Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Hi bros, need help on the above. The water heater plug in my home always have the problem of overheating till the point where it melts the plastic a little and worse case the plug melts and fuses it with the power point. But no short-circuit. Very scary. Have already changed several times for the plug, and also change the usual 13amp fuse to 15amp fuse. But again this morning it gives the same problem. It usually occurs when 2 person uses the shower continuously 1 after another. Sometimes my mom will unplug it and have to wait for 5-10mins to cool down first before the next person. But this morning was raining and everyone was running late so no time to do that and the inevitable occured. Btw the water heater is about 3yrs old only, those normal types with no water tank. Any remedies to rectify it? I was thinking of rerouteing the wiring to another power point where the pin-hole are those round types which I believe can take a bigger voltage surge?currently the power point being used by the convention oven. Possible to share the powerpoint or have another dedicated one?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bern2 Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Hi bros, need help on the above. The water heater plug in my home always have the problem of overheating till the point where it melts the plastic a little and worse case the plug melts and fuses it with the power point. But no short-circuit. Very scary. Have already changed several times for the plug, and also change the usual 13amp fuse to 15amp fuse. But again this morning it gives the same problem. It usually occurs when 2 person uses the shower continuously 1 after another. Sometimes my mom will unplug it and have to wait for 5-10mins to cool down first before the next person. But this morning was raining and everyone was running late so no time to do that and the inevitable occured. Btw the water heater is about 3yrs old only, those normal types with no water tank. Any remedies to rectify it? I was thinking of rerouteing the wiring to another power point where the pin-hole are those round types which I believe can take a bigger voltage surge?currently the power point being used by the convention oven. Possible to share the powerpoint or have another dedicated one?? Think you need to get an electrician to change out your plug or recommend a solution. The plastic for the plug doesn't seem to be able to take the current drawn by the heater. Do not switch the fuse, this will allow an even higher current through the plug before it blows. Seems like a pretty badly designed instrument. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 if u are not trained, better get a licensed electrician to help. best way is to call your HDB town council (if you are staying in HDB), they got a list of contractors who can help you, and their price is cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 how old is ur water heater? my family change heater like no need pay...just changed a new one to replace the old one which we use less than 2 yrs. actually since ur heater is showing problem, why dont just change the entire set? cost less than $200 mah..even cheaper than changing hp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) why not change to a new heater with those that automatically cut off heating when reach a certain threshold temperature one ? it is not expensive if it is a replacement of heater unit. better than getting scalded or elec outages. Edited January 7, 2010 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 hmmm...really??coz my mom got the info from a guy that repairs the fridge that it will not overheat if the fuse was changed. Wah kena smoked liao... hmm thk much more safer to request for electrician that do it myself. Cannot save such money coz very dangerous. Thanks bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 (edited) hmm...the heater is 3yrs slightly a little more, but now is duno what happened leh. ' My gut feel initially also feel that the heater is giving problem, coz previously no such thing happened when it was newly installed, and only the problem surfaced about half a year ago. btw bro any good brand of heater to recommend?but then if you change it every two yrs is because of problem or change for fun?tot the installation is quite tedious?? Edited January 7, 2010 by Berncsp76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Your heater is drawing usually high current melting the plug and yet you changed to 15A fuse. In short, you are making things worse. The fuses are not doing what its suppose to be doing. Since instant heaters are usually less than $200, recommend to just change it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 hmm seems the consensus from the bros here is to change heater. Any recommendations? and may I know where to get them? probably budget around $200 including installation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 huh izzit..thk kana smoked also. the stupid me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 From my view, I think your heater is drawing 15A rating while your sockets only provide 13A. That is why it is burning your plug. You need to get an electrician to change the socket to 15A one, just like those for a/c. You better dun play play with power. BTW, have you bought your home insurance yet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 From my view, I think your heater is drawing 15A rating while your sockets only provide 13A. That is why it is burning your plug. You need to get an electrician to change the socket to 15A one, just like those for a/c. You better dun play play with power. BTW, have you bought your home insurance yet? hmm...but initially the plug was using 13amp and nothing happened. Then subsequent burnt = change to 15amp also burnt....which means the power surge is more than 15amp liao??? Think I better change both heater and the powerpoint/plug. haha. Buy already liao loh. 5yr AXA fire insurance haha bro you in ins line ar?PM me your lobang la. We in related field. Can help to jio jio lobang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Your heater what brand? The usual brands are quite reliable . . . . MIC product you have there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 707 . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 erm...if my memory din fail me i thk is aerogaz...not sure whether its MIC anot...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 y not buy storage heater. it only cost another $100+ more than the tiny heater and u can provide hot water to the whole house with 5 to 10 yrs warranty. if u think storage heater consumes more electricity, its a myth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) hmmm...really??coz my mom got the info from a guy that repairs the fridge that it will not overheat if the fuse was changed. Wah kena smoked liao... hmm thk much more safer to request for electrician that do it myself. Cannot save such money coz very dangerous. Thanks bro. Go and get a qualified electrician look at it, best is change the whole heater lah. Use a heater with a WATER TANK type, yeah, HDB approved, one time do everything and trust me you'll save in the long run. Once temperature reached, will cut off power and the heated water in the tank can tahan for a few hours. No need to keep turning it on again and again. I'm using Ariston. Go down to Jalan Basah, lots of shops there selling bathroom fixtures and water h4eaters. My wife and kids called up one so called plumber, to repair a leak on the PVC piping, the fellow on the phone to me, said no need to change the pipe, just use "something" to mend the pipe can liow, so I ask him what it was and how much. $40 for Epoxy putty! NB! NTUC selling only $5, ok, plus his time and all, but that will never hold, told him to fly kite. Got in a plumber from Town council, they did a fantastic job, all changed to copper. $200 and peace of mind. Mai too liow. Edited January 7, 2010 by Mazdaowner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 y not buy storage heater. it only cost another $100+ more than the tiny heater and u can provide hot water to the whole house with 5 to 10 yrs warranty. if u think storage heater consumes more electricity, its a myth. Yeah, I second that as well. Uses less power and more tahan. Some more can go fix those 'RAIN" showers, wah bath below like macham SPA like that! [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...