MIW has sin against the pledge....

relacker

Did not our singapore pledge say'...so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress'

but y aren't our ppl happy despite the seeming prosperity which also is not evenly spread and progress which again is self acclaim but see we lose out to the koreans, taiwanese and china.

if we singaporeans are not happy, then 45 yrs of nation building is down the drain, we have not attain the objective the nation 1st sought out to to do after 45 byrs and the very thing we force kids and ourselves to repaeat every morning. [:|]

Did not our singapore pledge say'...so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress'

but y aren't our ppl happy despite the seeming prosperity which also is not evenly spread and progress which again is self acclaim but see we lose out to the koreans, taiwanese and china.

if we singaporeans are not happy, then 45 yrs of nation building is down the drain, we have not attain the objective the nation 1st sought out to to do after 45 byrs and the very thing we force kids and ourselves to repaeat every morning. [:|]

when you say 'our people aren't happy'? Who do you mean? You not happy does not mean everyone not happy....... At least i am happy.... [:)]

Exactly. How can you make sure everyone in the nation is happy? Even if you gave everyone 1 mil dollars, there'd still be unhappy people around. Threadstarter, come up with a more credible anti-government whine please.

i am happy too

make that 2 - my dog too

MIW never said they are here to achieve happiness for you mah...

you achieve your own happiness one way or another

Edited by Ngck

Happiness is choice thing.... you can choose to be happy, or you can choose to be miserable.

The key word is so as to achieve mah. if need to be achieve, this mean that no yet happiness. if have happiness liao then what for try to achieve somethign that is there. like you go tution so as to achieve better result like that.

But seriously, Singaporean will always find things to be unhappy.

Edited by Joseph22

acherllee those at buangkok green seem happy leh [laugh][laugh]

Why you say Singaporeans are not happy? Or is it just you?

Compare yourself to the average Somalian, or Indonesian (just examples, for the point of argument).

- You have a nice apartment ... maybe even with a swimming pool. How's a zinc/atap roof hut compare?

- You have a world class utilities system, power on demand and water on tap. No dependancy on diesel generators and wells, or hand pumps.

- You own a car (at least that's assuming of your being a member in this forum). They on the other hand, may even need to walk kilometres just to fetch water.

- You have a job, maybe even the wife (double income), paying decent.

- You have savings in the bank, or at least in CPF, for your twilight years.

- You have good roads to drive your car (w/o pot holes and dirt tracks), bus and MRT system as alternative transports.

- Your children are well educated in an education system that was inherited from the British (the best 'gift' they gave to their ex-colonies) and proficiency in the English language. The French and Dutch did not, however, do as much to their ex-colonies, other than to plunder their natural resources.

- If your children top the schools, they will be given overseas scholarships to join the ranks of the world's elite.

- You wear branded clothes and acessories and donate used clothes/shoes regularly to charity. These may even end up in third-world countries where the recipients will continue to wear them for the next many years!

- When you fall sick, or meet with an accident, you have world-class hospitals to fall back on to. Imagine, rich foreigners from around this region and beyond even come here to do major operations (e.g. heart and liver transplants, eye operations etc.). American and European expats have no qualms from receiving surgery and medical care from Singapore's hospitals and medical centers. I don't think they can say the same if they were stationed in Somalia, or Indonesia. You have the brightest and gifted heart, brain and endocrine surgeons right here, at your doorstep.

AND I COULD GO ON AND ON ..... MANY MORE.

It is just the people (like you?) that will need to buck up, to make Singapore a true first-world country.

Why are you still so kiasu and must always be first, potong queues, drive angrily, complain and complain, not clean up after your meal at Macs, pile your plate at buffets, speak Singlish (with Chinese sentence structure) such that the native speakers of that language don't even understand you?

I think it is you who has made yourself (and perhaps, your family?) unhappy in our country. I think you had better reconsider your options. Emigrate, if need be. I would strongly suggest that to you, since you don't fit in here.

p.s. I am born, bred and fully educated in wonderful Singapore and I am proud to be a Singaporean, race notwithstanding (though I belong to the majority)!

Why you say Singaporeans are not happy? Or is it just you?

Compare yourself to the average Somalian, or Indonesian (just examples, for the point of argument).

- You have a nice apartment ... maybe even with a swimming pool. How's a zinc/atap roof hut compare?

- You have a world class utilities system, power on demand and water on tap. No dependancy on diesel generators and wells, or hand pumps.

- You own a car (at least that's assuming of your being a member in this forum). They on the other hand, may even need to walk kilometres just to fetch water.

- You have a job, maybe even the wife (double income), paying decent.

- You have savings in the bank, or at least in CPF, for your twilight years.

- You have good roads to drive your car (w/o pot holes and dirt tracks), bus and MRT system as alternative transports.

- Your children are well educated in an education system that was inherited from the British (the best 'gift' they gave to their ex-colonies) and proficiency in the English language. The French and Dutch did not, however, do as much to their ex-colonies, other than to plunder their natural resources.

- If your children top the schools, they will be given overseas scholarships to join the ranks of the world's elite.

- You wear branded clothes and acessories and donate used clothes/shoes regularly to charity. These may even end up in third-world countries where the recipients will continue to wear them for the next many years!

- When you fall sick, or meet with an accident, you have world-class hospitals to fall back on to. Imagine, rich foreigners from around this region and beyond even come here to do major operations (e.g. heart and liver transplants, eye operations etc.). American and European expats have no qualms from receiving surgery and medical care from Singapore's hospitals and medical centers. I don't think they can say the same if they were stationed in Somalia, or Indonesia. You have the brightest and gifted heart, brain and endocrine surgeons right here, at your doorstep.

AND I COULD GO ON AND ON ..... MANY MORE.

It is just the people (like you?) that will need to buck up, to make Singapore a true first-world country.

Why are you still so kiasu and must always be first, potong queues, drive angrily, complain and complain, not clean up after your meal at Macs, pile your plate at buffets, speak Singlish (with Chinese sentence structure) such that the native speakers of that language don't even understand you?

I think it is you who has made yourself (and perhaps, your family?) unhappy in our country. I think you had better reconsider your options. Emigrate, if need be. I would strongly suggest that to you, since you don't fit in here.

p.s. I am born, bred and fully educated in wonderful Singapore and I am proud to be a Singaporean, race notwithstanding (though I belong to the majority)!

Nice [thumbsup]

aiyoh fren, u not happy doesn't mean everyone also not happy.

better do a survey, publish the results, then say ...

international survey put singapore at i think 6.4 / 10 for happiness ... ranked 40th in the world of 100+ countries

what's the intent of your thread ??

Wa lau eh....don't anyhow put words into ppl's mouth lah....

you no happy say everybody no happy.....how can???