Migrating down under? Come share your experiences

Leslielai

NZ countryside are much more scenic than Australia and even more lay back. Seriously I wouldn't mind NZ but as i'm more familiar with Australia, i decided that's the place i want to go.

Don't say low pay job, make enough can liao. I rent out my 4rm HDB and got back 2k mthly but since A$ has appreciate 30% since i arrived, the value when converted only come out to be A$1.5k but it's a good supplement, just nice for the rental.

Good call. Whatever it is don't give up your HDB flat. It is CPF money working for you if you rent it out.

Erm.. I think, he IS the boss [laugh]

See what I mean by meaningful change/escape from the Sartrean Hell?

The mindset and change must take place. Singaporeans who are unable to adapt or change should give up the thought of migrating. For you have left Singapore but still brought along the Sartrean Hell that is Singapore along with you to whatever country you migrated to. Failure results. More bitterness and the resignation that you have to stay put in this Disneyland. Unreal. Plastic and artificial.

This makes me believe that the Singaporean is no different from the lab animals I have. They are genetically altered (our tragedy is conceived at childbirth mentality). Remove them from the environment that is Singapore and they cannot get the environment needed for their survival and they DIE. This government feeds us this environment that only the Singaporean can thrive. A change in the cage's temperature and the animal b1tches. So the government acts to make it comfy but there is a price. The exercise wheel must be run longer for this benefit etc.

You still need money to buy a 2nd property in OZ or else you'll need to pay high rental. Home loan % is high too....

of cos that is the assumption that u have full cash to pay up your OZ or NZ property. i pressume 300k-400k should be enough for a simple house?

It is more then enough unless you are talking about those inside the city areas. Sg have one of the most expensive properties market unless u want to compare to Hong Kong, Japan or Shanghai. The amount that we paid for a HDB can easily get a nice landed house in other country.

when i was in melb i happen to pass by one of their property agencies. picked up a brochure.

a 5 hectare land with a house in the middle cost AUD1.2M located in the suburbans( abt 2hrs from the city) a rather decent big house in the not too far from the city(abt 45mins) cost yupz $400k. a house near the city ard toorak area cost almost $1M, an apartment cost $400k

have a friend while studying there bought a GTR33 for $9k a celicaGT9 for $7k. his gf working there with UBS bought a new euroR for $29k.

Yep really is abt lifestyle. I can't comment on AU, but for NZ all that you say is correct (but don't be lulled into thinking work is easy - NZers are amongst the longest working in the world)

Cooking is not a big deal, just keep some leftovers and a loaf of bread, or it only takes 5 minutes to fry up some bacon for a bacon sandwich (I used to make bacon n eggs every weekend for wifey). Looking after the garden is kinda fun, and seeing plants grow is fabulous.

The biggest difference I feel is that when not at work, there are really a lot of "nature" things to do. Find that here all we ever do is go shopping - which I don't find that fun or relaxing (at least not when its all the time). A LOT of Singaporeans I talk to are simply not into the nature nature, they are more into the boardwalk kind of nature - which seems too controlled and contrived for my liking.

I find also one thing is that people are more "chin chye" back home (bo chap not quite the right word). They are more "this is how I am, this is how my house is, you dun like it your problem" - here I find people more concerned with others' opinions.

It could be due to my age, but I remember if visit friends and he happen to be busy say mowing lawns or whatever, visit would either be used as an excuse to take a break, or I would be set to work to help - and given a cold beer afterwards, which kinda sums up how life is.

A life like this is not for everyone - so do be warned.

This I have to agree with u, I had a friend that his whole family had mirgated to NZ but after a few years (about 2 or 3 can't really remember) decided to move back to Sg, I had ask him y and he told me it is too boring and he and his family can't really take it [laugh] . Luckily he never sell away his HDB.

It is more then enough unless you are talking about those inside the city areas. Sg have one of the most expensive properties market unless u want to compare to Hong Kong, Japan or Shanghai. The amount that we paid for a HDB can easily get a nice landed house in other country.

Not really, property prices here are not as cheap as before anymore. Prices has been driven up by rich new immigrant especially "China Chinese" and Indian, 200-300k can only get you a townhouse.

Inner city suburb (within 20km to City), you are looking at 400-500k at least for a 6000-10000sqft plot land and house. Like Spore, their primary & secondary school also got school zone restriction, so if you want your kids go to a good primary, you have to stay within 2-3km. This drive up the prices even higher for those good school zone suburb.

Not really, property prices here are not as cheap as before anymore. Prices has been driven up by rich new immigrant especially "China Chinese" and Indian, 200-300k can only get you a townhouse.

Inner city suburb (within 20km to City), you are looking at 400-500k at least for a 6000-10000sqft plot land and house. Like Spore, their primary & secondary school also got school zone restriction, so if you want your kids go to a good primary, you have to stay within 2-3km. This drive up the prices even higher for those good school zone suburb.

This is more or less confirmed when I arrived and picked up the newspaper with the headlines reading "Property too expensive for new home owners".

Guess the immigrant created problems for SG has gone south to AU as well.

Ya, I know but compare it to Sg....400-500k for a HDB...a 6000sqft house is cheap in Oz.

I am not sure about the school zone of so but most likely private international school still should be ok right?

This is more or less confirmed when I arrived and picked up the newspaper with the headlines reading "Property too expensive for new home owners".

Guess the immigrant created problems for SG has gone south to AU as well.

If you use your HDB contra, then not so bad. Lucky our pigeon hole still worth some money. If not, i think it's very expensive especially when the home loan are 8-9% now.

That why i say, rent first, stay for a year or 2 then decide where you want to buy your house.

If the home loan not 8-9% how can the Aussie banks generate the wonderful yields for their FD? [:p]

At least their banks still very traditional which in other words, boring. They don't have the hair-brained schemes of Pinnacle Notes etc. Returns should be based on something tangible.

The grass is always greener on the other side.

Only when you start chewing on it then you will realize the actual taste.

In today's world, migrating is the easy part, settling down is another story altogether.

Eh bro, must be fair to the govt la.. This CPF thing is actually a brilliant system. It's still your money at the end of the day.

Imo yes its ur money, u can use it to pay HDB for instance, but HDB price down the years inflated by the govt until so gross, all ur mthly CPF money will flow to pay ur HDB, in the end also into their own pocket, isn't it same as tax? It make u feel it belong to u but they come up with some brilliant method (eg. inflated HDB prices) to make it theirs forever.

Well..you can try the open market..and the inflation rate is even worse. In tier 1 cities in China, their apartments are already more expensive than our HDB flat and their newer generation cant really afford them anymore. Its not just Singapore.

Guys, anyone here has successfully migrated to New Zealand?

If you have, any stories to share espeically on settling down and finding jobs?

With a population of only around 4.7m against Singapore 5.2m (and moving towards 6m), I think I need to look for space and a more balance life.

Thanks

Edited by Icedbs

With a population of only around 4.7m against Singapore 5.2m (and moving towards 6m), I think I need to look for space and a more balance life.

Thanks

What do you wanna know about New Zealand...

I bees from there...any specific questions I can try to answer.

Thanks

NZ where got balance, its the extreme on the other end [laugh] [laugh]