Jawbreakers Neutral Newbie January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 is it compulsory to bring along the spare tyre? very heavy leh the extra space can use to do something.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 I want to warn you guys about changing tyres. Its not that simple. Why? Because the nuts/bolts are damm fraking tight!! I can't even loosen them. I ever tried to do my own tyre rotation before but failed miserably. I can't loosen the nuts at all. u have to break torque with your leg first before jacking up the car. its not very tight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear January 10, 2010 Share January 10, 2010 Don't care, drive slowly to tyre shop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freebeyond Neutral Newbie January 11, 2010 Share January 11, 2010 PI cars usually dun come with spare tyre, they only provide the compressor n glue thingy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismoblack76 Neutral Newbie January 11, 2010 Share January 11, 2010 Based on my many decades of driving experience, I have had a number of flats and different types at that. Not ALL flats can be fixed. I have had sheared tyres before at the wall seams. These cannot be fixed, no matter what you try ... even with those inflatable goo from canisters. To-date, I have avoided all cars that come without spare tyres. My last BMW still has a spare. It can be argued that run-flat tyres will tell you of imminent flat situations, but this still cannot rule out tyre shear upon prolonged use. In the end, worst case, for such situations, still need to call a tow truck. Imagine yourself to be on MY's NS Highway at 11pm at night caust with a flat tyre that cannot be repaired and without a spare tyre!!! Worst, if it is along a deserted coastal road on the east cost, toward Kota Bahru. Cars that still provide full-sized spare tyres, just to name a couple I know: Mercedes Benz, Lexus. Cars that provide 'half' sized, temporary spare tyres: Audi, VW, Skoda. Cars that do not provide any spare tyre: BMW, MINI You buy what you choose and are most comfortable with, depending on your travel patterns and having easy/immediate access to tow trucks and on-road recovery. PI cars too ...etc as honda fit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismoblack76 Neutral Newbie January 11, 2010 Share January 11, 2010 I want to warn you guys about changing tyres. Its not that simple. Why? Because the nuts/bolts are damm fraking tight!! I can't even loosen them. I ever tried to do my own tyre rotation before but failed miserably. I can't loosen the nuts at all. add a metal pole to the wrench n turn it ...for sure it will loosen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftee Clutched January 11, 2010 Share January 11, 2010 Last time i saw 1 guy on the road trying to change a flat tyres. He practically stand on the wrench to make the nut turn but the nut still didnt even more! I guess no choice got to call recovery liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cypher 4th Gear January 11, 2010 Share January 11, 2010 That is why it IS important for the tyre shop to use torque wrench when tightening wheel lug and not use impact wrench. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ekardo Clutched January 12, 2010 Author Share January 12, 2010 thanks all for the comment... I guess it's time for me to join AA liao...free towing...1 time a year already earn back... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 i changed 2 tyres myself before. altis and civic...all ok de. somemore no experience so learn from first puncture...haha as long as u did not change the rim, the tools that came w ur car sld be able to fit nicely and unscrew the bolt. beware, some rims have design that make unscrewing nuts difficult or cannot fit what u have and u need to call tow truck to help LOL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcuter88 Neutral Newbie January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 (edited) Practically stand on the wrench? Its not uncommon. Normally to loosen, I have to stand on the wrench and jump. I'm about 60kg to 70kg I think... Last time i saw 1 guy on the road trying to change a flat tyres. He practically stand on the wrench to make the nut turn but the nut still didnt even more! I guess no choice got to call recovery liao. Edited January 12, 2010 by Carcuter88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 Yah, i changed tyres before and i really had to jump on the wrench to move the nuts! Anyway i have a question: When cars are on tow, do the owner of the car follow the tow truck or what? What about the other passengers if the car is being towed on the expressway? Hail a cab? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear January 12, 2010 Share January 12, 2010 Yah, i changed tyres before and i really had to jump on the wrench to move the nuts! Anyway i have a question: When cars are on tow, do the owner of the car follow the tow truck or what? What about the other passengers if the car is being towed on the expressway? Hail a cab? Ya usually tow truck can only take 2 passenger. I take with my gf before. Buy the tow truck is usually very messy with alot of papers around. But if more then 2 person how ah? Can sit inside the car being towed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 Thanks for the info. I though we can sit inside the car being towed as we always see see that in HK movies. But i haven't seen anyone inside cars being towed in sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 new cars nowadays dun come wif spare tyres, but definitely come wif repair kit... tink ur wife dun noe how to use or dun even noe where is it....!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 Mine is PI car, Axio. It does come with spare tyre. Used it three times liao. The last time was 01/01/2010 morning. But I managed to change tyre in 10mins flat. Not difficult at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gl240 Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 My Mitsubishi i from C&C also no spare tyres, but equip with pump and patching kit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desong Neutral Newbie January 13, 2010 Share January 13, 2010 tires r now tubeless so normally even if there's a puncture..the tyre will tk a while to be fully deflated..in that time u have to find a tyre shop to o patch up. FIY opp lavender food square there's City Tyres which close veri late..last time i check they told me they open till 3am hope this helps :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...