Jiean2004 Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 (edited) Share my personal encounter, not hearsay,but only truthful and genuine version! My offense of forgetting to purchase an eday licence was dated on Apr 2010. After realizing my blunder,2 days from the offense I called,emailed and wrote in to ask for leniency. Was replied 1st by LTA that first offender will be fine for $5k. LAN LAN,browse around to collate more information,including this forum. Many hearsay version that further sank my heart. Waited for nearly 2 months, thought lady luck is on me and my vehicle no. might not be captured in their system as I had passed through the ERP along CTE on the day of offense. My wife said that there is a registered mail from LTA and it prompted me to provide the driver particular on the the day of offense. Bloody s--t, went down to LTA,submit my details and thought of eradicate whatever hase as it it really kind og bothering,with the fine of $5k in mind. Was told to return and wait for the summon letter. Another waiting game persisted till end of Aug,the letter finally came. Fine of $500/-. Phew..was thinking a blessing as oppose to $5k. Tried my luck and wrote in to appeal for reduction of fine with all supported documents,especially my confession of 2 days from the offense. It took another near 2 weeks before the fresh summon appeared, fine reduced to $200 and I paid for it. To quell all the hearsay: No interview at all, the fine is not hefty as mentioned,the efficiency of LTA sux though(kind of dragging from apr-sep and the uncertainty feels is really draining me) Anyway,bye bye to any related OPC offense as I had converted my opc to normal. So opc drivers,please remember to buy your eday licence timely,as be prepared to undergo a dire period Thanks. Edited October 14, 2010 by Jiean2004 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 I think since it's not a life threatening case for opc offense, there is no need to rush to close case. Also they might be using the long delay to give mental torture. If one week can close case, the OPC owner might forget easily in one months time. By dragging it a few months, I think the OPC will dream of it every night, and will never ever forget to buy the day l licence again. So the delay in summoning and sending letters has it's educational effect! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched October 14, 2010 Author Share October 14, 2010 Good sharing of info. Will help to calm the mind for many OPC folks who genuinely forget to buy the e-license. But of course, it applies to first-time offenders only...take note. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Hi, can PM me as well? Dear all, Recently I used my brother car and forgot to buy the e-day license. The fine is 5k! Any solution? Thanks. by regulation, fine for 1st timer is UP TO $5k... pls note e key words, 'up to'... it's not flat rate.... hv ur bro receive any letter to furnish driver's particulars yet?? if not, juz wait... it'll take 6-8 weeeeeeeks for them to send e letter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiean2004 Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 To elaborate my sharing,I reckon I am genuinely absent minded.I did not wait till Days after offense.infact my day of usage day was on Fri,on Sun I realized and emailed LTA for self confession to strengthen my case of forgetfulness. I am a 1st offender though and the place of infringement was morning along CTE near Braddell Road. So again to those opc drivers, ERP Gantries are one of the detecting devices I assumed. One of my friends was caught and received the letter with the offense details stated 6.57pm. So again it quashed those tolerance or leeway of 5-10 mins allowance, is all BS.An offen e is an offense and there is no two ways about it. Good luck dude.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 How and when do you get such a letter? I got a composition of fine (Or attend court if i do not pay). I appealed but so far no news from them yet. Just wait lor... LTA back office now low tech despite all their high tech gantries and erp systems and gps s--t... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iiiusion 2nd Gear October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 I am a 1st offender though and the place of infringement was morning along CTE near Braddell Road. So again to those opc drivers, ERP Gantries are one of the detecting devices I assumed. One of my friends was caught and received the letter with the offense details stated 6.57pm. So again it quashed those tolerance or leeway of 5-10 mins allowance, is all BS.An offen e is an offense and there is no two ways about it. Good luck dude.. 6.57pm? where got so zhun? even speed limit got 10kmph allowance, opc don't even have 5 min? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 Nah, ig u kenna caught at erp at 657 pm i think no case cos u must have left ur car park much earlier. If u were caught just outside the car park, then got case but no erp gantry just outside mah. So i think got some lee way la but if u on expressway already and not even time for u to drive it means u already beat the system. Not like u 657 just move out of parking lot and kenna caught. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unclebond Neutral Newbie October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 Finally my summon came for driving without a vaild e-coupon. Fine was $200. Went down to appeal. Cannot, already the lowest fine. No choice just pay up lol!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 wah lucky... sorry to hear you kenah summon but happy for you that its $200, not $2000... phew!! my friend's friend kenah after appeal $1000... at causeway... reach causeway at 6.20am they went for weekend trip on saturday, jam, got caught at 7.04am... came back on sunday but jam so by the time went home past midnight so cannot buy the coupon.. call lta to confess, ask to wait for letter.. $2000 fine, after appeal is $1000. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 my friend's friend kenah after appeal $1000... at causeway... reach causeway at 6.20am they went for weekend trip on saturday, jam, got caught at 7.04am... came back on sunday but jam so by the time went home past midnight so cannot buy the coupon.. call lta to confess, ask to wait for letter.. $2000 fine, after appeal is $1000. wow kao your friend really innocent case man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 wah lucky... sorry to hear you kenah summon but happy for you that its $200, not $2000... phew!! my friend's friend kenah after appeal $1000... at causeway... reach causeway at 6.20am they went for weekend trip on saturday, jam, got caught at 7.04am... came back on sunday but jam so by the time went home past midnight so cannot buy the coupon.. call lta to confess, ask to wait for letter.. $2000 fine, after appeal is $1000. I'm just curious... when you're roaming, you cannot use mobilepay? or find internet kiosk in Malaysia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 i seriously dunno.... but according to my friend is that the guy buys online or at axs usually... then all i said to my friend when he told me the story of his friend was... why dun convert to revise OPC??? he say cos this friend (army friend) dun always drive on sat and even if he does he goes in real early... then i say better leave even earlier.. his early is not early lor, my misan friends who are PR in SG, work and live and got licence here buy opc car goes back home on saturday at like 4am lor... in life dun take it for granted.. plus, if the line is crawling and it hits 6.58am... better to buy.. dun think aiya if 2 minutes clear the line how? why wanna save $20? then i told him my story that i myself once hit tuas at 6.45am and it was crawling, then it was the coupon system.. then i took coupom standby, 4 cars in front of me, clock says 6.53am, i tore on the spot... display it.. when reach my turn to give passport, the time says 7.01am... :) there are people i know in the old system day kenah caught at causeway without coupon at 7.02am kind of thing, they dun stop you, send you letter... so even back in those days i dun take chances.. now new system lagi wont want to take chance... well i personally think this person must be hoping that they will give chance cos plus minus 5-10 minutes... fat chance... 7am means 7am dun for one moment think got grace, the only grace you get is they didnt put him in jail for trying to cheat... to me i see it as trying to pull a fast one hoping can use jam excuse to aruge... i say nothing to argue... so what jam? u already know 7am means 7am when u buy the car, where got grace period? i ask him will it be acceptable if your company ask u for grace period to pay your salary? to reply ur question, actually on the spot can buy using mobilepay unless hp out of coverage then go buy a msia hi card or something and ask someone to buy it for you via axs.. thats what i will do... no excuse... i dun side my friend friend but i learn from his mistakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 i seriously dunno.... but according to my friend is that the guy buys online or at axs usually... then all i said to my friend when he told me the story of his friend was... why dun convert to revise OPC??? he say cos this friend (army friend) dun always drive on sat and even if he does he goes in real early... then i say better leave even earlier.. his early is not early lor, my misan friends who are PR in SG, work and live and got licence here buy opc car goes back home on saturday at like 4am lor... in life dun take it for granted.. plus, if the line is crawling and it hits 6.58am... better to buy.. dun think aiya if 2 minutes clear the line how? why wanna save $20? then i told him my story that i myself once hit tuas at 6.45am and it was crawling, then it was the coupon system.. then i took coupom standby, 4 cars in front of me, clock says 6.53am, i tore on the spot... display it.. when reach my turn to give passport, the time says 7.01am... :) there are people i know in the old system day kenah caught at causeway without coupon at 7.02am kind of thing, they dun stop you, send you letter... so even back in those days i dun take chances.. now new system lagi wont want to take chance... well i personally think this person must be hoping that they will give chance cos plus minus 5-10 minutes... fat chance... 7am means 7am dun for one moment think got grace, the only grace you get is they didnt put him in jail for trying to cheat... to me i see it as trying to pull a fast one hoping can use jam excuse to aruge... i say nothing to argue... so what jam? u already know 7am means 7am when u buy the car, where got grace period? i ask him will it be acceptable if your company ask u for grace period to pay your salary? to reply ur question, actually on the spot can buy using mobilepay unless hp out of coverage then go buy a msia hi card or something and ask someone to buy it for you via axs.. thats what i will do... no excuse... i dun side my friend friend but i learn from his mistakes wow... Im speechless. Everything you said is true. Simply put, with a new system you really have no excuse to miss buying e-day license... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 errr when it was still coupon system, there were two-three cases of people kenah caught while driving out of the multistory carpark or just turn out of the car park at 6.55pm kind of thing, one case i never forget was a guy driving out of the multistory carpark and the tp appear out of now where in the carpark and summon him, all less than 10 mins to 7pm.. try googling other forums you might see some people who kenah before... i feel sorry for them cos those days very harsh fine and its like less than ten mins can drive the car also kenah caught.. Nah, ig u kenna caught at erp at 657 pm i think no case cos u must have left ur car park much earlier. If u were caught just outside the car park, then got case but no erp gantry just outside mah. So i think got some lee way la but if u on expressway already and not even time for u to drive it means u already beat the system. Not like u 657 just move out of parking lot and kenna caught. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sty Neutral Newbie October 18, 2010 Share October 18, 2010 Finally my summon came for driving without a vaild e-coupon. Fine was $200. Went down to appeal. Cannot, already the lowest fine. No choice just pay up lol!! U already lucky enough to just be paying $200 for a possible few k fine and u still go down there to appeal? Better make sure that u dont do it again as the second time confirm is not just $200 anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheenang Neutral Newbie October 19, 2010 Share October 19, 2010 Drove my car without coupon on 24th Sept and wrote in to LTA on 26th Sept. Just got an email from them today asking for explanation....so hoping for the best....so...here's another variation to offences like this.....I believe it is a case by case basis, no hard and fast rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched October 22, 2010 Share October 22, 2010 Drove my car without coupon on 24th Sept and wrote in to LTA on 26th Sept. Just got an email from them today asking for explanation....so hoping for the best....so...here's another variation to offences like this.....I believe it is a case by case basis, no hard and fast rule. You wanna know the TRUTH... pal... it doesn't matter anymore to them... all cases are the same.... FORGOT OR FORGET cases... so just prepare some money to clear the fines... BUT always remember this record stays with you for the rest of your OPC days... this is only the first year of "paperless system" and already so many cases... just imagine those planning to drive OPC for another 10 years ... IMAGINE.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...