Kingcopa 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Was watching the Ch 8 news 2 nite ago and there is this report that a Singapore Student is named the top debater at the world debating championship in Turkey. At first i was like WOW so solid but at the end of the report, the newcaster included this sentence. "Lee Sheng Wu is the son of F&N chairman, Lee Hsien Yang" i was like Lame lor. Is there a need to include that sentence? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Was watching the Ch 8 news 2 nite ago and there is this report that a Singapore Student is named the top debater at the world debating championship in Turkey. At first i was like WOW so solid but at the end of the report, the newcaster included this sentence. "Lee Sheng Wu is the son of F&N chairman, Lee Hsien Yang" i was like Lame lor. Is there a need to include that sentence? Still a top debater lah. nothing wrong to include father name lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 Still a top debater lah. nothing wrong to include father name lah. If this guy is a nobody. U think they will include his papa name? Lame lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 haha...machiam like uses father name to boost popularity... So they are the well-known "white horses" in MINDEF supposedly?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 If that guy happened to be son of opposition MP Low Thia Khiang, I doubt they will report it in the way that they did.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strife Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 A top debater title is definitely no small feat. Now the question, good genes or good financial backing to unleash one's potential? I think its both. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 white horse or not, this guy is really quite something besides top debater, he also topped his economics cohort in Oxford, really did singapore proud Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 If that guy happened to be son of opposition MP Low Thia Khiang, I doubt they will report it in the way that they did.. That is the point i am trying to bring out. There is no doubt that this young chap do us, Singaporean proud but is there a need to do that? If this guy is not elites, i dun think they wont even bother to say anything more abt him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 couldnt agree w u more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) If that guy happened to be son of opposition MP Low Thia Khiang, I doubt they will report it in the way that they did.. i think otherwise, son of another opposition politician still gets good media coverage and important roles Edited January 7, 2010 by TangoElite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) Was watching the Ch 8 news 2 nite ago and there is this report that a Singapore Student is named the top debater at the world debating championship in Turkey. At first i was like WOW so solid but at the end of the report, the newcaster included this sentence. "Lee Sheng Wu is the son of F&N chairman, Lee Hsien Yang" i was like Lame lor. Is there a need to include that sentence? actually if you read newpapers reports of a certain son of an opposition politician, a similiar statement often gets mentioned and will also see his fathers name too Edited January 7, 2010 by TangoElite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 If that guy happened to be son of opposition MP Low Thia Khiang, I doubt they will report it in the way that they did.. i beg to differ. I think they will report it also. Low is also a public figure. Even if he is son of Mark lee, they prob will report it as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shin-kyo Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Was watching the Ch 8 news 2 nite ago and there is this report that a Singapore Student is named the top debater at the world debating championship in Turkey. At first i was like WOW so solid but at the end of the report, the newcaster included this sentence. "Lee Sheng Wu is the son of F&N chairman, Lee Hsien Yang" i was like Lame lor. Is there a need to include that sentence? I was reading ytd chinese news paper this morning, and there's a column abt him. Saw this 2 line; "He is the son of Lee Hsien Yang" and "He is the grandson of LKY". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) "He is the grandson of LKY". this i agree is overdoing it listing father name is acceptable, but grandfather really is over doing it... anyway who dunno who his grandfather is after you have named the father .... the FTs probably Edited January 7, 2010 by TangoElite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 a potential future PM of Singapore...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 That is the point i am trying to bring out. There is no doubt that this young chap do us, Singaporean proud but is there a need to do that? If this guy is not elites, i dun think they wont even bother to say anything more abt him. The son did not choose who to be the father, neither did the father choose who would be his children. The father would be proud of the son achievement, more so if there is a mentioned of who are his parents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 The son did not choose who to be the father, neither did the father choose who would be his children. The father would be proud of the son achievement, more so if there is a mentioned of who are his parents. Well i am not faulting him. Just trying to point out how "good" our local media are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Well i am not faulting him. Just trying to point out how "good" our local media are. to be fair our media is also equally good with opposition sons see here: http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_458761.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...