet another 'baby' thread from me again I seen lotsa friends becoming a different person for the better after their kids arrive in the world. How has fatherhood/motherhood change you? For better or for worse? Hehe come share share....me counting down now...6 weeks more... Brudder, i can foresee..... less/no freedom 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 6:03 AM, Dj_spike said: Brudder, i can foresee..... less/no freedom NO MORE MW2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 6:05 AM, Kingcopa said: NO MORE MW2 Dun disturb baby thread eh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 (edited) No more hot hatches for me... Have to look for MPV to accommodate the brood.... Edited January 18, 2010 by Karu 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angdevils Neutral Newbie January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 5:44 AM, Thargor said: Hi all..... Yet another 'baby' thread from me again I seen lotsa friends becoming a different person for the better after their kids arrive in the world. How has fatherhood/motherhood change you? For better or for worse? Hehe come share share....me counting down now...6 weeks more... In the past, I dun really have any agenda after work. Not saying I dun look forward to knocking off. But nowadays, i really really look forward to going home after work. Can play and smell my son. Hehe... Whole new experience for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Before: couple just decide where they want to go and GO. After: couple have to decide A) feed bb & change diaper first?, B) the place child friendy or not?, C) logistics (milk powder, diaper, changing mat, pacifier, extra clothings, swaddle, stroller or harness....) taken care of?, D) maid need to follow or not?, and finally.... E) can don't go or not? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Before: Very quick tempered. After: Much more patient and immune to crying. Before: Always need 7 hours of sleep After: Can get by with 4 hours of sleep or even disrupted sleep. Before: Twice weekly drinking session with friends After: Once every 2 months if OC permits 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 u really r one excited father to be. u will definitely change. in terms of how u carry urself, in terms of how u manage ur time, n also how u manage ur money. b4 fatherhood, u will only tink abt urself n ur wife. more freedom in wat to do n how to do it. if baby, most definitely ur baby will come 1st. ur time will b set aside for ur baby. anywhere n everywhere u wanna go, like someone has mentioned, u will tink if the place is kid-friendly. esp once ur child starts to play/walk/run ard. must tink if the shopping ctr has nursing room. whether will it be easy moving ard the place with stroller. n when u hv the money, u will tink, wat clothes/toys/shoes to buy for ur kid. for me, my kid's needs will come 1st, 2nd my wife's n last will b for me. even if i don get to buy anything, doesn't matter. couple time?...almost 0. when ur kid is sound asleep, pls take the chance to cuddle up with ur wife. (if more then cuddle also up to u la...hehe). anyway, congrats agn for ur coming fatherhood. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 before : wife only need to rake care of one big baby after : wife has to take care of both big and small babies ... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 i used to beat game for est. 15 hours a week after my kid was borne, it became 0 hours per week after i bought ps3 slim, it as less than 2 hours a week Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greggywong Neutral Newbie January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 previously...always looking forward to weekends...shopping at Orchard Road..AMK Hub...Johor Bahru for pirated DVD's!! Currently...dreading weekends...feed the baby..burp the baby...change the diapers...shopping at mothercare, kiddyplace..sing nursery songs..before I know it...Sunday's over!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 Well, first of all my congrats to you on your coming new born. Welcome to the parenthood. Don't expect things to remain the same before and after. Afterall it is about how both parents are willing to sacrifice for the child. Just to list some like, sleep, networking and kopi time with friends, the next car you choose, the place u go, personal hygence, etc. Most importantly i learn to appreciate and love my mum more after i become a father and experience it myself how much it takes to raise a kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Author Share January 18, 2010 Actually I already do not have much of a weekend to speak of...doing most of the housework now from cooking/washing/laundry/cleaning/moping etc...hehe...I am usually physically tired by Sunday night. But I am happy though...happy just to see my pregnant wife well rested... Been doing up my baby's room...buying stuff and washing the 3 big draws full of clothes we bought for her...hehe....now really can't wait to hold hold my baby ...another 6 weeks more... Kinda surrounded by lotsa hands-on guys around me who do everything except bf. I think its good for husband to be fully hands on...good bonding with the baby. My bro-in-law was cleaning his 20 months girl after she poo poo last week when my niece just smile at him and says, "papa i love you"..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 what the above forumers said are all so true. guess i dont need to repeat the same points afterall. i think the first 2 years is the most taxing on first time parents. really, it is very not easy lor. one potential problem is that baby doesnt want to sleep on time or early, then parents will have to do a lot of coaxing to get baby to sleep, sometimes until wee hours in the morning, and [arents become very exhuasted, imagine the whole day caring for baby, and then next day still have to work. of cos some babies are different in that they sleep quickly, then the parents are lucky. women after have baby, you really can see they grow older and wither down a lot. thats how they change from lady to become aunty. look at that mediacorp female celebrities and you can tell. as i mentioned before, it is financially, mentally and physically taxing. it really helps if you have no financial worries, and have good health, and dedication. if a new parent still wants to indulge in regular golf or mahjong or drinking, then difficult to be a dedicated parent at the same time. same as one of the forumer mentioned above, after have my first child and going thru everything, frankly, me and mrs had this afterthought, that is, if we had knew it took so much toll and required us to make so much sacrifices, we will never, ever, want to choose to have children. of cos the joy of having childen is immense, but truth be told, it is really taking all that is precious to you (time to enjoy, money, health, rest and leisure) to exchange for something that is equally joyful. so the question is, do you really want that or not ? dont ever think that having children means family life and love will be better, i have heard and seen many cases of marriage fall aprt because of new born, like husband running away and disowning their child, having affair because the wife become unattractive, and the financial burden that causes stress in marriage and problems with parent-in-laws taking care and staying together, and lots of money issue where expenses is concern, and that is A LOT, e.g. one session of kids explorer is $20. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 6:10 AM, Karu said: No more hot hatches for me... Have to look for MPV to accommodate the brood.... Wah you have how many children?? more than 3? cause Hot Hatches with the size of Jazz can ferry 2 kids and their pram around no problem one leh. dont need to upgrade to MPV. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...