BoneStock 5th Gear January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 (edited) hi folks, anyone duplicated your stock remote to a flip key type? Sample picture can be found here http://www.tradekey.com/selloffer_view/id/2449248.htm I hope the flip key is durable as I am planning to keep my ride for another few years. One of my 2 stock remotes is dead and the other is intermittent. So thinking of duplicating it before it dies completely. Heard it can be troublesome to duplicate the remote if it is not working already. Anyway, below are some of the shops offering flip keys. 1) Soxxi - http://www.autokey.sg/index.php 2) Velocikey - http://www.velocikey.webs.com/ 3) Sglocksmith - www.sglocksmith.com/ 4) Newton - www.newtonautokeys.com/ those with experience please advise me which one you prefer to get the flip key done. thanks! Edited January 15, 2010 by BoneStock ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 roughly how much is it? wanna change. dun like the idea of so many keys getting stuck in pocket and dangling. damn irritating sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 15, 2010 Author Share January 15, 2010 On 1/15/2010 at 8:16 AM, Prostcode said: roughly how much is it? wanna change. dun like the idea of so many keys getting stuck in pocket and dangling. damn irritating sia the 1st one quoted me 95...the other 3 quoted 50. mine is very simple remote and my key do not have the immobiliser feature...so it is cheaper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 Your current remotes are running flat? Replace battery lah..... less than $5 If its like those small ones for calculators. Cost like $1.80 only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 forget abt no.1..i changeover a year ago tat time offer abt 70 bucks.. still functioning..but kinda loose n flimsy.. meaning not very solid built probably china one i think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 dunno bout the rest. . . but number 1 has no fixed price, today quote you this price, next week you go become another price. . . and they see everybody as carrots. . . try to chop customers as much as possible. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 15, 2010 Author Share January 15, 2010 On 1/15/2010 at 1:34 PM, Xtravagant said: dunno bout the rest. . . but number 1 has no fixed price, today quote you this price, next week you go become another price. . . and they see everybody as carrots. . . try to chop customers as much as possible. . . not sure about the inconsistent quotes as i only called them once. But the price they quoted me is definitely steep compared to the others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 15, 2010 Author Share January 15, 2010 On 1/15/2010 at 11:32 AM, Avantism said: forget abt no.1..i changeover a year ago tat time offer abt 70 bucks.. still functioning..but kinda loose n flimsy.. meaning not very solid built probably china one i think... I see...thanks for the info Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waffenss Neutral Newbie January 16, 2010 Share January 16, 2010 Anyone knows where to duplicate this for less than the AD price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 16, 2010 Author Share January 16, 2010 On 1/16/2010 at 6:25 AM, Waffenss said: Anyone knows where to duplicate this for less than the AD price? you could call up the shops listed on the 1st post to find out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 16, 2010 Author Share January 16, 2010 (edited) I just made the flip key today with the 3rd shop. I was given 3 different models to choose from....come with either 3 or 4 buttons. My original remote has 4 buttons but eventually I settled for a 3-button flip key cos its design is more appealing to me. Had to sacrifice the "car finder", which I hardly use anyway. Edited January 16, 2010 by BoneStock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 17, 2010 Share January 17, 2010 On 1/16/2010 at 1:45 PM, BoneStock said: I just made the flip key today with the 3rd shop. I was given 3 different models to choose from....come with either 3 or 4 buttons. My original remote has 4 buttons but eventually I settled for a 3-button flip key cos its design is more appealing to me. Had to sacrifice the "car finder", which I hardly use anyway. how much u get it done? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 17, 2010 Author Share January 17, 2010 On 1/17/2010 at 5:09 AM, Nkps said: how much u get it done? 50. all shops quoted same price except the 1st one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lohsk Neutral Newbie January 17, 2010 Share January 17, 2010 is it applicable to all car keys? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 18, 2010 Author Share January 18, 2010 On 1/17/2010 at 11:12 AM, Lohsk said: is it applicable to all car keys? from what I heard, not all remotes can be duplicated. it also depends on whether your car comes with immobiliser. With this, even if it can be duplicated, the cost will be much higher. Call up the shops in the 1st post to find out if they can duplicate the remote for your ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 12:54 AM, BoneStock said: from what I heard, not all remotes can be duplicated. it also depends on whether your car comes with immobiliser. With this, even if it can be duplicated, the cost will be much higher. Call up the shops in the 1st post to find out if they can duplicate the remote for your ride. Wonder if they can "combine" functions of 2 remotes into 1 Cos I have the stock key with remote open/close for left/right sliding door, but the alarm arming (remote lock/unlock) comes fr the aftermarket system. now I find stock key (with buttons on key) & a remote dangling ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ukskakashi Neutral Newbie January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 flip key damm bad one man, later flip flip than the key fly away nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 another scenario is the fellow flip while inside pants pocket.. later u realise ur walkin around w a flipped key..my personal experience w TS no.1 shop. :angry: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...