Kyox Neutral Newbie August 22, 2010 Share August 22, 2010 I'm hoping for some sort of miracle. Can anyone with similar previous experience share/PM me about the outcome of your case? Also, the car is under my mother's name but I'm the only one who can drive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SDU1106 Neutral Newbie September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I've settled this topic issue with LTA today. Anyone who is interested to know the process and the outcome can PM me for details. Hi, curious to know, dun mind pm me. tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 rumours has it that: cameras.... cameras you see attached to lamp post on highways, street cameras, erp gantries (the same camera they use to catch faulty IU cos once my IU has no response, it was dead and LTA still send me letter for inspection)... TP, LTA police they will take note of number and key into systems, once expire the dateline, here they come... (both TP and LTA police last time stop opc cars to check coupons i got see before) cameras found at causeways as well etc... as so rumours say also public volunteers who take pic or record car plate numbers and send to LTA....one of my frend consistantly doing this as he 'love' his part-time work....haha.....and LTA do reply his email about the actions being taken to 'fine' the ppl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christian10 Clutched September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 Sorry I'm new in these country. Whats is a OPC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 I think the overwhelming number of appeals citing forgetfulness as a reason to try and get the fine waived actually works against the entire population of OPC drivers who write in. LTA has a very hard time trying to apply a 'fair' standard in the assessment of this sea of applications. That LTA allows purchase of the license over 48 hours also covers any driver who cites the lack of time to buy. Other than these 2 reasons, I really don't see what else an appeal can be based on. Then again, I'm not under the scheme so I wouldn't imagine to understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 Sorry I'm new in these country. Whats is a OPC? It is a segregation introduced by LTA that together with ERP and COE conspire to control traffic. I would think it comes under the TP, which is an arm of the SPF, which I believe comes under the MHA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Sorry I'm new in these country. Whats is a OPC? OPC stands for Off-Peak Car. Easily identifiable on the roads by their ubiquitous red colour registration plates. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 To all who got summoned for failing to buy eday license..... I had forgotten to purchase the eday license for use in last week of May, spoke to LTA couple of days later, they said cannot do anything, must wait for letter to come. I just recd my letter few days ago requesting for drivers particulars... wow.. took more than 2 moths to send the letter. Just wondering if there are any demerit points for this offence ? And add to that last month my wife forgot to buy the license when she used it.... must wait again for 2nd letter.... . Would this be considered 2nd offence if it was a different driver ? or is it based on the car (2 offences using same car ???) there is no demrit points given... juz prepare to pay fine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baka_80 Neutral Newbie September 5, 2010 Share September 5, 2010 basically i think just pay S$118( for me is that amount) i pay thru the net onemotoring And wait few days for LTA to send u acknowledge letter and of cos the most important one the new Revised OPC road tax. den can drive freely on sat and eve of 5 Major PH namely 1. New YEAR 2. Lunar New year 3. hari raya PUASA ( haji NO NO NO NO) 4. Deepavali and finally 5. Xmas day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear September 5, 2010 Share September 5, 2010 I have a question. During restriction hours, I saw OPC moved in MSCP to help his friend jump start his car. OPC moved to connect his battery to his friend, then parked again. He didn't move more than 20 meters. Is that considered violation or not? this kind of good deed act also u want to be so particular meh..no offense lah bro,but he's only helping within that few meters and not driving around while cheating..wat if one day u are in an emergency and ur car needs a jumpstart and there's only an OPC owner in the carpark who die die wont help you? chill bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched September 5, 2010 Share September 5, 2010 to all revised opc scheme pals, remember that you can drive whole day on 09 Sep 10 (Eve of Hari Raya Puasa) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snl2601 Clutched September 5, 2010 Share September 5, 2010 to all revised opc scheme pals, remember that you can drive whole day on 09 Sep 10 (Eve of Hari Raya Puasa) consider major public holiday eve huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 yep just saw that Baka_80 also mentioned above Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samdo1978 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 hi guys...Do have a suggestion in regards to those keep forgetting to pay for the e-day licence..Perhaps LTA could come out with a GIRO based scheme whereby every month they deduct the payment for this eday licence thingy..Basically since they can track when we use Step 1 -->Tracking of usage of car during restricted hours Step 2 -->Calculation for the usage during restricted hours on a monthly basis Step 3 -->Deduction of payment thru GiRo Those who default on the payment for the eday licence is not allowed to renew their road tax.It do incurs extra manpower and resource to implement such a suggestion.It curbs those forgetfullness.Easy for us and easy money for the government.Guys,I do own an OPC Hyundai Avante,I buy an eday licence prior to using them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samdo1978 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 A Feedback Letter To LTA :) Dear Sir/Mam, I am writing in regards to the current Eday licence system that is in use currently.I am currently an owner of OPC Hyundai Avante.The Eday licence system is in use to replace the paper based day licence that was prone to abuse such as tampering with the licence to evade the buying of new day licence.The Eday licence has worked well for many of the users including me and my fellow friends who owned an OPC car.The various modes of buying the Eday licence has certainly made lifes easier for us instead of the usual routine of buying day licence over at the Singpost counter/LTA. However for a minority of the users as recorded in SgCarMar forums-http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?act=post&do=reply_post&f=1&t=2647041 Some users tend to have been forgotten to purchase the respective Eday licence due to hectic schedule or taking the chances.In addition the Online purchase through OneMotoring is down daily from 12AM-6AM.Hence I have thought of some suggestions which could be implement to reduce such incidence of non compliance to purchase of Eday Licence. Suggestion 1 With the current Eday Licence system,we have till the next day 2359 to purchase the Eday Licence.If we have forgotten ,LTA will have sent a letter in due course to explain the lapse as well as to settle the summon.Humans and machines are prone to errors.Lifes is becoming more hectic due to busy working schedule as well as family commitment.While users such as me and my friends choses to buy the Eday licence before using the OPC cars during the Restricted hours,some choses to purchase it later.In the process,some people tends to forget to purchase the Eday licence. My suggestion-LTA -Throught its automated SMS system,send an SMS as a reminder to the registered owner of the OPC car few hours before the cut off date for the purchase for the Eday licence.There is a need for an awknowledgement of the SMS.Once there is no awknowledgement,there will an IVR system initiating a call to the respective OPC car owner. Suggestion 2 In view of the various replies in the SgCarMart forum pertaining to the "forgetfullness" to buy the Eday licence,the Eday licence could be enhance through the following measures- 1)Since LTA is able to track down usage of OPC cars during the restricted hours,to implement a GIRO based system whereby the Eday licence payment is effected through GIRO/CreditCard on a monthly basis.In default of the payment,OPC car owners is barred/suspended from renewing their respective road tax.Such an implementation would incur additional resource/manpower.However,it would curb /reduce incidence of non-compliance to the OPC regulations.It would also reduce cases of people blaming errors in the system when buying the Eday licence.Such cases ofter fall under the grey area as it is hard to verify such claims. I do hope the authorities could kindly evaluate the above mentioned suggestion.I do believe feedback could enhance the current system.Through feedback,system is enhanced. Thank you Yours Sincerely Hafiz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 (edited) Unless they can be 100% sure can catch all OPC on the road during restricted hours, I think current system on let OPC owners buy e-coupon will still stay. Edited September 6, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 this 'forget' excuse bo pa kei oredi lah. tink LTA heard this excuse a few thousand times liao. last time it prob used to be 'forget to buy OPC coupon'. after buying, it was 'forget to tear OPC coupon'. now gahmen give u extra ways to buy + no need to tear + extra 24hrs to activate. still can forget? saman is a great memory booster sometimes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jowy_ham Neutral Newbie September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 (edited) The story goes : Last Thurs & Fri need to use car, bought 2 eDay licenses on 02-Sep evening, entered usage date for 1 eDay license as 02-Sep, leaving the other 1 for the next day (03-Sep). In the end, over the weekend, forgot to enter the usage date for the 2nd eDay license. This morning realised the lapse, quickly logon to OneMotoring to enter usage date but cannot liao. Immediately called LTA (7+am) to explain the situation, was informed by CSO that investigation officier will call me back later. Called LTA again @ 9~10am, was informed that investigation officier will revert within 1 working day. Called LTA again @ 5.45pm, was informed that investigation officier knocks off @ 4.30pm thus they will only get back tomorrow. Tonite dont need to sleep liao. Looking thru all the past posts, think is to "prepare $500 case liao", no more chance though I seriously hope that they review my case (all along has been buying eDay licenses without fail). Edited September 6, 2010 by Jowy_ham ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...