Introz Clutched January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 I just want to know from you guys is kia picanto good or not in long run cause i got some feedback from my reservist friends saying thier picanto is no good main problem - aircon, steering and gearbox ( 2years of normal use ) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 One of the best within it's price range.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Colin03 4th Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 Have look at Getz if the price range is acceptable to you . Just my view only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeshunda100 Neutral Newbie January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 Super basic car. They are very durable and they last very long because they do not have sophiscated equipements or state of the art technologies. Very easy to maintain. When car are basic how will it break down easy. It is damm good car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 On 1/14/2010 at 7:01 AM, Introz said: I just want to know from you guys is kia picanto good or not in long run cause i got some feedback from my reservist friends saying thier picanto is no good main problem - aircon, steering and gearbox ( 2years of normal use ) My relative's Picanto manual is 4 years old with 120000km+ mileage. No serious problems at all since it's been well maintained throughout. Only the brake master pump needed to be replaced recently, which is a common fault with Picanto. Of course the interior has some rattles but nothing too serious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 (edited) Same here. My auto pica ride coming to 5yrs liao in June and now hit 110k mileage. So far so good no major problems. As long as you do the servicing interval regularly confirm no problem at all. Your friends pica most probably go whack it so much until here and there got problem. As we all know it is not a performance car so its up to the driver. If you care for the ride you will take good care of it just like a wife (or mistress? ) But if you are a performance driven person then this car is probably not for you. My ride even went to the top of Cameron Highlands at 6500feet. Haha. what do you think? Edited January 14, 2010 by Berncsp76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched January 14, 2010 Author Share January 14, 2010 thanks for the review guys was thinking of having 1 myself but comments of my reservists mates who have them scared me by the way care to tell me how much u spend total for picanto ( monthly + insurance + maintaines + fuel ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 I don't know about the instalment and insurance, but I do know thier manual Picanto is doing about 13-14km/L, mostly city driving with little highway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 On 1/14/2010 at 7:50 AM, Introz said: thanks for the review guys was thinking of having 1 myself but comments of my reservists mates who have them scared me by the way care to tell me how much u spend total for picanto ( monthly + insurance + maintaines + fuel ) my monthly about $400 for 7yr loan, insurance 50%NCD about $800, servicing about once every two months, damage around $100+. Petrol around $10+ mostly pump in JB weekly. Other expenditure (parking, ERP around $150+). All in all around $700 monthly. My fc hovering around 12-13L coz auto ride +sport edition + heavy me . Already quite good coz I light footer. 60% citydriving 40%highway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Introz Clutched January 14, 2010 Author Share January 14, 2010 ic i think if i buy around $800+ cause 0% ncd quite pain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 my colleague told me she drove her aunt's picanto and it sucks....no power, cant even speed past 90km/l and when going on slope...it hell slow and no power leh. anyway its 1l car right? cant blame the car lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 On 1/14/2010 at 8:30 AM, Babyt said: my colleague told me she drove her aunt's picanto and it sucks....no power, cant even speed past 90km/l and when going on slope...it hell slow and no power leh. anyway its 1l car right? cant blame the car lor. I think the aunt never service the car la, we guys know hw women treat the car... pica become QQ liao. haha everyday I go up Sheares Bridge at 90km/h also overtake normal 1.6L car. Haha. Go NSHW also chiong 120-140km at times. Last road trip from KL back to SG in 3hrs with no stop in between. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 14, 2010 Share January 14, 2010 Why don't you consider HYundai Verna 1.4A ? The Selling price almost same as Picanto but at least its a Sedan. FC I think can get 11~12km/L... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Target Neutral Newbie January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 There could be something wrong if you feel picanto is dragging or under power. The shaft that hold the timing sensor could have worn out a little, thus affecting the timing (I do not know the exact technical name for this part) I was once a picanto owner and thus aware of this, also take note of the exhaust pipe cos after 2 or 3 year, the outer layer will get rusty and corroded. Hope this help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Target Neutral Newbie January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 On 1/14/2010 at 9:25 AM, Tigerwoods said: Why don't you consider HYundai Verna 1.4A ? The Selling price almost same as Picanto but at least its a Sedan. FC I think can get 11~12km/L... I fully agree with wat tigerwood said. Verna is defintely a better ride than picanto. The selling price is low doesn't mean that it is a good buy. I would said the yearly deprication should be the main factor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridrium 1st Gear January 15, 2010 Share January 15, 2010 Let me put,this in another perspective. Few years ago, I was driving a sonata and slightly knocked a picanto on the backside at a traffic light stop. On a moving off speed of less than 10km/h, my front bumper lightly knocked into the rear end of a picanto. When we go down to inspect the damage, my car was slighty scratched with a minor bump on the bumper, I thought that the picanto should be relatively ok. To my horror when open up the rear door to inspect , we found the whole boot of the picanto collapsed. The whole repair cost me 2-3k. Now, just imagine driving a picanto and got hit by a car travel at 80km/hr... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
10-303 Neutral Newbie January 16, 2010 Share January 16, 2010 drove my brother's picanto for 2 weeks pretty decent car, given that me and my hubby are big size. Exept i feel that this car can comfortably sit 4 people max. If 5, abit too squeezy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 16, 2010 Share January 16, 2010 On 1/14/2010 at 7:01 AM, Introz said: I just want to know from you guys is kia picanto good or not in long run cause i got some feedback from my reservist friends saying thier picanto is no good main problem - aircon, steering and gearbox ( 2years of normal use ) i think it's a reliable ride. the worst thing abt it is that u will probably really want a better car in time to come, then u will spend $$ to upgrade again. the engine is low tech but reliable and reasonably economical to run if u drive sensibly. not much power, but maintenance is very cheap. my getz 1.1 no engine issues whatsoever even with mild mods and very hard driving. imagine i sustain 150km/h going up to 165 on downslopes on NSH. speed above 140 for 2 hours on end. still running smooth. but once u drive a 1.6l car and above, u will be very sian to drive the picanto due to poor pickup. but manual picanto with mods will be a pretty decent drive in terms of pickup and handling. confirm qiet 1.4A chevrolets and most lorries.. haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...