Foreign Driving Licenses

Avvee

hey anyone here got similar experiences?

I got a cousin who is Singaporean but went to Australia to study. Went to get driving license in Aussie.

However she'll be back here in SG for a month. Can she drive a car in Singapore with Australian driving license?

A few friends of mine say can because its in English thus its an International driving license so it can be used here.

Anyone knows ? ^_^

Convert to SG license lah.

Just call TP to ask what are the required document and bring all along to do the conversion, all done within 1/2 a day, then whole life can drive in SG, but need to have at least SG basic theory.

Aussie license need to renew annually? If she P-plate there, here also must put P-plate.

When i returned to Singapore last june i had exchanged my driving license for a canadian one. had no problems for the 2 months i was back.

  On 1/11/2010 at 6:06 PM, Atonchia said:

Convert to SG license lah.

Just call TP to ask what are the required document and bring all along to do the conversion, all done within 1/2 a day, then whole life can drive in SG, but need to have at least SG basic theory.

Aussie license need to renew annually? If she P-plate there, here also must put P-plate.

Yup still P plate in aussie.

Basic theory can so fast get one meh? While waiting for test date etc still allow to drive anot ? :blink:

  On 1/11/2010 at 6:06 PM, Ara84 said:

When i returned to Singapore last june i had exchanged my driving license for a canadian one. had no problems for the 2 months i was back.

Sorry don't quite catch - you got a Canadian license and was able to drive around with it in Singapore?

Eh, I think cannot be so fast leh, because I've had a basic and advance theory before I went over to Aussie and took the test there.

Return to convert only. But that was almost 10yrs ago, you better check with TP now, not sure if the basic theory requirement is the same.

Edited by Atonchia

I am Singaporean, born in Singapore, grew up in Malaysia, so got Malaysian driving license. When come back Singapore to stay and wanted to convert to Singapore driving license, have to take everything like newbie :blink:

The good thing is that I need to take lesser driving lessons, and I am more of a defensive driver, no more qiong and qiong like last time :D

On 1/11/2010 at 6:21 PM, Avvee said:

Sorry don't quite catch - you got a Canadian license and was able to drive around with it in Singapore?

Shud nt be a problem driving around wif foreign driving license as long as in english. but do check wif tp hw long can u use it for. usually they allow u to drive in sg wif foreign driving license but for a certain period of time only.

I enquired about this before. As long as the driving license is in English, it is valid to be used in Singapore for a maximum duration of 1 year, starting from the time the person arrives in Singapore till the time that person leaves Singapore.

If the foreigner is staying in Singapore for more than 1 year (without any trips aboard), then it is compulsory for that person to convert his/her license to a Singapore license.

Hope this helps.

your cousin cannot drive here with aussie license. The following is from Spore Police Force website:

"Singaporeans and Permanent Residents may only drive in Singapore with a Singapore licence. They have to seek conversion of their foreign driving licence upon returning to Singapore and upon obtaining PR status respectively.

Singaporeans and Permanent Residents may convert a foreign driving licence if they can show proof that they have reason to be staying in a foreign country for a period of 1 year or more due to study or work, and have a total stay of 6 months within the one year period.

New PRs who already have a 5-year Singapore driving licence will have to replace it with a lifetime driving licence that reflects their new NRIC number."

EDIT: the 12 months rule apply to foreign talents only :)

Edited by Longhorn

Does anyone know if it is a) passing the driving test within the 6 months of the 1 year period while you are overseas, or b) need to have passed at least 6 months before you come back? I tried calling TP but as always the person on the phone was very rude and even hanged up on my before i was done.

On 1/26/2011 at 6:06 AM, Freel4ncer said:

Does anyone know if it is a) passing the driving test within the 6 months of the 1 year period while you are overseas, or b) need to have passed at least 6 months before you come back? I tried calling TP but as always the person on the phone was very rude and even hanged up on my before i was done.

i think wat TP is saying is this: a person needs to prove tat he/she has reason (work/study) to be overseas for 1 year or more, AND once he/she is back in S'pore, he/she needs to convert the licence soon, because they look at the last 1-yr period and see whether at least 6 mths of tat 1-yr period was spent overseas (i.e. u cannot come back, wait for 1 or 2 yr, then happy happy go to convert to SG licence)

On 1/26/2011 at 3:12 PM, Freel4ncer said:

thanks. but i was clarifying if its option a or b? i just passed my bike license and am coming back in two months. i have a 6 month stay in a 1 year period

not too sure about bike license, but for car license conversion, i think u need to show them ur foreign license, and if it's a valid one, they probably will accept it regardless of when u passed. However, if u are still under "Provisional" status for the foreign license, they'll issue u a s'pore license under a P-plate status too. (after 1 yr, the P-plate status will end automatically)

TS your cousin need to do driving license conversion. First of all She Singaporean, to drive in Singapore, She have to have Singapore Driving License.

Minimum requirement for conversion is minimum stay in Australia 6 months after obtaining Australia driving license.

Go for driving center, register for Basic Theory Test, Take the test and Pass it.

Take the result, aussie driving license, passport size photograph and passport to the Traffic Police counter at the driving center to convert. If approved, immediately can drive in Singapore. Given two week proof slip till they send you the license.