Alechi 2nd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 So many outcomes can take place from any tailgating incident ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Tailgating is the reason for those multiple car accidents where car A brake, car B bumps into car A, car C bumps into car B, car D bumps into car C, car E bumps into car D, car F bumps into car E etc. If you are in a hurry, you should have just started your trip at most 10mins earlier. if there are no road-hoggers, there wont be any tailgaters isnt it? so which comes first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 if there are no road-hoggers, there wont be any tailgaters isnt it? so which comes first? Car come first. No car no problem liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanyeo 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Tailgating is the reason why sometimes you find that lane 2 moves faster than lane 1.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Sometimes alot of drivers forgot that lane 1 is for overtaking, not for drivers to continue driving in it even after lane 2 is clear. I know for some they are lazy to switch lanes, or they feel they will be block off again in lane 2. But still it is a good practice to go to lane 2 after overtaking, and go to lane 1 for overtaking if lane 2 is slow again. Though I dont do tailgating, I would advice if you cant handle tailgaters either just give way to them or avoid lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanyeo 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Generally, I feel that if you are travelling on lane 1 on normal traffic conditions, by all means go ahead.. But you must be fast.. Thats why I drive small cc car don't travel in lane 1 often.. Even though my speedo reads 100km/hr, sooner or later there will be some cars catching up behind.. With the wide gap in front of me, they are sure to tailgate/high beam.. I usually travel in lane 2, use lane 1 for overtaking.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 try tailgating a lorry in lane 1 ... he won't even see you and dun even bother about you .. but he jam brake ... u gone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woonyang Clutched January 7, 2010 Author Share January 7, 2010 TS already mentioned that in front of his car is full of cars, so base on this, he is not road hogging. so there is no valid reason for the civic to tailgate him to pressure TS to go faster, as he cant (due to the cars in front of him). So I can understand why TS tap on his brake to tell the civic off to not to tailgate him. Because if TS has to do a emergency stop, perhaps due to the car in front stopping, then the civic behind may not be able to stop in time. As such, it is only right that TS try to ward off the civic behind him. Thank you. A lot of people fail comprehension. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 To those who like to tailgate and expect others to give way to u even when there are cars in front.. Go drive an ambulance.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 i guess lane 1 should ideally be used for overtaking only. but the reality is that unless exceptional basis, the car that knocks the car in front is most often than not, to be blamed. back to basics of safe driving following distance and all that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikethm Clutched January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) if there are no road-hoggers, there wont be any tailgaters isnt it? so which comes first? So basically you are saying it is my fault that there is a road hogger 10 cars ahead of me. Therefore it is my karma that I should be tailgated by you because of the road hogger 10 cars ahead? Not to mention that there might not be a road hogger but speed is slowed down by road conditions ahead? Anytime traffic is slow... must be road hogging tio bo? Edited January 7, 2010 by Mikethm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedBeanMilk Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 That is the most dumb thing u did, if there's accident...the one shud be blame is you yup.. there are cameras inside the tunnel filming always.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 siao ah u jam brake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 8, 2010 Share January 8, 2010 that is the thing about KPE. On that, we have 2 types of drivers: 1. Dont know where exactly are the speed cams, so keep strictly to 70-80 on any lane. But chances are they will be on right lane. 2. Those that knows all the locations of the cams very well. They tend to drive very fast on the 'safe' stretches. I belong to 1. So always drive ard 75 on lane 1. Then will see fast approaching lights from behind.. just filter left let them pass lor... im always amazed some cars really zoom past at certain stretches... maybe nx time i follow these car closely sure wont kena snapped right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 8, 2010 Share January 8, 2010 i guess lane 1 should ideally be used for overtaking only. but the reality is that unless exceptional basis, the car that knocks the car in front is most often than not, to be blamed. back to basics of safe driving following distance and all that. this doesnt apply anymore.. nowadays you see all the trucks, lorries, vans, pickups all on lane 2. They reckon that their limit is at 70 now, so they travel at 80 on lane 2 is ok. But that really make things bad for cars. at times i travel on lane 3 and 4 and its actually faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie January 8, 2010 Share January 8, 2010 i understand that KPE is being watched very carefully cos very deep underground and all that. need to be careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 8, 2010 Share January 8, 2010 are you a new driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 8, 2010 Share January 8, 2010 This morning, I saw a white van tail gate a white merc taxi at PIE after bedok. The van kept flashing at the taxi but the taxi bo chap. Continued driving at about 90km/h (as I was doing 80km/h on lane 2). Many cars in front of me on lane 1 siam to lane 2 to give way but not the merc taxi. Then finally, the white van had to overtake the taxi on the left lane near Eunos exit. ...the white van is an ambulance... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...