Tail-gaters

Woonyang

tail gaters need to be taught a lesson , sad thing is that to catch them is a task for the TP as they have no camera for this

but fact is u all stuck at lane 1..overtake ki lan?

Then follow speed limit lor... I only give way if the vehicle tailgating me is rushing to fight fire, save lives or catch criminals. 70 is legal what. Why should I give way to ordinary speeding drivers? Go ahead and shoot me for "road hogging" or what, but 70 is 70.

Also hor...,

Got lane 2 leh.

Adding on to the thread:

Another personal experience: Driver A's in front and Driver's B behind

Driver A: Sticking to the limit of 90km/h

Driver B: Not interested in keeping to the limit as car is faster/higher status.

Driver A: Still sticks to 90km/h

Driver B: Is annoyed to be stuck at 90km/h (first stage of irritation). Moves pressure of annoyance to tailgate Driver A to move to Lane 2

Driver A: Unhappy that he's being flashed/tailgated even when he's at the maximum speed limit and taps his brakes.

Driver B: Is super annoyed that the pressure he put on Driver A is thrown back onto him with a sudden brake light. Adds more pressure. Uses horn/finger/highbeam/profanity etc (second stage of irritation).

I feel that way because I was in Driver A's position once while trying to overtake a car doing 80 in lane 2. It was a black Corolla which came up right to my back, and stuck to be from Paya Lebar to Eunos. I was annoyed to have that Corolla's extra-bright lights in my rear view mirror, and I tapped my brakes to warn him. What I got was a loud horn from the back, and after I had overtaken the car doing 80km/h, I was about to signal left when I distinctively heard a sound of a engine revving @ high rpm and saw the pair of lights that were constantly blinding me suddenly disappearing towards the left, re-materializing as a middle finger aimed at me though the left passenger window a split second later, before warping into 2 red running lights right in front of me.

After that incident 7 years ago (n00b driver, just passed lol), I never, ever, used the brake lights to warn tailgaters. Its the different between him overtaking me safely and him overtaking me with the middle finger salute. Yah lah. One flash of the brake light = one pointed middle finger, so I might as well not tap brake and forgo the middle finger point.

As for being Driver B, I agree that tapping the brake is a bad idea, it only makes the driver behind u more angry. I wasn't tailgating, but rather in a similar situation when I was queuing up to enter a minor road, there was this driver that was tapping his brakes, and then coming to a half all of a sudden. He then move off quickly to fill a "gap" that his sudden halt created. Then tapping the brakes to slow down at irregular intervals.

Guess what, he was looking out for his wife. After she got in, he signaled right, changed lane and drove off. Sigh of relief. That annoying on-off-on-on-off-on-off-on-on-on-off-off-off-off-off-on-off brake light was irritating (first stage of irritation). Thankfully I never got to the second stage of irritation if not I would had blasted him deaf. [laugh]

Today in KPE, evening peak. I was in lane 1, in front full of cars and i couldn't go any faster. In fact every lane was full.

A COE Civic came up and tail-gated really close. So close I couldn't see his steering wheel. After several minutes I got fed up :angry: and gave a meaty tap on the brakes. This guy immediately backed off and kept a 20m following distance for the rest of the journey. Is this "fan jian" or what?

These people cause so many accidents and really asking for it. What purpose does it serve to tail-gate?

=============

Maybe his car clock spoilt & he forgot to wear his watch so he was just trying to see the time on your car clock on the dashboard. [laugh]

dunwan ppl to tailgate then drive things like lambo,porsche, GTR lor.. i observe most ppl wun tailgate those cars.. no matter how slow they go.

hahaha...true, very true, but it is because of 2 things. Either they are too slow to tailgate, or just want to prevent the possibility of hitting into the exoticars' rear, cos they do, then they can start to save money for the following year's insurance liao.... :))

??? I think u need to take BASIC THEORY TEST again.. and fast... :> overtake from LEFT????? OMG...

No offense meant, but it is LEGAL to overtake on the left

(taken from my old dusty BT text)

Overtaking:

45. Always overtake on the right. There are however, a few exceptions to this rule when you can overtake on the left:

a) when driver in front has signaled his intention to turn right

b) when you want to turn left at a junction

c) when the traffic on your right are moving more slowly than you are

d) on one way streets except dual-carriageways

I support overtaking of the left because:

a) Singapore's highways are NOT dual carriage ways

b) It's more sensible than tailgating

c) Double checking blind spots and mirrors isn't a big deal

d) I got skill

remember:

Fast-Car-Fast-Driver-350x192.jpg

??? I think u need to take BASIC THEORY TEST again.. and fast... :> overtake from LEFT????? OMG...

Sorry i mean pass from left and then filter right in front.. Aka overtake from left.

I think you are those that teacher say A + B = C means A+B = C

dunwan ppl to tailgate then drive things like lambo,porsche, GTR lor.. i observe most ppl wun tailgate those cars.. no matter how slow they go.

I also notice no one ever tailgates the TP's WRXes. I think the inferiority complex is at work... [laugh]

Many drivers simply cannot give way.

Box junction cannot give way to people turning.

Merging also cannot give way.

People want to over take also cannot give way.

Their only attitute is - Die also I won't give way.

Good luck to them, its only a matter of time! [:)]

Even on the NSHW the road hogger is always an S plate car.

Sometimes its easy to over take them when the middle and left lanes are clear.

But when 1 truck is using the middle lane to overtake another truck and there

is a line of cars on lane 1, the road hogger is always an Sg car.

The road hogger will always say - I am not wrong what, I am doing 110kmh.

I am not wrong what, I am doing 110kmh.

They are never ever wrong! Never never never!

Edited by Jamesc

Sorry i mean pass from left and then filter right in front.. Aka overtake from left.

I think you are those that teacher say A + B = C means A+B = C

;) no offence but is a never ending argument. if there is no road hogger then there will be tail gater... cos every1 will driving at the same speed... but not possible rite?

Ya u r rite. i'm those "Go straight" kind of ppl. I admit i hate tail gaters... as much as i hate road hoggers. and sad to say i used to jam brake too.. even learn from my frn throw clutch, drop gear...

but now... ^_^ just wanna drive happy... live longer. sometimes will still tailgate.. BUT will NEVER NEVER road hog others. :D

Even on the NSHW the road hogger is always an S plate car.

Sometimes its easy to over take them when the middle and left lanes are clear.

But when 1 truck is using the middle lane to overtake another truck and there

is a line of cars on lane 1, the road hogger is always an Sg car.

The road hogger will always say - I am not wrong what, I am doing 110kmh.

They are never ever wrong! Never never never!

Sadly, tail gater are also normally S plate. [sweatdrop]

Good question.

Speed limit = 70.

We follow speed limit u buey song.

Solution: Overtake lah! Duh!

Yeah! correct... we shld keep to spped limit in the tunnel.... esp it is very dangerous!!! [bounce2]

Sometimes I would think that I am driving in the USA as I have to overtake from the left most of the times. There are too many Road Hoggers on the right lane and they really think that they own that lane.

As if by giving way for fast moving vehicle will loose a lot of money. [laugh]

this morning, on 80km/hr road, i accelerated to 110km/hr+ and a gold-colour mercedes (super old model) still die die cheong up to keep up ...dunno wat's the problem

i shift 4 lanes to the left and he follow ... lastly, he overtook me from the 5th lane when i released my accl pedal .... saw him 100m down the road braking hard because the roads are full of slower moving vehicles.

goondoo leh ... [hur]

Sometimes I would think that I am driving in the USA as I have to overtake from the left most of the times. There are too many Road Hoggers on the right lane and they really think that they own that lane.

As if by giving way for fast moving vehicle will loose a lot of money. [laugh]

Well we have meet our fair share of road hoggers, on surface road is fine to travel faster than allowed speed by 20+ km is ok BUT NOT TOO FAST as our roads are not designed to handle high speeds.

IN a tunnel is nono...because 1) tunnel walls are not designed to absorb impact when a car is crashed onto it. cars will be flung off thus posing more dangers to other lanes.

2) psychology. we will percived the tunnels as narrower thus we may over compensate if we are travelling too fast and that will deifintiely lead to an accident.

we should respect the speed limiti tunnel to ensure the safety of our selves and fellow drivers.

Sadly, tail gater are also normally S plate. [sweatdrop]

After driven in KL, i think MY drivers are all tailgater. I mean all, not most.