1l0v3you Clutched January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/13/2010 at 2:52 AM, Haziqko said: Aahh.. I c, these ppl usually laugh when they are outside. But behind and deep inside theres always something that they keep away. I'm one of them. i also!! i am very happy when i'm with family or friends but i am not very happy deep down. and i dont like to show it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 8:32 AM, RadX said: will hit you sooner thatn you think man...hahahah yeah time flies.....so i decided to spend more time getting fitter and healthier hopefully. if 40 yrs old but maintain body of 30 yr old, thats not bad leh . new year resolution. that and also to stay happy by smoking more cigars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 8:32 AM, 1l0v3you said: i also!! i am very happy when i'm with family or friends but i am not very happy deep down. and i dont like to show it. You got Wii games...??? I keep myself happy playing Wii games all the time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 7:44 AM, Introz said: well it depends on your income vs your expenditure even 100k/month income while your expenditure is 300k/month u will not be enjoying life as u always in debt... old people always say no debt = happiness Very true... some ppl will destroy relationships or commit suicide cos of money... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/19/2010 at 2:59 AM, Haziqko said: You got Wii games...??? I keep myself happy playing Wii games all the time.... i wish i got i actually nearly bought a wii. but i think think, use few weeks sure throw one side. the only way to keep myself happy when i'm alone, is to play with my dog he is sooooo lovable. i read from somewhere that said if before you sleep, you have to spend a few mins worrying about the troubles in your life, you are not a happy person. i guess i'm not a happy person after all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/18/2010 at 8:20 AM, RadX said: acherlee....just realised most of us are now in our 40s....scary, that is almost the halfway point reached....and maybe another 10 or 15 yrs to work before calling it a day....time really flies you talking about the rest of us but yourself ah??? you already retired liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/19/2010 at 3:09 AM, 1l0v3you said: i wish i got i actually nearly bought a wii. but i think think, use few weeks sure throw one side. the only way to keep myself happy when i'm alone, is to play with my dog he is sooooo lovable. i read from somewhere that said if before you sleep, you have to spend a few mins worrying about the troubles in your life, you are not a happy person. i guess i'm not a happy person after all. worrying just before you sleep makes it worse.... try playing soft music, NOT RADIO and drink warm milk . BTW if you dont mind... what you worrying about so much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/11/2010 at 11:36 PM, RadX said: YUP...I am a happy man...I earn ony $1800 okie, after reading this, i went in to my boss office and requested for a pay cut 5 mins ago. my boss gave me a weird look at me, and appologies to me for the stress he pass to me... he promised me a 10% increament during june appraisal.... arghh!!!!! im gg to get more stressed!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shimada Clutched January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/11/2010 at 3:04 PM, Cheesey74 said: http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_475416.html Jan 9, 2010 What price happiness? By Irene Tham ARE Singaporeans happier when they have lots more money? A study shows that people who have a university or postgraduate qualification and earn $5,000 or more a month are the happiest. But they are also dissatisfied with their achievements and enjoy life the least, compared with those who are less well-off. Indeed, it is the Singaporeans earning less than $2,000 a month who enjoy life the most, concluded the three academics behind the study. Senior lecturer Tambyah Siok Kuan, associate professor Tan Soo Jiuan and professorial fellow Kau Ah Keng - all from the National University of Singapore Business School - presented their findings in a book, The Well being Of Singaporeans, which came out recently. The survey in 2006 polled more than 1,000 people, aged 20 to 69. They were posed questions such as whether they enjoy life, how happy they are, and how much they feel they are accomplishing what they want in life. What's your view on this article? R u earning plenty but not enjoying or the other way round i'm a postgraduate and all, totally disatisfied with my life... just let me die! my theory on this is that it has nothing to do with education, but caused by the intrinsic physchology well being, or caused by our upbringing. the people who would work hard, study hard, are the ones already unsatisfied, so they keep wanting more, and they will never have enough, because they do not understand what is enough... they will never be satisfied... just like me... the other satisfied group are "happy go lucky", they are already happy with their lifes, getting more qualification or money does not change their emotions... therefore statistics might show that qualifications/money are tied to satisfaction, but no, it's the the intrinsic physchology well being, or caused by our upbringing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched January 19, 2010 Share January 19, 2010 On 1/19/2010 at 5:07 AM, Haziqko said: worrying just before you sleep makes it worse.... try playing soft music, NOT RADIO and drink warm milk . BTW if you dont mind... what you worrying about so much. soft music very emotional later end up cry ahaha [bigcry] i used to drink milk before i sleep if not feel like weird weird one why today no milk lol! all the way up to last month i stopped cause i realized drinking milk is very fattening. the worries i have may be considered minor to some . but they are big big problems to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear January 19, 2010 Author Share January 19, 2010 On 1/19/2010 at 6:37 AM, Shimada said: i'm a postgraduate and all, totally disatisfied with my life... just let me die! my theory on this is that it has nothing to do with education, but caused by the intrinsic physchology well being, or caused by our upbringing. the people who would work hard, study hard, are the ones already unsatisfied, so they keep wanting more, and they will never have enough, because they do not understand what is enough... they will never be satisfied... just like me... the other satisfied group are "happy go lucky", they are already happy with their lifes, getting more qualification or money does not change their emotions... therefore statistics might show that qualifications/money are tied to satisfaction, but no, it's the the intrinsic physchology well being, or caused by our upbringing. I do agree with u. As i get older n earn better, i realise i'm not as happy as my younger days when i earn less, infact with more money i worry more. I also reconsidering my options now and i'm in the mid 30s holding managerial post. I think the key to happiness is not chasing money and material comfort, that just won't do it. I used to be a damn happy go lucky guy, till now i still enjoying my singlehood but not truly happy. I guess being happy might be just finding a job u like and stay debt free, dun think too much and just pass the day as it is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 On 1/19/2010 at 1:18 PM, 1l0v3you said: soft music very emotional later end up cry ahaha [bigcry] i used to drink milk before i sleep if not feel like weird weird one why today no milk lol! all the way up to last month i stopped cause i realized drinking milk is very fattening. the worries i have may be considered minor to some . but they are big big problems to me Actually you not happy with yourself or not happy because you're lonely..... Or you not happy with your ride.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 On 1/19/2010 at 1:42 PM, Cheesey74 said: I do agree with u. As i get older n earn better, i realise i'm not as happy as my younger days when i earn less, infact with more money i worry more. I also reconsidering my options now and i'm in the mid 30s holding managerial post. I think the key to happiness is not chasing money and material comfort, that just won't do it. I used to be a damn happy go lucky guy, till now i still enjoying my singlehood but not truly happy. I guess being happy might be just finding a job u like and stay debt free, dun think too much and just pass the day as it is. Yeah... some guys will tell you getting married is the best thing in life... then there are others will tell you its the biggest mistake they have done. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 On 1/12/2010 at 2:05 AM, Comnao said: maybe people say things like that bcos you equate enjoying life = spending money = happiness maybe bcos people feel that you are Money No Enuff so you are guessing that once have money = happiness = enjoy life well, i am guessing it is bcos you all dont know Tambyah SK. she is probably the most down to earth person who is most 知足长乐 person i ever known she is one person who knows true happiness if you have time, do attend her lectures. you will learn something very useful about life. personally i find most Fine Citizens very nervous and uptight about their personal well being and financial well being. they are actually very rich (both materially and spritually) but they do not feel so themselves, allowing themselves to wallow in a pith of self-pity and always ready to transform into a green eye demon and start whipping when they see someone whom they perceive to be in a better position than they are, a la like those people who scratch other people's audi/bmw but cry for blood when their own toyota/honda kenna scratch to quote another person from another forum, "Wish you good mental health" Great post! I think all this come from our deep insecurities! "nervous and uptight about their personal well being and financial well being" = no peace of mind! Most of us suffer from this! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 (edited) opps someone already said this one! Edited January 20, 2010 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zixin17 Neutral Newbie February 10, 2010 Share February 10, 2010 LOL. when u earn more, u spend even more, then u cant afford to pay the bills, and then u'll be depressed and suicidal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 10, 2010 Share February 10, 2010 On 1/20/2010 at 2:14 AM, Haziqko said: Yeah... some guys will tell you getting married is the best thing in life... then there are others will tell you its the biggest mistake they have done. [laugh] marriage is made in heaven, but so are thunder and lightning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched February 13, 2010 Share February 13, 2010 On 2/10/2010 at 2:24 PM, Picanto said: marriage is made in heaven, but so are thunder and lightning. and then there are those who purposefully "shot gun" .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...