Drying laundry at common corridor and life area

Mcfguy

My neighbour put up laundry drying stand poles outside their door and infront of my corner unit blocking 50% of space of my walking space towards the lift area. At the lift area, there are more laudry stands where more laundries are put up. Sometimes they will also put out plastic tubs to dry on stair railing which reduces the 50% of my walk path even more. The most incovenience come from the maid doing the laundry. Somehow it seems like she always do the laundry during times when we are leaving for work and when coming home. At times she would just stand in front of the remaining walk space to do the laundry and we have to come up close to her then she will move. Even so, we have to avoid kicing the pail she put on the floor. I thought the common areas are not supposed to be allowed for such usage as it is hazardous in the event of fire emergencies. Does the town council perform regular checks and advise accordingly or even fine the recalcitrant ones. This neighbour is of a different ethnic group then I am and if I were to complain to them directly, things might get a bit sensitive.

Edited by Mcfguy

im ok with hanging laundry to dry along corridor coz some family can be big and sometimes the corridor is more windy than the kitchen. tats what happened to my estate..the design is so lousy there is hardly any wind and sunlight at the kitchen....

as long as u dont make the corridor clutter and block too much...sld be ok.

I realise that too. Perhaps it might be a lifestyle habit for that particular ethnic group u r referring to?

Certain things are hard to change especially if they had been doing it for generations.

if u r block is built in such a way whereby there is no sunlight shine into laundry area, then there is no choice but to air it along the corridor. alot of new flats are built in such way thats why u can see many ppl air their clothes whereby sunlight is. want to blame, blame HDB and their so called "architect/consultants/designers" etc etc.

also stand in the shoes of a housewife, they wash the family clothes day in day out, they want the clothes to be dried and smell nice and not damp and musty. So do give n take. but do take it up with town council if it presents a fire hazard (i.e. old newspapers, cardboards place outside)

Edited by Help1

I have always been a tolerant person and have been tolerating this since they started doing this half a year after moving in next door like 3 years ago. In the beginning we still acknowlege and chat a bit. They did not start putting things at the corridor initially until their son's wedding. I was invited and I even gave them a big Ang Pow. 1 month after that, the inconveniece began and I slowly stop all forms of interaction with them as I don't feel good about it. In the beginning, the husband is the one doing the laundry till I noticed they got a maid (local) to help out. It seems the husband's leg is having some problem and he walks with a walking stick most of the time. The husband is still Ok when doing the laundry as he will move away on hearing us opening our door. The maid would not do that and would just take a step forward and make us squeeze through. The most irritating part is that she kept watching put every move when we leave or return. There was once I did a test to confirm her "kaypohness". I watch through the door hole and made a sound with my main door. Immediately, saw her walk out of her unit and look at my house door as if waiting for us to come out.

if u r block is built in such a way whereby there is no sunlight shine into laundry area, then there is no choice but to air it along the corridor. alot of new flats are built in such way thats why u can see many ppl air their clothes whereby sunlight is. want to blame, blame HDB and their so called "architect/consultants/designers" etc etc.

also stand in the shoes of a housewife, they wash the family clothes day in day out, they want the clothes to be dried and smell nice and not damp and musty. So do give n take. but do take it up with town council if it presents a fire hazard (i.e. old newspapers, cardboards place outside)

put urself in the housewives shoes and you will understand. . .

for my case, i did a diy pole in my balcony and hang the clothes using hangars on it. . .

my reason = some idiots staying on the upper floors tend to throw food leftovers and other nonsense out from the service balcony side. . .

Me and my wife, we are working and our kids are schooling. We put out our laundries as per normal using the HDB laundry poles. We don't expect our kids to help with keeping the laundry when it rains as they are still young. We just let it be and if it gets soak and would leave it out to wind dry till late at night if necessary. I know about give and take, that's why we are doing this, else, I'll also put out laundry poles to dry my clothing this way if it's OK with the authority as long we have reasons whatsoever. I do understand that some ppl chose not to put laundries out the kitchen window as they are worried ppl may throw stuffs down. I remember once or twice, my laundry was soiled by curry sauce or bird droppings....

I do understand that some ppl chose not to put laundries out the kitchen window as they are worried ppl may throw stuffs down. I remember once or twice, my laundry was soiled by curry sauce or bird droppings....

still ok once or twice, mine worse. . . more like always. . .

i've seen rice, curry, vegies, black sauce thingy and the worst was a soiled tampon. . . :o

i noticed all this cos i staying on the 2nd floor and easy to see the ground floor. . .

Edited by Xtravagant

put urself in the housewives shoes and you will understand. . .

for my case, i did a diy pole in my balcony and hang the clothes using hangars on it. . .

my reason = some idiots staying on the upper floors tend to throw food leftovers and other nonsense out from the service balcony side. . .

Your DIY pole where you hang clothes using clothahngers is still not that bad. Further up towards the center of my the common corridor, I could see one neighbour install those brackets that can hold like 4 or 5 bamboo poles for drying cothing. I think this is very inconsiderate as it eats into the walking space also. It's also a hazard if someone were to bang into it accidently.

steal a few pieces of their underwears over a period of a month. they may get wary of perverts/thieves and then start drying their laundry indoors. ^_^ if got any sexy girl in their household, pls spare me a few of her undies too for giving u an excellent suggestion [laugh]

thats the joy and sorrow of staying in a flat with neighbours above and below.

OT a bit, over the weekend, the newspaper reported some residents of Pinnacle complained that the design is abit security flaw. It seems that their expectation is very high as compare to new residential area like Punggol, Sengkang, Buangkok etc, thinking their high price should get condo treatment....maybe there will be security guards patrol ard soon, enforce biometric systems....

steal a few pieces of their underwears over a period of a month. they may get wary of perverts/thieves and then start drying their laundry indoors. ^_^ if got any sexy girl in their household, pls spare me a few of her undies too for giving u an excellent suggestion [laugh]

haha...no sexy girl, just the 2 middle aged and above couple with their maid (think she doesn't stay in type as is local). If have also won't resort to that.

thats the joy and sorrow of staying in a flat with neighbours above and below.

OT a bit, over the weekend, the newspaper reported some residents of Pinnacle complained that the design is abit security flaw. It seems that their expectation is very high as compare to new residential area like Punggol, Sengkang, Buangkok etc, thinking their high price should get condo treatment....maybe there will be security guards patrol ard soon, enforce biometric systems....

Think I saw the news on papers too but didn't bother to read on. Saw the drawings showing fences or something allow ppl to climb thru of something...

if i am you, i will be SIBEI SIAN !!

we buy a house so that we can go home after a hard day's work, and enjoy the place

not so that we go home and get greeted by a whole lot of messy laundry and a messy corridor

do talk to your neighbour.

My neighbour put up laundry drying stand poles outside their door and infront of my corner unit blocking 50% of space of my walking space towards the lift area. At the lift area, there are more laudry stands where more laundries are put up. Sometimes they will also put out plastic tubs to dry on stair railing which reduces the 50% of my walk path even more. The most incovenience come from the maid doing the laundry. Somehow it seems like she always do the laundry during times when we are leaving for work and when coming home. At times she would just stand in front of the remaining walk space to do the laundry and we have to come up close to her then she will move. Even so, we have to avoid kicing the pail she put on the floor. I thought the common areas are not supposed to be allowed for such usage as it is hazardous in the event of fire emergencies. Does the town council perform regular checks and advise accordingly or even fine the recalcitrant ones. This neighbour is of a different ethnic group then I am and if I were to complain to them directly, things might get a bit sensitive.

if i am you, i will be SIBEI SIAN !!

we buy a house so that we can go home after a hard day's work, and enjoy the place

not so that we go home and get greeted by a whole lot of messy laundry and a messy corridor

do talk to your neighbour.

Can't agree more on the home thought. When they just started this laundry thing and when we still greet each other...the wife told my wife upfront that they never like the idea of drying their clothings at the kitchen window all along. So I guess they must have planned to do this once their son got married and neighbours attended the wedding. During the first month, they put out a pair of laundry stand which holds like 5 or six bamboo poles of clothing. The next month, they extended another pair of laundry stands till my door front leaving me just enough allowance for my metal gate to swing out. You can image how irritated I became. That was then where I knew it would be hopeless to negotiate with ppl like that. Somehow, they sense my displeasure and shifted the second pair of laundry stand to the lift area.

i understand how u feel.... my block is design in such a way it has only 6 units per floor. 4 are corner units at each end of the floor while 2 unit are next to the life lobby with a common corridor. One of this unit always have a habit of hanging the laundry along the corridor. They do not just hang in front of their house but use up the entire corridor. That's their laundry outside 5 other units!!

Honestly, i'm not very happy about it but the only consolation is that they only hang it out from 10 am to 12 pm during the weekdays. They don't do it on weekends. Thereafter, the auntie will come out and promptly keep them. I guess since most of the occupants from other units are out for work, that's why no one has really complained yet.

I don't like the idea of leaving clothes in the corridor, but I can live with it. My only major concern is fire safety...will my fire escape route be compromised greatly eg. clothes catch fire thus sealing my escape route, blocking the way and slowing down evacuation, etc.