COE cars

HOUSENUMBER

Hi, I'm intending to get a car. whether to get a COE car (those coe till 2012), or a 2005 car (like hyundai getz/ kia picanto), or a 2001 nissan sunny with COE $101.

Which one will be more worth it? In terms of petrol, maintanence fees and coe price.

Kindly advise. :D

Edited by JaveSW

Hi, I'm intending to get a car. whether to get a COE car (those coe till 2012), or a 2005 car (like hyundai getz/ kia picanto), or a 2001 nissan sunny with COE $101.

Which one will be more worth it? In terms of petrol, maintanence fees and coe price.

==============

Most important u must check the condition of any car u want to buy.

Then u check the yearly depreciation for the car. COE cars got no scrap value so just divide the balance COE value by the number of years left. COE cars pay a higher R Tax than other cars but the amt is not that much if u can get a good deal on the cars price. R Tax u only pay once a year.

Low COE $101 cars seldom sold at a fair price. cos dealer wil tell u car is worth so much but if u try to sell back to them, they will only give u the value of the balance COE & a bit more for the body if u r lucky.

Newer cars wil cost u more which means a higher loan & monthly instalments so u have to work out what is best for u & your budget.

I drove a COE CoronaCD till it was 19 years old & it gave me very little problems & was a damm good car. U must know how to see the condition of older cars cos if u buy a lemon, u wil have no end of trouble & high repair costs.

==============

Most important u must check the condition of any car u want to buy.

Then u check the yearly depreciation for the car. COE cars got no scrap value so just divide the balance COE value by the number of years left. COE cars pay a higher R Tax than other cars but the amt is not that much if u can get a good deal on the cars price. R Tax u only pay once a year.

Low COE $101 cars seldom sold at a fair price. cos dealer wil tell u car is worth so much but if u try to sell back to them, they will only give u the value of the balance COE & a bit more for the body if u r lucky.

Newer cars wil cost u more which means a higher loan & monthly instalments so u have to work out what is best for u & your budget.

I drove a COE CoronaCD till it was 19 years old & it gave me very little problems & was a damm good car. U must know how to see the condition of older cars cos if u buy a lemon, u wil have no end of trouble & high repair costs.

Hmm. then for coe $101 cars. let's say i renew, then i intend to scrap after using. is it worth it? And divide the balance COE value by the number of years left= meaning? it's the money i will get back after scraping is it?

Cause I intend to get a car just for driving around. I'm 20 years old only. haha. My monthly budget (installment & petrol & hdb parking) is about $500. Not taking misc parking, erp, etc into consideration.

So, what kind of cars should I get?

Which car would you rather have?

A 5 year old, a 10 year old or an 18 year old car?

I would choose a 5 year old if you dun mind the size.

I m driving a Getz and it have been a pleasure to own and drive.

Which car would you rather have?

A 5 year old, a 10 year old or an 18 year old car?

I would choose a 5 year old if you dun mind the size.

I m driving a Getz and it have been a pleasure to own and drive.

hmm. makes sense. actually Im thking of buyin a 2005 getz too.. i prefer zhng getz though..

sth like this.. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...906&DL=1000

may i know how much u spend on petrol every month??

Hmm. then for coe $101 cars. let's say i renew, then i intend to scrap after using. is it worth it? And divide the balance COE value by the number of years left= meaning? it's the money i will get back after scraping is it?

Cause I intend to get a car just for driving around. I'm 20 years old only. haha. My monthly budget (installment & petrol & hdb parking) is about $500. Not taking misc parking, erp, etc into consideration.

So, what kind of cars should I get?

=================

I think your budget is abit too low to own & maintain any car. If u increase to abt $800 plus, u can get a low cost, good condition COE car for daily running around.

If u only pump JB petrol, u might save another $100 plus depending on how much u drive.

Your budget allows u mostly cheaper COE cars but then again u got to look for a good deal cos most dealers r selling at prices which give them yearly depreciation higher than much newer cars.

Again I say, do your sums & look around for the best deal u can find. Important is the car is in good condition & trouble free.

Most cars work out monthly instlment already about $500. [sweatdrop]

And try not to take a longer loan period as that means u r paying alot of $$$ in interest charges. [dizzy]

Yah man, $500 per month is pretty unrealistic!! COE car ownership means alot of patience, blood, sweat and sometimes even tears! How do I know? My car is 26 years old liao!! [blush]

Maintenance is of utmost importance if you wanna keep it in good working condition. This means changing wear & tear parts every so often, sometimes these parts are very difficult to find 'cos they're no longer in production and you have to be extra resourceful! Be prepared for overheating for no apparent reason, difficult cold starts, oil leaks, radiator leaks, rust, corroded piping, worn-out door/window/boot rubber mouldings, faulty electronics, tuning problems, burnt-out wiring and this is just the BEGINNING...

So you see, although these cars are relatively cheap to buy, sorting out all these problems and more as we go along the COE car ownership route costs $$$, and the actual running costs will skyrocket from your initial expectations <_<

Lidat why I still wanna drive my 26 year old car? Simple, I've got a passion for old cars... [pirate]

Yah man, $500 per month is pretty unrealistic!! COE car ownership means alot of patience, blood, sweat and sometimes even tears! How do I know? My car is 26 years old liao!! [blush]

Maintenance is of utmost importance if you wanna keep it in good working condition. This means changing wear & tear parts every so often, sometimes these parts are very difficult to find 'cos they're no longer in production and you have to be extra resourceful! Be prepared for overheating for no apparent reason, difficult cold starts, oil leaks, radiator leaks, rust, corroded piping, worn-out door/window/boot rubber mouldings, faulty electronics, tuning problems, burnt-out wiring and this is just the BEGINNING...

So you see, although these cars are relatively cheap to buy, sorting out all these problems and more as we go along the COE car ownership route costs $$$, and the actual running costs will skyrocket from your initial expectations <_<

Lidat why I still wanna drive my 26 year old car? Simple, I've got a passion for old cars... [pirate]

nice....its like those americans having a passion for american muscle vintage cars....

============

What cat u driving? [flowerface]

Corolla 1.3M is a mod evil car! Can mod until siao.

The 1.3M engine is the 2E engine found in many of the Starlets. The original 1E engine of the Starlet mostly died already and to keep the car going, they are fitted with the 1.3L 2E. As a result, don't go and challenge the Starlet. That dirty 1.3L caburetted engine can make most new cars behind at the traffic lights.

So what is up for the 1.3 2E on a Corolla when it fails? The evil 1.5L 3E engine. Top speed not much difference but there is torque. Plenty of torque. It is a stroke variant of the 1.3L 2E.

The 1E, 2E and 3E on the exterior looks entire the same! No way to find out which is which unless you are in the know.

Hahaa...I knew this was comin.

Err...F-14 Tomcat?? Hahaha [laugh]

No lah, a Toyota Corolla from 1984. Thought I mentioned that in my profile page?

============

Great car.

I used to drive a 1989 Corona CD auto. Another great car which I sold abt 2 years back & regretted it since.

Gave me fantastic service. I still miss that car.

Although spares might b a problem, u can always ask the scrapyards to special bring in from Japan the spares u need. Cost might b a little higher but at least u can still get them.

Or u can try MY but their parts wil b older & not in such good condition.

============

Great car.

I used to drive a 1989 Corona CD auto. Another great car which I sold abt 2 years back & regretted it since.

Gave me fantastic service. I still miss that car.

Although spares might b a problem, u can always ask the scrapyards to special bring in from Japan the spares u need. Cost might b a little higher but at least u can still get them.

Or u can try MY but their parts wil b older & not in such good condition.

Haha! Thanks! Yeah, MY is usually my resource for parts. Mechanical parts are still available in JB. But most things that can't be found in JB can be found in KL. True that the condition may not be pristine, but with a little elbow grease, some spit and polish, Voila! Good as new!

The '89 Corona was a true gem! They weren't plagued with "sticky" acceleator pedals like their decendants the Camrys. Don't see many of them around anymore [:(]