Drive-up Ipoh & Penang Dec'2009

Opel17

We followed our buddy for last minute drive-up to Ipoh & Penang on 19-21 Dec'2009.

I did not make sufficient planning for this trip, so did not manage to cover all the tourist attractions.

Like to share some photos, taken with JVC Everio memory camcorder.

Photos taken in Ipoh.

http://s631.photobucket.com/albums/uu36/op...mview=slideshow

Photos taken in Penang.

http://s631.photobucket.com/albums/uu36/op...mview=slideshow

Total distance : 1,611 km

Total petrol consumed : 124 liter

Total tolls : did not record.

Gd photos taken..

Shld b an enjoyable trip..

I hv nv driven up Ipoh/Penang. Is it a straightforward drive?

Since its an adhoc arrangement, how u manage to seek lodging?

Gd photos taken..

Shld b an enjoyable trip..

I hv nv driven up Ipoh/Penang. Is it a straightforward drive?

Since its an adhoc arrangement, how u manage to seek lodging?

The original plan was to spend 2 nights in Penang, but my buddy wish to drop-by his inlaw in Ipoh. Stayed with the inlaw for the 1st nite.

This was my 1st drive to Ipoh and Penang.

- on the 1st nite [in Ipoh] driving for dinner, our 2 cars got lost on the highway for 1hr, becos we did not enter a particular toll lanes, end up almost heading for Penang.

- so din have a good experience in Ipoh.

- mainly becos I was not prepared, din check Google map, not address in Ipoh to lock-in, no GPS.

- make a wrong turn, high chance of straying onto the highway.

The 2nd day, the drive to Penang was more straightforward, compared to Ipoh.

- becos I was prepared with Google map, locking-in to Hotel Grand Continental.

- the highway from Ipoh to Penang, look out for Georgetown/Pulau Pinang, which will lead you to the interchange, to Penang Bridge.

- at the Hotel lobby, pick up tourist brochure which provide a very good map and attractions.

- easy to navigate in Penang, becos alot of lanes to provide "turnaround" in case miss a turn, or got lost. Just don't head for the Penang Bridge, and you will still be in Penang :D

For Penang, we booked online [in advance] with Hotel Grand Continental with the information gathered from MCF topics.

Try looking for more information [hotels, attractions, maps, etc...] via this link http://www.penang-hotels.com/

* have more RM1 notes available, becos most roadside parkings are managed by attendants issuing receipts.

* try to allocate at least 2-3 nites for Penang, in order to explore more places.

* now that I had visited Penang, I still prefer Genting.

Thanks for sharing your pictures. More reasons to return to Ipoh the next time - Gua Tempurung, the largest limestone cave in MY, Kellie's Castle and Lost World of Tambun.

Thanks for sharing the pictures.

I have never visited Ipoh before though friends who are native there have been telling me about the nice food they have and some of the places that we can visit.

wah....u temple lover leh [:p]

Don't know the places well, so turn left see temple, turn right see temple, go straight see temple, temples everywhere :wub:

So just simply take some pictures for memory.

thank you for sharing all those photos taken in Ipoh and Penang.

I drove to Penang in 2000 in Honda Odessey, it was a beautiful drive. But now already retired can only afford Honda Civic. I am afraid on a long journey this old tired legs may get cramp.

Did you stop over for a night in any other station. I stop in KL for a night on the way up and at Malacca on the way back.

Have anyone drove to Kota Bahru recently and if you have, which route did you take? Is the road as good as the North-South highway? :D

Appreciate your input.

Thanks.

Ipoh actually is a nice little town with good food like

- bean sprout chicken

- Hor Fan etc.

Hor fan was especially tasty because of the quality of water there.

Other things to do include yester-year price hair wash, massage, foot reflec, car-servicing, change tyre.....wow so many things to do. It remind us what is living again. :)

It is only an hour away from Cameron highland.

do u mean e foot of CH?? [hur] cos iirc, it took mi 2 hrs from foot to mountain top. Tats why ve not got back since.....too slow of a drive [:p]

I am afraid on a long journey this old tired legs may get cramp.

Did you stop over for a night in any other station. I stop in KL for a night on the way up and at Malacca on the way back.

For long journey, take breaks according to your preference. Unlike coach, you have the freedom to stop anytime you like. Rest the engine, refresh the driver.

For this trip, my buddy wish to stop-over to visit his in-laws in Ipoh, and we stayed the night with them.

Otherwise, the original plan was to drive all the way to Penang. Set out early [eg. 5am] from SG, drive within speed limit, take 3-5 breaks, and reach Penang in the mid-noon.

The actual return was all the way from Penang [set out 11pm], 3 breaks, reach JB about 9pm.

So there is no need to have a night stop-over from SG-Penang, and Penang-SG.

Wow. Nice drive. I am planning to drive to penang too on 30.1.10 - 7.2.10. In between, will try to spend the first night at kl (only driver), next day proceed to penang and stay for 2-4 days. any fee for crossing the penang bridge? (are Kek Lok Si Temple and Penang Hill located after crossing the bridge?), thereafter mightbe heading to cameron highland or genting followed by desaru before coming back to singapore...driving a nissan sunny auto..think will be very tired!!!

one of my group fo friend who drive civic type R drive up to ipoh and penang too during ;last dec.

me?

i flyz up my whole family to hard rock hotel

Wow. Nice drive. I am planning to drive to penang too on 30.1.10 - 7.2.10. In between, will try to spend the first night at kl (only driver), next day proceed to penang and stay for 2-4 days. any fee for crossing the penang bridge? (are Kek Lok Si Temple and Penang Hill located after crossing the bridge?), thereafter mightbe heading to cameron highland or genting followed by desaru before coming back to singapore...driving a nissan sunny auto..think will be very tired!!!

If I go 2nd time, I prefer to set off very early direct all the way to Penang, spend the nite there, early next day can start to explore. Otherwise, from KL reach Penang maybe noon, 1/2 day wasted. Just my personal thought.

There is a toll fee for entering the Penang Bridge, did not take note how much, becos using TnG card. Since you are driving many places, suggest you top-up at least RM200. Otherwise, very troublesome if stuck in the TnG lane with insufficient value.

We dun have enough time to visit Kek Lok Si Temple and Penang Hill. They are both in the Penang Island, after crossing the bridge.

Take a look at this link, provided by others in MCF ---> http://www.malaysia-maps.com/penang/index.htm

Pick up a copy of "Tourist Information" [large magazine] from the hotel lobby. Very good map and attractions provided.

Remember bring extra RM1.00 and coins for the roadside parkings.

Enjoy your holiday !!

Singapore to Kota Bahru.

I take JB-Kota Tinggi- Mersing- Kuantan route. Stay 1 night in Kuantan. You can also use NSHW to Yong Peng then Segamat Kuantan.

Kuantan to Kuala Trangganu, the highway is faster compare with coastal road. The last time I used coastal road, about 200km took me over 3 hours. Reason being, there are countless of traffic light junctions along the way. But got seaview la.

KT to KB now very smooth. Not as good as NSHW but fast enough.

Then from Kota Bahru back to Singapore.

I take Kuala Krai-Gua Musang- Kuala Lipis- Raub- Bentong-Karak highway to KL. Then NSHW back to JB.

KB to KK to Gua Musang route quite good.

Gua Musang to Kuala Lipis quite slow. Smaller cc car need to use 2nd gear to go up hill if you happen to be blocked by a lorry and no chance to build up the momentum. Actually, it can be quite fun to drive. Challenge you car's power and handling.

After Kuala Lipis, it should be quite smooth and fast to KL.

Stop by Raub for its Indian fish head curry. Bestest. [thumbsup]