Skunk Clutched December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 It depends...For instance, if a Singaporean commits an offence overseas, you can't charge him here under Singapore law (unless you are talking about child sexual offences in Batam of course)....So lets say if you are arrested overseas for an offence...it is the law of that country that deals with you....And you normally won't be charged in Singapore after you've been dealt with in that country... we're talking about people with diplomatic immunity, not the ordinary citizen. U need to read carefully. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 U are wrong. Diplomatic immunity is extended to the diplomats, but not to the driver, who is probably local or on work permit. If the diplomat REALLY is the driver that caused the accident, then will have to see what immunity was extended to him. No such thing as cannot do anything. if Im not wrong.... even TP cant do anything to those "CD" platter... what they can do is just complain to their country's foreign ministry. whether action is taken or not, thats another thing.... thats y dun ever get involved with these cars. I always siam far far whenever i see CD plate on the road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 we're talking about people with diplomatic immunity, not the ordinary citizen. U need to read carefully. Yup..I did...thats why I mentioned for Diplomatic staff, sending state is not obligated to punish the staff... Hmmm...I was trying to be polite by pointing out the error in your post...but heck..you need to know more before giving wrong info.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear December 15, 2009 Author Share December 15, 2009 (edited) yeah....hope our TP can do something no matter is diplomats or what...3 human lives at stake... here's there news in SHin MIN... sm.bmp sm.jpg.bmp Edited December 15, 2009 by Berncsp76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 I was referring to this statement....you are giving people the wrong impression that the sending state would charge the offender which is often not the case... yes, they are above our country's laws in some ways, but not above their own country's laws. And even though the crime is committed in a foreign land, they can be charged under their own country's laws. So in a way, they are not immune from punishment. If the driver mentioned is caught, good luck to his job LOL i think it's the end of his career. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sw20 2nd Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 U are wrong. Diplomatic immunity is extended to the diplomats, but not to the driver, who is probably local or on work permit. If the diplomat REALLY is the driver that caused the accident, then will have to see what immunity was extended to him. No such thing as cannot do anything. The diplomat could pay some poor singapore $20k to be the scape goat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 Hmmm...I was trying to be polite by pointing out the error in your post...but heck..you need to know more before giving wrong info.... hmm....maybe u need eyeball surgery? I specifically mentioned they CAN be charged, i didn't say they WILL be charged. To be charged or not depends on their own government's decision. u need to read carefully before telling people that they are wrong. GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 I remember one case back in New Zealand some time ago, diplomat driving embassy car, driving drunk, got out of car, urinated over bonnet in front of TP. Created big hoo ha, his own country cancelled his diplomat immunity and he was charged under NZ law. (if I remember the case correctly - this was abt 14 or 15 years ago) So not that cannot do, sometimes if do something that bring own country into disrepute can also be like that one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 i like that that's the way man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 geez..i really hope justice is done. hope to heard some news tmr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear December 15, 2009 Author Share December 15, 2009 bmp can see anot huh?I upload the jpg file.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverspark Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 thanx for the newspaper article bro. really hope justice can be done. 3 lives here. their families must be in grief. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 You are talking nonsense again... By saying they "Can" be charged...you mean to say that the sending country's laws provide for the the diplomat to be charged in their own country for offenses committed in another state?? Well...name the country and the Act pls...Any legal reference? Or just supposition? I know what I;m talking about...do you? hmm....maybe u need eyeball surgery? I specifically mentioned they CAN be charged, i didn't say they WILL be charged. To be charged or not depends on their own government's decision. u need to read carefully before telling people that they are wrong. GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 (edited) Actually, it depends if the diplomat is inside the car when it happens. If it is then only the Country where the diplomat is from deals with the matter with a complaint from our TP. If diplomat is not in car, it can be treated like all other normal road accidents. Usually when diplomat is in the car, the flag is hung. Do note this is only extended to diplomat, not all embassy staff. Thus it may be CD plate but driven by embassy staff, this is not above the laws of the country they are in at that point of time. Similarly if a diplomat rents and stays in a landed property, the whole property is viewed to be under the laws of the native Country the diplomat is from. They can use satellite dish in house, do all the funny stuff in house. This does not apply if the diplomat chooses to stay in Condo. Edited December 15, 2009 by Unltd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 Oh another thing, whats with the fixation on eyeballs? Whenever you feel slighted or offended, you threaten to cut someone else' eyes?? hmm....maybe u need eyeball surgery? I specifically mentioned they CAN be charged, i didn't say they WILL be charged. To be charged or not depends on their own government's decision. u need to read carefully before telling people that they are wrong. GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 U are wrong. Diplomatic immunity is extended to the diplomats, but not to the driver, who is probably local or on work permit. If the diplomat REALLY is the driver that caused the accident, then will have to see what immunity was extended to him. No such thing as cannot do anything. of cos lah, if the driver is not a diplomats, of cos no special rights lah. otherwise any tom dick and harry can take his car can go n kill someone and immune frm local law liao... but something learned today... the immunity of diplomat is limited to certain extent. i tot is above all local laws like wat other member mentioned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 I remember one case back in New Zealand some time ago, diplomat driving embassy car, driving drunk, got out of car, urinated over bonnet in front of TP. Created big hoo ha, his own country cancelled his diplomat immunity and he was charged under NZ law. (if I remember the case correctly - this was abt 14 or 15 years ago) So not that cannot do, sometimes if do something that bring own country into disrepute can also be like that one... wah lao... this is too extreme liao lah, pee on TP car... if Im his boss (the foreign minister I guess??) I will also make him kena jialat jialat lah. that diplomat its basically a disgrace to the country... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zac Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 lol pee on bonnet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...