COE cars

HOUSENUMBER

Haha! Thanks! Yeah, MY is usually my resource for parts. Mechanical parts are still available in JB. But most things that can't be found in JB can be found in KL. True that the condition may not be pristine, but with a little elbow grease, some spit and polish, Voila! Good as new!

The '89 Corona was a true gem! They weren't plagued with "sticky" acceleator pedals like their decendants the Camrys. Don't see many of them around anymore [:(]

=================

I think mine was the last Corona CD to b scrapped in SG. If I had kept it, it wud b the ONLY 1 left. A real collectors item & I used it as a daily use car & it ran like an almost new car.

Now I drive an Optra & wonder if I can extend the COE past 10 years? So far it has given me good service (4 years already) so if it has no surprises for me, I might just b able to extend its COE 1 more time.

=================

I think mine was the last Corona CD to b scrapped in SG. If I had kept it, it wud b the ONLY 1 left. A real collectors item & I used it as a daily use car & it ran like an almost new car.

Now I drive an Optra & wonder if I can extend the COE past 10 years? So far it has given me good service (4 years already) so if it has no surprises for me, I might just b able to extend its COE 1 more time.

Actually I still see a lot of Corona CDs around on the roads leh. Spacious and reliable. The successor, the Corona GLis are pretty good cars too.

=============

Ya I also realised my CP also got 1 Corona CD but its the newer model(1991) whereas mine was the 1989 model.

Most of the Corona GLi were scrapped early cos of their high COE values. [:(]

Yah man, $500 per month is pretty unrealistic!! COE car ownership means alot of patience, blood, sweat and sometimes even tears! How do I know? My car is 26 years old liao!! [blush]

Maintenance is of utmost importance if you wanna keep it in good working condition. This means changing wear & tear parts every so often, sometimes these parts are very difficult to find 'cos they're no longer in production and you have to be extra resourceful! Be prepared for overheating for no apparent reason, difficult cold starts, oil leaks, radiator leaks, rust, corroded piping, worn-out door/window/boot rubber mouldings, faulty electronics, tuning problems, burnt-out wiring and this is just the BEGINNING...

So you see, although these cars are relatively cheap to buy, sorting out all these problems and more as we go along the COE car ownership route costs $$$, and the actual running costs will skyrocket from your initial expectations <_<

Lidat why I still wanna drive my 26 year old car? Simple, I've got a passion for old cars... [pirate]

I am driving a 18 year old Japanese car. Maintenance is not that scary actually.

Most important is to have an honest and trustworthy mechanic.

Yes I second Albeniz.

regular good maintenance is what makes the difference.

Let me share my experience.

my first car was also a COE car.

a 16 year old Mazda RX7.

Loved every single second of ownership.

Bought it over from a reluctant elderly (in his late 50s) gentleman who kept it under cover in his landed house.

His regular ride was a Mercy E class.

I am driving a 18 year old Japanese car. Maintenance is not that scary actually.

Most important is to have an honest and trustworthy mechanic.

Yeah, I know it's not tht bad lah. Just wanna warn this 20 year old guy who only has $500 a month to spend on car ownership...

My ride, initially had all those problems I mentioned in my earlier post, once I got those sorted, others seemed to sprout outta nowhere! But these were relatively minor so not a big issue...it's still money though. Now, it's running beautifully 'cept for my rear brake discs which are worn, clutch which is worn and who knows what else in the future! Ya see, the thing with these old cars is...you NEVER know!!

18 years old Japanese ride! Sounds very interesting, those were the days of the wild cam VTEC...it kicked in YO?

Bro,

Get a Starlet , you will not regret for its power and budget maintenance, go to starlet forum and check it out, its better lookin than corolla too :)

I missed my starlet lol :P

Haha! Thanks! Yeah, MY is usually my resource for parts. Mechanical parts are still available in JB. But most things that can't be found in JB can be found in KL. True that the condition may not be pristine, but with a little elbow grease, some spit and polish, Voila! Good as new!

The '89 Corona was a true gem! They weren't plagued with "sticky" acceleator pedals like their decendants the Camrys. Don't see many of them around anymore [:(]

Been glued to this thread since i logged in..me driving a 93 corolla ae101. bought in oct2008 for 8k, the big tickets were: 600 for door and window rubber, 500 for engine mountings, 500 for timing belt and water pump, 700 for sound system, 400 for air-con, 400 for paintwork....2k plus.

this car has not broken down on the road for once, i've taken her twice to genting, twice to thailand, once to ipoh, about 55000km in 16 months!

highway 16km/l

city 11km/l

best workhorse in my ten years of car ownership!

btw, can anyone share the contacts for MY or Local workshop? would like to check pricing for engine overhaul, or 1.8l mod...

Been glued to this thread since i logged in..me driving a 93 corolla ae101. bought in oct2008 for 8k, the big tickets were: 600 for door and window rubber, 500 for engine mountings, 500 for timing belt and water pump, 700 for sound system, 400 for air-con, 400 for paintwork....2k plus.

this car has not broken down on the road for once, i've taken her twice to genting, twice to thailand, once to ipoh, about 55000km in 16 months!

highway 16km/l

city 11km/l

best workhorse in my ten years of car ownership!

btw, can anyone share the contacts for MY or Local workshop? would like to check pricing for engine overhaul, or 1.8l mod...

Sure mate, go check out "Speedlinkz Motorsport" near Taman Utama. The young boss (An Chen) isn't big on customer service, but mechanically, he can bring almost any car back from the brink! He does many Singapore cars, and I've seen some pretty wild modifications done on an sg-plated YRV & an MR-S.

No.30 Jalan NB2 1/4, Taman Nusa Bestari 2. 81300 Skudai, Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

Tel: 07-5115308

Hp: 012-7133516

Remember stealing my Aunt's AE101 in the middle of the night for joyrides! This was when I first got my license back in '94 and it was one of the most memorable drives of my life! With regards to modding the car, I wouldn't go overboard if reliability and FC are concerns. A simple, albeit thorough, overhaul would extend the engine's life, without compromising on reliability, for years to come! About RM2,000 should be enough, but please don't hold me to that amount :ph34r: Haha!

I have a question.

When August 2011 finally comes, many COE cars from the early 90s will have to be de-registered and taken off the road in Singapore.

Assuming that I have relatives in Malaysia or Indonesia, can I arrange for the car to be deregistered and then shipped to these countries instead of sending to the Singapore scrapyard?

Edited by Albeniz

I have a question.

When August 2011 finally comes, many COE cars from the early 90s will have to be de-registered and taken off the road in Singapore.

Assuming that I have relatives in Malaysia or Indonesia, can I arrange for the car to be deregistered and then shipped to these countries instead of sending to the Singapore scrapyard?

Yes, i'm interested in this idea too. Someone please tell.

Hi everyone,I am new to this forum.

I currently have a 1991 B13 1.4M. Are there any forumers here still using this car ?

Cheers.

no.