Axela525 4th Gear December 19, 2009 Share December 19, 2009 Just came back from JB, confirm that shell station control 20 litres.....I went to Esso and pump another 20 litres...very leh chey....think I will reconsider to go in.....sianz...just for info... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sufercck Neutral Newbie December 19, 2009 Share December 19, 2009 (edited) i oso went in around 10+ jam to JB CIQ. from there i head to SHELL to fill up to 20L, however after the 20 L. my tank still can pump somemore, therefore i ask the attendant young chap to reset and let me pump again! haha guess what, i pump 2 x of 20 l to fill up my tank. haha no one check oso. not only i'm alone, beside me got one 320 Merc oso filled up to neck. Edited December 19, 2009 by Sufercck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaede44444 Neutral Newbie December 19, 2009 Share December 19, 2009 I can't imagine the Malaysia government actually come up with such a brilliant idea. It is SOOOO unbreakable. Who are they going to deter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 19, 2009 Share December 19, 2009 On 12/19/2009 at 9:47 PM, Kaede44444 said: I can't imagine the Malaysia government actually come up with such a brilliant idea. It is SOOOO unbreakable. Who are they going to deter? ================ I think this whole episode is just the politicians trying to gain some political points with the local under-norished population. maybe some kind of elections r around the corner. They know these under-privilidged like to see Sporeans get bashed cos they r really quite jealous of us in our shiny new cars n lots of RM to spend. Ministers know very well the rule wil not b enforced so no real harm done & everybody is happy in the end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 todays's sunday times - the rule does not apply ot SG registered cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 On 12/19/2009 at 9:47 PM, Kaede44444 said: I can't imagine the Malaysia government actually come up with such a brilliant idea. It is SOOOO unbreakable. Who are they going to deter? Aren't most rules breakable in singapore too? Just like no selling cigarette or liquor to under 18 in singapore. Do you actually think Singapore going to put an enforcer in every minimart, NTUC, 7/11 when they thought of this rule? The MY Government don't need to fully enforce the rule, just catch a few to be scapegoat and publicize it with details of the the penalty they are receiving to deter rest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 On 12/19/2009 at 5:50 PM, Sufercck said: i oso went in around 10+ jam to JB CIQ. from there i head to SHELL to fill up to 20L, however after the 20 L. my tank still can pump somemore, therefore i ask the attendant young chap to reset and let me pump again! haha guess what, i pump 2 x of 20 l to fill up my tank. haha no one check oso. not only i'm alone, beside me got one 320 Merc oso filled up to neck. Wats the penalty if kanna caught? Bo leh settle? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 On 12/20/2009 at 2:30 AM, Yaloryalor said: Wats the penalty if kanna caught? Bo leh settle? at most pay a fine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 there is more in JB that can offer other than cheaper fuel.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 So many threads on this same topic! But yeah, same experience for me when I was there last week to service my car. Pumped 20L upon entering the country, and another 10L or so on the way out. I do not regularly pump JB petrol, most of the time, I go there for their car workshops, scrapyards and the occasional makan/shopping spree. Still, I find there's such an easy way around that silly 20L rule! Maybe it isn't silly afterall! Maybe it's something that they planned all along! A hidden agenda behind every policy...hmmm...think I've been watching too much Zeitgeist! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 good for me. one less reason to go JB. the food and movies still tempting though. i guess i shd just save up for good home theatre system to enjoy the movies on my HDD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 (edited) On 12/20/2009 at 12:11 PM, Boyboy said: good for me. one less reason to go JB. the food and movies still tempting though. i guess i shd just save up for good home theatre system to enjoy the movies on my HDD Bro, never read the news ar? The petrol restriction DOES NOT APPLY TO SG CARS but the kisoks in JB KIASI... Just apply first while wait LONG LONG for confirmation from Boleh government to confirm... Anyway, there are so many different petrol kisoks near to each other in jb.. jst pump first when go in and later pump again when leaving JB loh... Confirm full tank one. Edited December 21, 2009 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Installnfeelgreat Neutral Newbie December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Confirm applies to singapore cars for pumping only 20 Litres of petrol. I went there last night at 8.30pm. A massive jam thro and flow at JB checkpoint at 8.30pm and came out at 10pm. Observed from one motoring.com cam, found out 11pm to 1am, a massive jam form at Spore custom entering spore. http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...&sec=nation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 (edited) On 12/21/2009 at 2:01 AM, Installnfeelgreat said: Confirm applies to singapore cars for pumping only 20 Litres of petrol. I went there last night at 8.30pm. A massive jam thro and flow at JB checkpoint at 8.30pm and came out at 10pm. Observed from one motoring.com cam, found out 11pm to 1am, a massive jam form at Spore custom entering spore. http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...&sec=nation Policy change again? Yesterday newspaper just print BIG BIG taht sg cars not restricted to 20L but the petrol kisoks just go ahead with the limitation... Silly Boleh government.... Edited December 21, 2009 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 The rule is to deter Thailand from driving into Ipoh and buying in bulk. But since SG nicer to bully....so put spot light on SG lor. Anyway....3/4 tank....most cars would not exceed 20L. Only those who large 60~80L conti cars like Merc or BMW would not be enuff. Then again...what is stopping them from petrol station hopping to get their tanks filled ? In order for this to work, they have to check every car leaving M'sia....but since SG cars go in with 3/4 tank...its a redundant move to check SG cars. So they say SG cars exempted from the check. They will still enforce the 20L cos they also dun wanna offend Thailand by picking just on Thai cars. The fine for petrol station operators is RM250,000 and RM10,000 for motorist caught. Just another reason for the enforcement officers to get extra pocket money IMHO.... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Confirm apply to Singapore cars. I saw the official letter pasted in the kiosk which I went to. It was written in Malay by some Msian gov. officer. It stated that it applies to all FOREIGN registered vehicles. Both petrol and diesel limited to 20L within 50km raidus from the border. This rule starts on the 16th Dec 2009. You can try to break the rule by asking the attendent to pump more or whatever, but IMO, not worth it. Who knows if the attendent may turn around and blackmail you instead and ask for another $100 to shut his mouth? In Msia anything goes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Confusion Confusion Confusion. Aiya...........just dont go in lor. Anyway its still the school holidays, jams are 24/7 during this period. So far went in only twice this mth. For a Genting trip and a normal Sunday outing at Jusco. The jam is terrible!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 keep reading the same thing... haiz.... SG cars not included in this new ruling that was meant for thai vehicles and was mentions in the news on the 17th Dec one day after they mention 20liter cap on the 16th Dec but the STUPID petrol ststions kanna confused until dont know wtf is going on and with a RM$250,000 fine nobody wants to take the risk to allow to pump more than 20liters... haiz....... so many other things to talk about pls... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...