OPC e-day license

Redplanet

My suggestion-LTA -Throught its automated SMS system,send an SMS as a reminder to the registered owner of the OPC car few hours before the cut off date for the purchase for the Eday licence.There is a need for an awknowledgement of the SMS.Once there is no awknowledgement,there will an IVR system initiating a call to the respective OPC car owner.

KNN...OPC owners really very smart. LTA not stupid also mah!

If system remind you, means police/camera/TP has detected you use the car that day. So die die have to rush down to AXA machine to buy e-licence.

If no reminder. HENG AH. Siam for one day! Saved $20.

You think you smart, LTA not smart meh?

Why not I suggest OPC owners set their iPhone to alarm at 8pm, 9pm & 11pm every day, the alarm will display "Have you purchased your e-licence for today?". That would be a better solution.

Its OPC responsibility to buy elicence, not LTA to remind you.

So next time see doctor, I want to request the missy to call me three times a day to remind me to take my medicine?

My suggestion-LTA -Throught its automated SMS system,send an SMS as a reminder to the registered owner of the OPC car few hours before the cut off date for the purchase for the Eday licence.There is a need for an awknowledgement of the SMS.Once there is no awknowledgement,there will an IVR system initiating a call to the respective OPC car owner.

KNN...OPC owners really very smart. LTA not stupid also mah!

If system remind you, means police/camera/TP has detected you use the car that day. So die die have to rush down to AXA machine to buy e-licence.

If no reminder. HENG AH. Siam for one day! Saved $20.

You think you smart, LTA not smart meh?

Why not I suggest OPC owners set their iPhone to alarm at 8pm, 9pm & 11pm every day, the alarm will display "Have you purchased your e-licence for today?". That would be a better solution.

Its OPC responsibility to buy elicence, not LTA to remind you.

So next time see doctor, I want to request the missy to call me three times a day to remind me to take my medicine?

even if LTA does a SMS service, the next round of lame excuses would likely be: "i forgot to switch on my handphone" or "din receive sms coz i forgot to charge my handphone" or "i forgot my dog ate my handphone", etc, etc.

if one is always so 'forgetful', better not drive for one's sake. sekali forget to stop at red light or forget to give way at zebra crossing, how?

if only they can 100% track OPCs then just bill us/giro us at the end of every month for usage during restricted hours...

GPS ERP system coming your way soon. By then, no OPC liao. It will be mileage / usage charge.

Edited by Kangadrool

Hahahaha totally agree with you bro....

Never ending lah... Later the sms didn't sent thru they will go appeal and say ohhh the system faulty, didn't remind me, why you still summon me when its your system that sucks??? My phone send for repair, I lost my phone so i didn't know you sms thats why i didn't buy....

I drive OPC and we have 2 normal cars also... sometimes when we need to go north, south, east and west for meetings i drive the OPC, cos its a small cc car to save petrol. The MPV and sedan gets 10-11km/litres and we use it to carry sales kits thats why we need big cars when we go presentation, while the opc gets 14km/litre so we sometime use it for follow up appointments... So I know what I am talking about when it comes to buying EDAY... no one can fault me to say that I drive normal car mah, I dunno what I am talking about... I sometimes use 3-4 coupon a week, during peak season for us which is July and Aug, now slowing down so not always drive hahaa... I am here to share my experience with you all in how to make your life easier when buying eday and try to adopt some of these processes so that you can remember abit better... paying $500 for summon is really too expensive a lesson....

I register for mobilepay and I take the trouble to drive around my estate at night to find where are ALL the AXS machines. So now I know the location of 6 of the machines... so if one machine c--k up, I know where is the nearest to go, where i can stop my car, so no excuse... cos i ever bought at one petrol kiosk and the card reader spoil (that time not the insert and pull up type)... For the sake of all OPC brothers and sisters, MOST Esso and some SPC have AXS machine... also most MRT station have too... Go google for AXS machine location, and pick 4 that is nearest to you... I usually buy eday from AXS, unless its near midnight and the machine spoils, I buy using mobile pay... I suggest one and all to buy immediately when you use the car or buy eday on the same day that you use the car... Dun have the mentality that never mind la, tomorrow still can buy... Set alarm on your HP to remind you to buy at starting from 8pm, 9pm, 10pm and 11pm... I always set on my iphone or even my omnia, 2 different time slots and alert.. remind me 1 hour before etc...

Have fun driving guys... now the govt make it so convenient still want to complain... sigh

Edited by Meganut

if only they can 100% track OPCs then just bill us/giro us at the end of every month for usage during restricted hours...

LTA unable to do 100% tracking on OPCs until the implementation of GPS ERP. So this auto billing system wouldn't work for now.

agree. as adults, one shld take responsibility for our own actions instead of wasting blardy energy on blaming the gahmen lah, system lah, FT lah, for one's own selective usage of RAM.

OPC drivers presumably participate in the scheme with eyes open, which includes taking on personal responsibility to uphold their end of the bargain in exchange for the $17K concession. Reminders/some automated service is not impossible, but what if it is at a cost, say now instead of $17K it will be $12K, as well as heavier fines for forgetting? Nothing is for free, especially when it comes to matters under the government.

Website for mobile pay:

http://www.mobilepay.sg/

Hi all... Do take sometime to sign up for an account. You can use credit card or debit card...

If got no credit card, then use debit card... Dun have, go apply from the bank, usually its free... If you have an ATM card, which you do, if not how you actually buy your eday from AXS via nets? or top up your cashcard per say... Go to your issusing bank for your ATM card and ask for a debit card... Some debit cards are quite good like the OCBC - NTUC debit card, i think you get petrol discount too :) MOST banks issue out debit card either Master or Visa. Debit card is like a credit card, which can be useful when you do not have enough cash and the shop do not accept nets, or online shopping... but difference between debit and credit is instead of swipe first and pay later, the debit card can work like NETS where deduction is almost immediate, or some times the turn around time for deduction is 24-72 hours...

Location of AXS:

http://www.axs.com.sg/phpweb/consumer/station_location.php

go locate 3-4 axs nearest to you....

Hope this helps... not trying to rub salt to the wounds of those who kenah summon, just learn from it and move on in life... for those who are still lucky please do not forget to buy eday, its veryyyyyy costly... lowest fine is $500 instead of paying summon can go 3D2N drive up to Malacca or KL stay 4 star hotel depending on season rates, pay for toll, petrol and normal makan... If you go with someone to share the room cost and petrol, $500 still got change.. If they decide to summon higher than $500, say $1000 can go Bangkok or Hongkong.. $2000 can go australia, above 5k can go skiing in the US... Not worth it... Worse, lose sleep over it somemore....

Let's make life wonderful and convenient with a great blessing of having an OPC vehicle to take us to the movies at night or supper, or weekend to bring our family out, or even a short getaway up north...

Good luck one and all!

Yup I agree with both of you...

How to blame gahment? They already make it convenient, now people still want to abuse, complain and demand for more.. Last time pple say emengency, pet dying in the back seat, AA close liao, post office not yet open, i cannot buy eday licence... gahment hear us and GIVE US 24 HOURS EXTRA grace period to buy, last time on the spot summon... now they give us 2 more means to buy I am so grateful for AXS cos its soooo much easier to find than postoffice PLUS 24 hours extra time to purchase the coupon...plus AXS you can buy your eday before 2359, you tell me which postoffice open till so late if we are still on the coupon system? Last time when I needed the car the next morning, I drive ALL the way to Changi Airport from the West cos it opens till 9.30pm...

now people still want GPS tag to GIRO... hahaha... Even if they have the means to do it, I think they would'nt, cos firstly it cost money to implement to assist some hiongster or some genuine forgetful people to save money on summon... secondly the current system now that is ALREADY in place doesn't require additional money to implement cos its already there and it helps make more money contributing to nation funds.. they rather summon you than make it convenient for you... if I work for the gahment I will do that too... Summon you then spend money to remind you or give you auto giro deduction..

It won't be free.. cos implementing such system ISLAND wide cost ALOT of money... Tax payer's money upfront first... I pay tax and I also have opc car, but what about the other tax payer who pay tax and do not drive OPC but normal plate, or humble tax paying citizen that take public transport rain, storm or shine... fair? Its like asking govt have to use the nation contribution upfront to make it EVEN MORE conveneient for OPC drivers when this money can be use to improve our quality of life like upgrading of roads, public transport or contribute to society or the needy... to make it convenient for OPC drivers forgetfulness is a waste of nation resources.. If i am working in gahment i will summon heavier fines cos now so convenient no excuse... i remember my friend during the OPC coupon days kenah summon at causeway, the poor boy was at causeway at 5.45am, the jam stretch till 7.15am, and he didn't have a coupon, kenah summon $2k... those days the fines were heavier than now... $500 is super discount, i never hear of $500 fine for the old system before... so WAKE UP your idea OPC complainers....

Give one inch ask for a yard... I am so grateful and comfortable for the system and I really thank God the gahment that hear us and give us this privilege now people still complain PLUS those who convert to revise OPC gets to drive full day saturday PLUS eve of major public holiday (i not greedy, if revise OPC can drive free for saturdays good enough, and i am even more grateful that they included the eve of major PH cos that is super bonus for me).... many pple complain say now work 5 days mah, saturday shouldn't be peak period for us... our gahment hear us and give saturday and eve of major p.h free to drive... then there are pple that want grace period and extra time, then better ask the gahment to change peak period timing 8am-6pm, cos pple work 9-5 mah... then the WHOLE singapore buy OPC... Now you know why there are some normal plate owners out there that like to bash OPC owners? Do the math...

SERIOUSLY..........

This is my 2 cents worth as an owner of OPC and normal plate.. Standing on both side of the car owners in Singapore... sorry if i offended anyone...

agree. as adults, one shld take responsibility for our own actions instead of wasting blardy energy on blaming the gahmen lah, system lah, FT lah, for one's own selective usage of RAM.

OPC drivers presumably participate in the scheme with eyes open, which includes taking on personal responsibility to uphold their end of the bargain in exchange for the $17K concession. Reminders/some automated service is not impossible, but what if it is at a cost, say now instead of $17K it will be $12K, as well as heavier fines for forgetting? Nothing is for free, especially when it comes to matters under the government.

I do agree on the point that the onus on buying the OPC Eday licence lies with the owner.While there are some who tried to keng aroung with my suggestion if it was indeed implemented,it would ultimately help to remind those fellow bros who genuinely forget.Well,if indeed the GPS tracking tingy comes into effect,OPC owners who intend to drive out during Restricted Hours would think twice.No system can be 100% perfect,however the quality of the output can be improve.Do felt sorry for those who genuinely forgotten to purchase the Eday licence.Perhaps,just sign up for the MobilePay tingy/Purchase an eday licence prior to driving out while the system is being improved?Personnaly I buy the Eday licence prior to driving out.Rest at ease. [cool]

Since day 1 if you decide to own an OPC car, you must know and agree to comply with the regulations.

Absent minded or forgetfulness is own negligence.

I myself drive an OPC and use it regularly more than 10 times a mth.

Personally, it would be best to just apply I-banking and do online payment.

Morning before use, just spend 5 mins to go online and settle it.

Or I just use my hp surf the web and buy e-license.

Another suggestion, y not get a key tag with the word "Have you buy e-license yet?"

and attach it to your car key. Use that as a reminder.

Or just set reminder with alarm on your phone. Most of advanced phone in the market have that function.

You can just key it in while walking to your car. And you can even set daily reminder.

Dun think LTA will be that free to set up a system to remind user to buy coupon.

Remind you they earn $20 only... but if summon you they earn $500 and above.

And they no need to do much, just key into system and print and send by local postage to you.

Just accept it and pay the penalty. Take it as paying school fee and learn a lesson.

Dun be forgetful in future. Unless you got spare cash and wants to pay more school fees.

Or y not pay me the school fee, cheap cheap $200 a mth.

SMS/call me when you using the car on that day and I will send you 5 sms for each 2 days and 2 calls in the evening for 2 days.

But if never pickup call, not my problem. I provide reminder service only.

Can print for you sms and call logs...how about that? :D

or

Put $300 deposit with me. Pay me $100 admin fee+ cost of coupon a mth, call/sms me when you use, I help you buy e-license. :D

very honestly, i have ever been in situations where i was so busy that i forgot to eat my lunch and nearly my dinner

it was only extreme hunger and gastric during dinner time that i realized that i forgot to eat lunch and that it was already 9pm when i had thought it must be only 7

just because in YOUR opinion something is impossible, it doesn't mean that it is impossible for somebody else

so pls stop generalizing

most definitely there will be cases where people honestly forget, don't assume that people 'forget' to cheat the system

if i own an OPC car and i drove all over singapore the day before, very obviously i will be detected right?

why would i want to cheat when i already know very obviously that i will get fined?

i can think of hundreds of things that are more important than logging into the internet or going all the way to an axs machine to make payment

if your parent died, wife cheated on you, relative got into an accident, lost your job, etc

do you think that your top most priority is to go and make payment?

very honestly, i have ever been in situations where i was so busy that i forgot to eat my lunch and nearly my dinner

it was only extreme hunger and gastric during dinner time that i realized that i forgot to eat lunch and that it was already 9pm when i had thought it must be only 7

just because in YOUR opinion something is impossible, it doesn't mean that it is impossible for somebody else

so pls stop generalizing

most definitely there will be cases where people honestly forget, don't assume that people 'forget' to cheat the system

if i own an OPC car and i drove all over singapore the day before, very obviously i will be detected right?

why would i want to cheat when i already know very obviously that i will get fined?

i can think of hundreds of things that are more important than logging into the internet or going all the way to an axs machine to make payment

if your parent died, wife cheated on you, relative got into an accident, lost your job, etc

do you think that your top most priority is to go and make payment?

i suggest for ppl who r forgetful, set a note with alarm on yr mobile every time b4 u drive your car.

I understand ppl can be damn forgetful, my wife is one of them.... and its incredible how absentminded some ppl can get. its like x-file for my wife!