Locknload 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Aside from pursuing for justice to be done, the petition campaign should also ask the govt to set up a separate motor insurance pool for all the foreign embassy cars running on SG roads. At least, the victims or future victims would/will have the alternative avenue to claim for financial compensations. Agree wholeheartedly! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Ermmm but Mr Yeo said otherwise: "What happened was very bad, a man was killed, people were injured," said Mr Yeo. "The police are pursuing the matter very thoroughly but investigations are still ongoing and I should not be commenting on them. Let Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Next, he's gonna say "Lets move on". Or better still, "This only happens once in 50 years". or... there's no U-turn along Bt Panjang Road... the driver no choice cannot come back to help the victim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 I think SPF can't do anything to stop him.Since when he left the country,he's still not term as suspect but assisting in investigation.The only thing is initially SPF sleep on it and till he left,then figure out he's the main suspect.When this happened,and news report,I already know the car wasn't stolen after all.Who would remember where he touch before when he stole a car and still got the luxury of time to wipe away all the finger prints.Seriously,if I were to steal a car,first thing I would open is cash card slot,then find unused coupon in glove compartment.After that open centre console to see if got GPS or any valueble stuff,open boot see if got laptop or what behind.Don't tell me all these while as a thief I wear gloves?Ok,even if so,no one will know that his car is missing in the middle of the night.Was it police inform him his car got into accident then he report missing?or did he report missing then he got to know his car involved in accident.Too many loopholes to begin with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agnoxis 3rd Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Actually, there was a witness who rushed out from the coffee shop beside the junction to confront the driver but the driver apparently tried to run him down as well. So this witness definitely saw how the driver looks like. Although until now, the media are reluctant to release details of his looks, but... Will be very interesting to see how this pans out if he refuses to return. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Actually, there was a witness who rushed out from the coffee shop beside the junction to confront the driver but the driver apparently tried to run him down as well. So this witness definitely saw how the driver looks like. Although until now, the media are reluctant to release details of his looks, but... Will be very interesting to see how this pans out if he refuses to return. If the witness has seen the event right on the spot and has been attacked by the driver as well, doesnt that is more than enough proofto detain the driver? What other concrete evidence they need inorder to justify? Need to witness to be also kill right on the spot and his soul come out to tell the truth in face? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 pls lor. those from a higher authority would haf pass down orders for certain moves. u think the IO really got so big fark can make the arrest as and when he/she likes meh? now we are talking abt country vs country interest. not some michael fry scratching cars. i also dulan wif the incident but wat to do? its really out of spf's hands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 If the witness has seen the event right on the spot and has been attacked by the driver as well, doesnt that is more than enough proofto detain the driver? What other concrete evidence they need inorder to justify? Need to witness to be also kill right on the spot and his soul come out to tell the truth in face? maybe they want to delay until the witness forgets how he looks like hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 (edited) pls lor. those from a higher authority would haf pass down orders for certain moves. u think the IO really got so big fark can make the arrest as and when he/she likes meh? now we are talking abt country vs country interest. not some michael fry scratching cars. i also dulan wif the incident but wat to do? its really out of spf's hands. so u are trying to say that SPF knew at the end of the 1 day intervierw that he was a main suspect in this case and had wanted to arrest/detain him, BUT cannot do that to him because higher authority dont allow?? so u mean to say that there is someone from up there telling SPF to release him despite the fact that SPF have already establish him as a main suspect. i dont see which someone from high up there dare to give such an order to SPF which will anger all of spore citizens.... which one is worse? anger whole of romania or anger whole of spore??? and thanks for bringing up michael fay case, read this if u will: U.S. President Bill Clinton called the punishment extreme and mistaken, continuing to pressure the Singaporean government to grant Fay clemency from caning. Two dozen U.S. senators signed a letter to the Singaporean government also appealing for clemency. After Fay's punishment was carried out, the United States Trade Representative said that he would try to prevent the World Trade Organization's first ministerial meeting from taking place in Singapore. The Singaporean government pointed out that Singaporeans who break the law faced the same punishments as Fay, and suggested that the United States should pay more attention to its domestic problems, such as American law and order, rather than telling other countries what to do. Following Fay's sentence, the case received wide coverage by the U.S. and world media and dozens of reporters were sent to Singapore to cover the case.[10] The New York Times ran several editorials and op-eds that condemned the punishment and called the American public to flood the Singaporean embassy in the United States with protests. Some of the coverage was factually incorrect: for instance, Newsday carried an interview with a person who claimed to have witnessed a public caning in Singapore, despite the fact that Singapore has never carried out canings in public. Some commentaries treated the Michael Fay affair as a clash of civilizations between Asian values and the differing view of human rights common in liberal western cultures. u see how much singapore angered almightly USA with excessive punishments. do you know what is the consequence of angering USA? even clinton appealed and spore never give face!!! this time is only small time romania, and the diplomat has taken a life, not just vandalism. and what the SPF should have done is only arrest/detain for questioning. not like michael fay which is imposing punishment and caning. so i really dont see what is the big dealwhy SPF cannot hold him back for more questioning or investigation.... he really is no big fark like clinton.... Edited January 6, 2010 by TangoElite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 (edited) Aiya, he works in the police force so naturally he will speak out for it mah. Understandable lah. The SPF has failed to even list him down as a suspect and yet allowed him to leave the country. It's a miracle that he will return. Let's pray hard. Yes, he has diplomatic immunity but that doesn't meant the SPF cannot detain him for investigation. By the second day after the accident, most singaporeans with a decent IQ would have known that he is a suspect liao. Only our SPF don't know and after 2 weeks said he's a suspect. Anyway, country to country interest? Please lor, someone please enlighten me what benefits has Romania provide for Singapore? Edited January 6, 2010 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Aiya, he works in the police force so naturally he will speak out for it mah. Understandable lah. ooh no wonder lah..... agreed, i really do not know how romania is impt to us... and if i were romanian, and my abassador commit such a crime, i will never hold it against singapore for arresting the abassador for questioning Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 so u are trying to say that SPF knew at the end of the 1 day intervierw that he was a main suspect in this case and had wanted to arrest/detain him, BUT cannot do that to him because higher authority dont allow?? so u mean to say that there is someone from up there telling SPF to release him despite the fact that SPF have already establish him as a main suspect. i dont see which someone from high up there dare to give such an order to SPF which will anger all of spore citizens.... which one is worse? anger whole of romania or anger whole of spore??? and thanks for bringing up michael fay case, read this if u will: U.S. President Bill Clinton called the punishment extreme and mistaken, continuing to pressure the Singaporean government to grant Fay clemency from caning. Two dozen U.S. senators signed a letter to the Singaporean government also appealing for clemency. After Fay's punishment was carried out, the United States Trade Representative said that he would try to prevent the World Trade Organization's first ministerial meeting from taking place in Singapore. The Singaporean government pointed out that Singaporeans who break the law faced the same punishments as Fay, and suggested that the United States should pay more attention to its domestic problems, such as American law and order, rather than telling other countries what to do. Following Fay's sentence, the case received wide coverage by the U.S. and world media and dozens of reporters were sent to Singapore to cover the case.[10] The New York Times ran several editorials and op-eds that condemned the punishment and called the American public to flood the Singaporean embassy in the United States with protests. Some of the coverage was factually incorrect: for instance, Newsday carried an interview with a person who claimed to have witnessed a public caning in Singapore, despite the fact that Singapore has never carried out canings in public. Some commentaries treated the Michael Fay affair as a clash of civilizations between Asian values and the differing view of human rights common in liberal western cultures. u see how much singapore angered almightly USA with excessive punishments. do you know what is the consequence of angering USA? even clinton appealed and spore never give face!!! this time is only small time romania, and the diplomat has taken a life, not just vandalism. and what the SPF should have done is only arrest/detain for questioning. not like michael fay which is imposing punishment and caning. so i really dont see what is the big dealwhy SPF cannot hold him back for more questioning or investigation.... he really is no big fark like clinton.... Problem is if arrest him incur wrath of whole world, going against a treaty you have signed is a little bit different to just defying a "request" from president of US. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Where's the accountability? People in the SPF said the ball is now in the MFA hands. But Georgie said that the police are still investigating. Push here push there, then in the end hopefully it just disappear or become forgotten. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 (edited) 1 of the car that Michael Fay vandalised also belonged to some big shot in Sg... dont play play Edited January 6, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Problem is if arrest him incur wrath of whole world, going against a treaty you have signed is a little bit different to just defying a "request" from president of US. the treaty just makes him immune from punishment. not investigations or questioning. detaining him for investigations and establishing him as a suspect is not in any way in violation of the treaty or his immunity. moreover, even if it was against the treaty, who in the world would make noise if we just arrest him/ detain him to establish the truth?? its not like we are carrying out the punishments... so what wrath of the whole world u talking about, really dont see it coming by detaining him? if spore has an abassador in romania, and he was suspected of being in a similiar accident, would u be angry if romania detain him? ? would you even be angry if they ask for his immunity to be waived in light of the seriousness of the crime?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 1 of the car that Michael Fay vandalised also belonged to some big shot in Sg... dont play play wah he so sway .... who's is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 i work for who seriously is none of ur concern. so wat if i work for police force? sometimes the truth hurts but u gotta to accept the fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Problem is if arrest him incur wrath of whole world, going against a treaty you have signed is a little bit different to just defying a "request" from president of US. some pple dun understand the root of the problem. but u noe, enjoy all these flamming. nvm lah, say all u want or flame. next time better say i work for pap if i say smthing abt them is rite. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...