TV License - Why should we pay?

Twnll

Is it law that every household need to pay TV licence?

<_<

If I do not have any form of device - TV, TV tuner in PC, etc. I still have to pay?

I do not watch TV, not even cable TV. I think what Mediacorp broadcasting are rubbish - I rather watch YouTube.

You can stop paying tv licence. Make sure you do not have any tv in your house.

They conduct check on people who do not pay tv licence.

However, the tv licence cover radio as well.

You can just pay radio licence if you still want to keep your "audio system" in the house.

<_<

If I do not have any form of device - TV, TV tuner in PC, etc. I still have to pay?

I do not watch TV, not even cable TV. I think what Mediacorp broadcasting are rubbish - I rather watch YouTube.

I cancelled my TV license a few years ago, after cannot tahan the rubbish they are broadcasting + horrible advertisments every few minutes in a movie + no more free football.

However, I no longer have a TV in my house. This is one of the things you need to do - remove the TV, otherwise can kena summon if they do spot check.

It was difficult without it the first few weeks.. but after cold turkey for a month or so, totally forgot about TV. Even the kids no longer remember this thing called a TV in the house anymore.

So no need anymore for the BS they have been shoving down our throats whilst bloodsucking the TV License fee from us.

So what is the alternative? We totally watch movies from the web! Everything and more from TV is available on the Internet. All the news local and foreign are available, all the Cartoons - Ben 10, power rangers, etc; all the latest movies, all the TV series... and nowadays, streaming for live sports also available. And more control of the Computer.. sure the screen is only 23 inches... but can always get a projector if want big screen. Kids cannot anyhow watch TV - only when we allow, so don't interfere with school, and don't get conned by all the toy adverts!

It's all your choice: Pay and Pay? Why Pay? So Don't Pay!

<_<

agree! mediaco*k broadcasting are rubbish!

Haha I also dun believe in paying for the TV license. Not with those repeat and repeat telecast of lame old movies, Spiderman la, Scopion King la, stoopid serials la, even more stoopid SG idol la etc. But then, my mom wana watch her Animal Channel and NGC so bo pian... bye bye $110...[:(]

Haha I got a relative who keep a 29" tv in the storeroom and watch from there and he siam from paying his TV license. He does the rewiring himself. Got once the MDA guys pop in suddenly to check if any tv in the house. Lucky never see his tv there. Duno how he manage to watch from there for him and his wife+2 kids. [laugh]

but if watch from small screen monitor buay song leh.

if u have a big LCD tv but u connect to laptop to watch movies....also cannot right coz u still have the TV in your house?

i also think that the tv license fee is not justified, reason being that mediacorp enjoys monopoly and no competition unlike other countries. so this advantage is enough to ensure it has a steady stream of income, why impose the tv license fee then ? nonsense ..

All the answers here..

http://tinyurl.com/cem6lj

Interesting.

"Q:Do I need to apply for a TV Licence if I only use the TV for other purposes, such as graphic design, viewing slides, watching video/laser disc?

Ans: Yes, a TV Licence is required as long as you have a TV set installed on your premises, regardless of the nature and frequency of use of the equipment."

So I can't cancel SCV, stop watching Mediacorpse and just use my media player or disc player on the TV set without paying licence fees.

"Q: Do I need to obtain a TV Licence if I only use my personal computer to watch TV?

Ans: A personal computer which is capable of receiving TV programmes is deemed to be a "broadcast television receiver" and you would need to apply for a TV licence for your TV-enabled personal computer.However if you have already taken up a TV licence for any TV sets on your property, you will not be required to take up a separate licence for your personal computer. "

In other words, those with new video cards with TV tuner functions, beware! Doesn't matter if you actually use the function - if your PC is "capable" of receiving TV progs, you're considered to be in violation if you don't Pay And Pay ©.

The MDA guidelines are written in such a way that I can't decipher if the intent of the fees is to cover the physical TV set, or reception of the radio waves that carry TV transmissions, or both. Seems to be both, but why should this be the case?

And where does one draw the line between "TV" and "monitor" or other display device, really? New devices are blurring the line. If you don't have a tuner capable of receiving TV progs, and have just a display unit, why should you be forced to Pay And Pay©?

How about electronic hobbyists who have working CRTs lying around but no assembled TV set? How about those with tuner circuits but without an output device (audio or video)? When you think about it an RLC circuit is already a tuner, this is present even in remote control cars and what-not, and can quite easily be modified to receive radio transmissions, so do these qualify?

Another money making machinery for MDA... each household $110 yearly, total collection /annum how much? u do the calculation...

yeah, pay to see crappy local shows... polo boys, singtel girls...soon we got uncle and auntie shows also...

Each time i receive the fee...i m shock by this amount totally unjustify for this amount! I remember they send a bill for the TV license fee after more than 6months my grandpa pass away-there is a TV; yes, not used as house is empty... wonder how r they going to check since nobody at home....

Interesting.

"Q:Do I need to apply for a TV Licence if I only use the TV for other purposes, such as graphic design, viewing slides, watching video/laser disc?

Ans: Yes, a TV Licence is required as long as you have a TV set installed on your premises, regardless of the nature and frequency of use of the equipment."

So I can't cancel SCV, stop watching Mediacorpse and just use my media player or disc player on the TV set without paying licence fees.

"Q: Do I need to obtain a TV Licence if I only use my personal computer to watch TV?

Ans: A personal computer which is capable of receiving TV programmes is deemed to be a "broadcast television receiver" and you would need to apply for a TV licence for your TV-enabled personal computer.However if you have already taken up a TV licence for any TV sets on your property, you will not be required to take up a separate licence for your personal computer. "

In other words, those with new video cards with TV tuner functions, beware! Doesn't matter if you actually use the function - if your PC is "capable" of receiving TV progs, you're considered to be in violation if you don't Pay And Pay

U can get an external TV tuner box and connect to your LCD monitor.. Just need to disconnect & hide the tuner box whenever they come to inspect..

Another money making machinery for MDA... each household $110 yearly, total collection /annum how much? u do the calculation...

yeah, pay to see crappy local shows... polo boys, singtel girls...soon we got uncle and auntie shows also...

Number of Resident Households in Singapore 2008 = 1093100

Per Household TV license = $110

Total = $120,241,000

Astronomical numbers...and have to pay every year. Not including late payment penalties.

HDB increasing 10,000 households, more and more pte properties coming up = more $$$ for MDA.... [lipsrsealed]

wonder how much mediacorpse plug from them??? [grouphug]

Edited by Berncsp76