Fierce Restaurant Manager

Genes

Their buffet dinner is priced at $28 / pax , our company booked 29 pax for our annual dinner.

First their manager (over the phone) insisted that we must order our food in the afternoon because they were "fully booked" and for not doing so, we cannot blame them if they are slow in serving or if they "run out of food".

Reluctantly, she made some order. She was told that we must order at least 3 vegetable dish or "dont blame them if they run out of vegetable" if we do not place the order early. (I suppose vegetable dishes are cheaper in cost).

When we arrived, only 25 of us made it, we were told to pay for 29 pax since we booked for it. After some bargaining, it was settled for payment charge by head count.

We were being sqeezed into 2 tables instead of 3, she claimed that we do not have enough people to occupy 3 tables.

May I share my opinions :

- if buffet must order food in advance, this is not a good tell-tale sign, should have change the venue to somewhere else.

- must order at least 3 veg dishes ?? Is this buffet or actually set dinner promo charged per pax ? Communication breakdown ??

- pay for booking 29pax, depend on the booking agreement. Becos, recently I enquire somewhere else for Xmas Eve buffet, have to pay in advance with credit card, if lesser pax arrived or cancel after payment, no refund but can makan at later date.

Hmmm...maybe, but one restaurant we frequent a lot is Tian Ting Crab (seafood paradise) in Ubi, for the "popular" dishes we always pre-order as confirmed they run out by end of the night, and the service there is always super on and super friendly. But even if run out of the "popular" dishes there is always other food to eat.

One thing to take note is that 29 is a large group, normally a restaurant will cater say 40% of patrons fish, 40% beef with balance chicken (or whatever ratio) if got one large group that company sponsored will eat more / different things, so can understand if restaurant wants an idea of what to order first.

This of course doesn't excuse whatever may have happened later.....

u mean seafood paradise at defu? got run out of food meh patronise them a few years liao... haha..run out of seats/tables i kana a few times though... [laugh]

yes their service staff all super well train... super professional and super on the ball... guess havin 2 "very on" young bosses helps..

back to topic... i read somemore recently..sunday times maybe ...40% of new f&b establishments close down on their 1st year even if economy is good... rude or good svc or bo food... time will tell if can survive...

u mean seafood paradise at defu? got run out of food meh patronise them a few years liao... haha..run out of seats/tables i kana a few times though... [laugh]

yes their service staff all super well train... super professional and super on the ball... guess havin 2 "very on" young bosses helps..

back to topic... i read somemore recently..sunday times maybe ...40% of new f&b establishments close down on their 1st year even if economy is good... rude or good svc or bo food... time will tell if can survive...

THe 40% yeah - I heard before also. We been going to seafood paradise since only one outlet. Not run out of food, but if later in the night the popular dishes may be in short supply...the ribs, chilli crab, drunken prawn and the cracker chicken, so we ks and order first...just to make sure.

hmm.. i never heard of buffet that requires to order in advance... maybe i'm a frog in the well... [laugh]

Since it is a buffet and it is fully booked, arent they prepare more food for the day?? [confused]

Even if there is such of ordering in advance, i will not patronize those.. <_<

got lar.. even places like Noble house, during "big" days like Mothers' day, will tell you they will pre-order 5 dishes during reservation time so that they can start preparing the moment the guest arrived. this will minimize the waiting time for people to browse thru the menu to order.

From this video, guess it's more of bad attitude and poor management that lead to the ugly scene. who would want to kick up a fuss during a dinner..

got lar.. even places like Noble house, during "big" days like Mothers' day, will tell you they will pre-order 5 dishes during reservation time so that they can start preparing the moment the guest arrived. this will minimize the waiting time for people to browse thru the menu to order.

From this video, guess it's more of bad attitude and poor management that lead to the ugly scene. who would want to kick up a fuss during a dinner..

Yeah, but can equally ask...why would the manager want to kick up a fuss with this diner or who wants to have an argument at work?

heee...yeppers, that's the point to be made....we all not there to see, so really can't make comment about "who would want to do what" or what is "logical"....

Its just coincedence but there is another thread posted by Radx about a male customer assualting a female store manager at KFC in China.

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry2989032

While I would make it very clear that I find the incident in KFC is absolutely unacceptable, this incident at Tg Rhu is a similar situation invloving customer and staff dispute at an establishment.

What I am trying to draw attention to is not to let our judgement be clouded by nationality issue. While the incident in KFC was between 2 PRC nationals, this incident is between an alleged foreigner, most likely PRC or Malaysian and a group of Singaporean.

Furthermore, the video in the Tg Rhu incident only started midway through the incident. No viewer is able to make up the events leading up to the video.

Let me put it this way to naysayers who condemn the lady manager because she was 'rude' and 'had a bad attitude' or just because she is a 'FT'. Would it have been any better if the customer reacted the same way as the KFC guy did? If we knew what the stomper posted is the truth, would we clap and applaud the assault? or the title of the video be "Fierce Restaurant Manager pwned by Totally Inhuman...bloody ba#%%#"?

Yeah, but can equally ask...why would the manager want to kick up a fuss with this diner or who wants to have an argument at work?

But from the video, seems like the restaurant got difficulty getting their staff to cool down or move off.. no point staying there to make the situation worst.

Generally, when I spend more than 5 minutes arguing with this type of service I would end the argument there, paid up for whatever service I came for, note down the interested parties and disappear. I would not want to make a fool of myself there. Then I will pen a complaint and work to resolve it with decision-maker.

did the man really pushed the waitress/manager b4 this video and the man's lady friend paused and said never saw that..

if the man really did,whose fault then?even though still in service line also muz endure such behaviour even a lady pushed by a man?

if so,the man can be charged in few way too..isnt it?

why only see the lady kbkb way only?

For such case, I will refer to CASE, not for her services standard, but for wat I paid is not wat I get.

I got a similiar problem with buffet restaurant. Dragon Gate at Harbour front. Waited dam long for 1 dish to delivery. for my 2hr lunch time, total only ate 3 plates. lunch time up, go to the counter to pay and feedback to the manager.

Manager: oh sorry today suay suay got a big group of tourist booking here. You should had called and tell us your order

I : If I can order what I want now, it should be called a "Set-Lunch" and not buffet. Then wat happen if I ordered 1 plate but decided to have another plate? anothe r2 more plate? This is a BUFFET, if u forget

Manager: hahaha sorry sorry

I: If there is a big crowd and the restaurant is not able to cope, you should had rejected our entry, tell us your problem and we can understand and eat else where

Manager: hahaha cannot! hahaha we need to earn money

I: (getting more and more pissed with his hahaha) you very happy hor. earning my money happily loh. but I didnt spend happily lah

Manager: hahaha....

I: .....................

but after going to Dragon Date 20-30 time (working around this area for decade plus), usually their delay is still within "acceptable tolerance". only this time so bad. So after this incident, I still go back to eat