Karebu 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 My phone got killed this morning after endless dropping from and squashing on the bed. So. Can anyone recommend a phone that has a physical keypad and a full touchscreen? Operationally defined: Physical keypad meaning real buttons, not on screen virtual keys - I find the latter not comparable to the former in terms of typing speed. Full touchscreen meaning the ability to tap anywhere on the screen at any point in time. An example of what would NOT be a full touchscreen phone would be Aino from SonyE. The touchscreen works only in music. many thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 E72 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 HTC Touch Pro 2... i juz got this last mth.... The speakerphone works fantastic and has noise cancellation too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 Nokia N900 With full internet capability, the UI is supposed to be smoothest ever. http://maemo.nokia.com/n900/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 (edited) oh damn. paiseh paiseh. wasn't specific any 123,456,789,*0# kind of keypads, instead of qwerty? still, thank you all for your responses. i will go examine the qwerty phones as well. Edited January 12, 2010 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 (edited) oh damn. paiseh paiseh. wasn't specific any 123,456,789,*0# kind of keypads, instead of qwerty? still, thank you all for your responses. i will go examine the qwerty phones as well. I think sony-ericsson P1i is the only phone that has both touch screen and physical keypads......was also looking for such phone but couldnt find so traded in mine for a lousy LG GD900 ..... Edited January 12, 2010 by Hotamp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 aha ! you are in the same shoes as me i did a fair bit of research and allow me to share here. i samseng fan and windows mobile die hard Nokia - E71 has ALL the requirements you spelt out including keypad, mouse, touchscreen BUT the GPS is AGPS ... have to pay $ to use my only gripe is that it is Symbian OS using the Nokia Data Suite or something, not windows mobile. does not work very well with my outlook Samsung Omnia Pro B7320, has everything including GPS, except touch screen and optical mouse which i find is idiotic bcos the previous i780 has more bells and whistles and costs the same or less Omnia lite has everything except physical keypad the touch screen is resistive type so the response is laggy and feels cheap Omnia II no keypad but the AMOLED screen is fantastic Omnia Pro something something very very expensive 1150 w/o contract for the same amount of money, i rather get iphone (which i hate) or nokia N97 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 never bothered to look at LG and SE esp my home LG tv was a major disappointment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 I think sony-ericsson P1i is the only phone that has both touch screen and physical keypads......was also looking for such phone but couldnt find so traded in mine for a lousy LG GD900 ..... sighhhhhhhhhh. hhaha. i've been clinging on to my w960i for coming to 2 years. really want a 123 keypad and touchscreen. i'm thinking of stooping down to aino. i heard the full touchscreen function is 'activated' somehow on java applets so there just might be a way to get around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 never bothered to look at LG and SE esp my home LG tv was a major disappointment SE is clean and sleek, somewhat very refreshing to look at. no iphones for me because my thumbs are too big to type properly and two i don't understand the apple hype and i dont want to be part of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 Hi, can check this: http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/mobilephones/...4803227p,00.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 hi pat, thanks alot for the link. i've however examined the aino and even went down to sony gallery to use it. are you aware that the touchscreen for aino works only in media player and some java applets? that's the biggest downfall, almost unacceptable to me. or perhaps do you know of a hack that can 'unlock' the touchscreen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 SE is clean and sleek, somewhat very refreshing to look at. no iphones for me because my thumbs are too big to type properly and two i don't understand the apple hype and i dont want to be part of it. make that 2 person dont want to be part of that dumb hype Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 ho, sorry, i dont know much about the phone.. just went shopping during free time and walked into the store and 'play' with it for awhile. Today saw your message, then go cnet to seach and sent some info to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 never bothered to look at LG and SE esp my home LG tv was a major disappointment yep..no LG products for me ever again for phone wise....i have no problem with SE....guess heng suay also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 ho, sorry, i dont know much about the phone.. just went shopping during free time and walked into the store and 'play' with it for awhile. Today saw your message, then go cnet to seach and sent some info to you. thanks alot anyway! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whattafarck 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 heh.... am looking for a hp too... looking at SE Satio actually... looking soo hard...tat i hopin the price will drop some more...hehehehe... but then...i heard the Xperia X10 coming soon liao... been using SE hp's since they were just Ericsson... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 dunno leh... i bad exp with sony ericsson... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...