Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 (edited) For me, i treat my daughter as average and prepare your well in advance. Since first day K1 she is already with enrichment classes in chinese and english. With Tien Hsia & Mind Stretcher. And this year started primary 1, she has additional maths HOME tution with a existing pri school teacher one to one at home. On top of that her mom go through her homework or coach her in english and chinese everyday.*(Maths wise, we dun touch it, cos our method is totally diff from the maths now, its better a fulltime current primary school teacher assist her) 8-9.30pm on weekdays & 2hrs in the afternoon for sat & sun.....since mid last year. WITHOUT FAIL. Our thinking is that, if she needs the assistance, it will help her progressively. If not, it will enhance her ability further and improve even more. We do not believe in last minute giving tution to play catch-up and rush it through whether she can take it or not. We do monitor very very closely over her progress and her behavior during that 2 years. With adjustments along the way. We are glad she has become a very cheerfull and obedient kid. And well ahead of her peers in school now. She has limited TV viewing on weekdays and outings is reserve for sat & sun afternoons, immediately after her mom are done with her coaching. Any where she wants to go........she just have to point. I'll bring her. Swimming, beach, parks, downtown east. computer games, DS games, Cartoon CDs etc etc, she name it, she will definately have it. But come Monday, its strictly Study mode again. We want to instill a sense of responsibe routine into her, with a strong message, Study time is 100% study time, like wise playtime is strictly playtime. So much so that now, she will automatically standby at her room for studytime and also ask for the sky during playtime.........haha. School wise, we are very fortunate that im a ex-pupil of a good neighbourhood school in toa payoh. Even more fortunate that by moving to TPY from Sembawang, both wify and mine workplace is just 15mins drive away. We save on petrol, travelling time and even avoid ERP. School is just 3 mins walk from house block to school gate. Hence save on schoolbus fees and our gal is fresh for school too. Very minimum travelling for both our kid to school and for us to our workplace. To top that, my sister's house is just next block with kids already in the same primary school. Paying 200k more for all this is worth every single cent of it. Back to topic, any house is not worth 100k COV. Reno is good to the sellers taste, but never to the buyer. It doesnt make any sense to pay so much for the reno(maybe 30k at most), it should be been consider in the valuation costs in the first place. Especially when i got mine top 25th floor 120sqm unit unblock city view for $12,888 COV only. Fully renovated(2years ago) and 100% move-in condition. haha. My own experience: My first kid, whilst intelligent, is by no means the hardest working kid in her class ... and I did not want to be the kiasu parent that many in Singapore are, by forcing her to do tuition until the cows come home. She only had tuition for Chinese as she was struggling without help. So I let her generally have fun and do all the extra activities she wanted to do. She was in a neighbourhood primary school .... though it was a top school in annual results, I did not force her to study everyday. She got good grades at PSLE (but not in the high 270s to 290s that the geniuses from China are getting now), qualified for some good secondary schools, but not the cream like RGS, etc. But I advised her... she could go to a famous secondary school, and be a small fish in a big sea, because everybody there will be kiasu and fighting crazily for grades... or she could choose a relatively good neighbourhood secondary school, be the big fish in the small pond. She now goes to a neighbourhood sec school, walking distance from home. It is by no means the top school, though it has produced several top students during every O levels. But she is at the top of her class every year, gotten MOE awards for doing well, gaining confidence in herself with her success, having fun in CCAs she likes, and facing little pressure from the parents. I'm sure she'll do well in her O levels and get to a good JC or Poly; but'll she'll probably not be the top student in Singapore. But she's enjoying school every minute of the way. That's why I feel that parents who die, die will pay tens of thousands for high COVs to be near "branded" schools may be paying unneccessary money. Edited January 5, 2010 by Hiphiphoray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 last time our parents got always give us tuition etc? i think parent nowadays muz not too tough on their kids.. think this way..our era we learn our era thing,this era,new generation learn different thing..so there's no nid for them to learn different things our childhood games etc will not b able to play by the next generation ,so i feel if i have a kid,make sure he got a happy childhood. like i said,a person potiential is not known by what he has from young..but overall when he has grown up i rather let my kid to open up themselves than to make them study everyday..miserable one leh IMHO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 We have to change and adjust according to the current climate. And not compare old times and hope it still fit the bill. Unfortunately it just dont fit. Not by a long shot. Not when there are so much more distraction now since our old days......like internet, computer games, good public transport system etc etc. Too many to mention. Not when it is so competitive in the job areana now....especially from the FTs. Not when everything cost so much more expensive now as compare. Its just not the same anymore. Whether a child have a good childhood despite of all these pressure and still survive. It all depends on the parents planning.....more than ever before. In short, the parents must not be the bo chap, lazy kind and yet dont over stress the kid. Easiler said then done! Maybe thats why child birth is very low now.........ppl just cant bring themselve to plan ahead and make that sacrifice. Too easily defeat in thier mind........IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 i think distraction is same depend which era we in..same logic apply to last time we study feel difficult doesnt mean this era kids feel difficult coz it's what they learn in sch,just like us on what we learn last time eg my era ,got micro genius,nintendo etc go play catching till v late,go big longkang play etc job competitions are always there..just that about the pay FT are cheaper,some are ex but is Singaporean willing to accept? this is a question we should ask ourself sometimes, not always saying FT steal our job but some situation,maybe yes. Things are more and more exp..But alot people just wish to fulfil their lavish lifestyle,cant blame who also..improper planning... I used to tot why i cant retire at 65..after properly calculation,planning and seeing the situation ,i change my opinions..like i say,end of the day,choice laid in our hand.. Just curious, any parent in past handle us like how we handle your kids now? If different, what u see in urself handle by your parent? If there's difference,what impact is on u now ? Just curious Btw just happen to past by a neighbourhood school call South View Pr..wow,they have top 5 PSLE students from there, internally top 10 from them is 270-286 not bad for a not v famous neighbourhood school i kinda v agree with what Bro Parkingidiot said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Wow... completely opposite my kid's lifestyle... Well, to each his own, I guess. I hope your kid grows up well, and look back on the childhood with happy memories. Lucky you to have paid only $12K plus COV for a good house. I'm so far on my 1st direct HDB flat, don't look to sell for a long time, cos it's in a good place. Most people who have the cash to pay high COV, would usually be able to afford to renovate again according to their own taste. So.. in the end... money just flows like water for these folks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 (edited) Bro, chinese can train by 1 thing.. read comic from Pr school, i trained by reading Dragonball,without fail all the way to O level, straight As,ask me read Traditional or Simplied also no problem But English CMI nia,coz dont like read story books Edited January 5, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 For me, i treat my daughter as average and prepare your well in advance. Since first day K1 she is already with enrichment classes in chinese and english. With Tien Hsia & Mind Stretcher. And this year started primary 1, she has additional maths HOME tution with a existing pri school teacher one to one at home. On top of that her mom go through her homework or coach her in english and chinese everyday.*(Maths wise, we dun touch it, cos our method is totally diff from the maths now, its better a fulltime current primary school teacher assist her) 8-9.30pm on weekdays & 2hrs in the afternoon for sat & sun.....since mid last year. WITHOUT FAIL. Our thinking is that, if she needs the assistance, it will help her progressively. If not, it will enhance her ability further and improve even more. We do not believe in last minute giving tution to play catch-up and rush it through whether she can take it or not. We do monitor very very closely over her progress and her behavior during that 2 years. With adjustments along the way. We are glad she has become a very cheerfull and obedient kid. And well ahead of her peers in school now. She has limited TV viewing on weekdays and outings is reserve for sat & sun afternoons, immediately after her mom are done with her coaching. Any where she wants to go........she just have to point. I'll bring her. Swimming, beach, parks, downtown east. computer games, DS games, Cartoon CDs etc etc, she name it, she will definately have it. But come Monday, its strictly Study mode again. We want to instill a sense of responsibe routine into her, with a strong message, Study time is 100% study time, like wise playtime is strictly playtime. So much so that now, she will automatically standby at her room for studytime and also ask for the sky during playtime.........haha. WOW! During my primary school days, I just went to school, came back, ride my bike round neighborhood, played with neighborhood kids, watched tV from 5pm to 9pm and went to bed at 10, repeating the whole process during weekdays. In the end, I managed to top my class just about every year and scored top 10% results for PSLE good enough to enter any sec school i wanted. Guess my parents had a good time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 WOW! During my primary school days, I just went to school, came back, ride my bike round neighborhood, played with neighborhood kids, watched tV from 5pm to 9pm and went to bed at 10, repeating the whole process during weekdays. In the end, I managed to top my class just about every year and scored top 10% results for PSLE good enough to enter any sec school i wanted. Guess my parents had a good time. Well, now we know why Khaw wants to bring Community mental health to the forefront Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 WOW! During my primary school days, I just went to school, came back, ride my bike round neighborhood, played with neighborhood kids, watched tV from 5pm to 9pm and went to bed at 10, repeating the whole process during weekdays. In the end, I managed to top my class just about every year and scored top 10% results for PSLE good enough to enter any sec school i wanted. Guess my parents had a good time. you are different lah. you are singapore top 10% earner mah. table wiping till drive Beemer leh. Not everyone can do that. If i do like you, i think i will likely had retain in primary then in secondary again liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 but guess they gotta do all they can now lah...even graduates cannot get job nia...i primbaree 3 oni Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 i pak gorli till kana catch by Mata..tio warning coz pak $ one ,play micro genius,if game cannot read,take out and blow it PSLE no top 10% in sg but top 5% in whole school ,end up in top 18 school in sg but never go Uni go Sec Sch act Shan Ji..LOL..hahaha now like wu shuo shi shi..wait for $ drop from sky nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Pr 3 how be "coach"?shld be 30 years experience la u pian lang ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 WOW! During my primary school days, I just went to school, came back, ride my bike round neighborhood, played with neighborhood kids, watched tV from 5pm to 9pm and went to bed at 10, repeating the whole process during weekdays. In the end, I managed to top my class just about every year and scored top 10% results for PSLE good enough to enter any sec school i wanted. Guess my parents had a good time. sounds like my life, too, bro.. .except that my parents could not afford to buy a TV during my primary school days (yep.. I'm that old.. ). My first TV was in Sec 2. I watched Ultraman at a neighbours house during pri school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Bro, chinese can train by 1 thing.. read comic from Pr school, i trained by reading Dragonball,without fail all the way to O level, straight As,ask me read Traditional or Simplied also no problem But English CMI nia,coz dont like read story books English also the same, bro. I grew up reading Tin Tin, Asterix, Superman, Spiderman comix. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 English also the same, bro. I grew up reading Tin Tin, Asterix, Superman, Spiderman comix. English comic v ex ,even now..cannot afford Chinese one $2.50 only now dun noe how much already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 Good that we do see each other views with open mind instead of the usual bashing. U know what, i have your exact thinking not too long ago.......until recent years that is. Maybe you will get a better picture when your own fresh and blood is in the equation. Everybody has its own expectations and tolarence. To each his own i guess. No right or wrong. Every child behaves differently. Your method might not work on mine likewise mine wont work on others. At the end of the day, every parent will want the best for thier kid and within thier means. Cheers bro. i think distraction is same depend which era we in..same logic apply to last time we study feel difficult doesnt mean this era kids feel difficult coz it's what they learn in sch,just like us on what we learn last time eg my era ,got micro genius,nintendo etc go play catching till v late,go big longkang play etc job competitions are always there..just that about the pay FT are cheaper,some are ex but is Singaporean willing to accept? this is a question we should ask ourself sometimes, not always saying FT steal our job but some situation,maybe yes. Things are more and more exp..But alot people just wish to fulfil their lavish lifestyle,cant blame who also..improper planning... I used to tot why i cant retire at 65..after properly calculation,planning and seeing the situation ,i change my opinions..like i say,end of the day,choice laid in our hand.. Just curious, any parent in past handle us like how we handle your kids now? If different, what u see in urself handle by your parent? If there's difference,what impact is on u now ? Just curious Btw just happen to past by a neighbourhood school call South View Pr..wow,they have top 5 PSLE students from there, internally top 10 from them is 270-286 not bad for a not v famous neighbourhood school i kinda v agree with what Bro Parkingidiot said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 ya, just share share on views,nothing wrong or right, who know next time i didnt even will give my children time to relax..if complaint i just smack..?haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 5, 2010 Share January 5, 2010 ya, just share share on views,nothing wrong or right, who know next time i didnt even will give my children time to relax..if complaint i just smack..?haha who knows... the kids may be already planning a devious scheme to throw their parents into an old folks home and takeover the estate.... I think my 6 year old son is a secret Sith apprentice ... always plotting some nefarious scheme ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...