Office politics...

Yorkshire

Politics has been around for centuries and it will continue for the longest time.

My view is for those backstabbers better beware coz the world is very small.

Once U backstab, people will know and be aware of you. They will start gossiping and tell the rest about your "good deeds"

It is best not to create any bad blood or friction among colleagues/vendors/agents/clients/suppliers etc coz one day our paths may cross and U will need their help.

a blanket kind of statement

Given a choice...leave...

Reasons :

you dont learn anything...& your altitude worsens

companies rife with office politics wouldnt survive long...(i know there are plenty of MNC that continue to operate)

Edited by Breezycity

jus a couple of days ago there was like a certain conflict abt the gers in my office.

apparently one of them is getting married on boxing day. however she initially invited those that she wants to invite like almost 5mths ago. so suddenly 2mths ago she started asking everyone else. in a way the remaining sees her intention as wanting to fill the seats up for her banquet. so many rejected her outright.

couple of days back, she brought her album to the office to show the colleagues. however, she chose to show those who are coming only. so this started the war. she initially didnt specify her intentions so one of the gers unknowlingly show the album to the others gers. she in the end got yelled at. this action i deem it as absolute unecessary actually.

so the gers got really unhappy and started bitching behind her back to me. u can imagine, one by one drop by my cubicle to complain. piangz...

i chose to remain neutral thou i feel the actions of bride to be was not gracious. just listen nod and shake head. :D

such conflicts will just wear off and heal given time.. but for those despicable ones that go outright to instill damages to one's integrity and performance in work will leave a far more lasting effect to get over with... that itself is something that i despise..

i guess this conflict and unhappiness happened not only on this occasion. it took actually a few other clashes

jus a couple of days ago there was like a certain conflict abt the gers in my office.

apparently one of them is getting married on boxing day. however she initially invited those that she wants to invite like almost 5mths ago. so suddenly 2mths ago she started asking everyone else. in a way the remaining sees her intention as wanting to fill the seats up for her banquet. so many rejected her outright.

couple of days back, she brought her album to the office to show the colleagues. however, she chose to show those who are coming only. so this started the war. she initially didnt specify her intentions so one of the gers unknowlingly show the album to the others gers. she in the end got yelled at. this action i deem it as absolute unecessary actually.

so the gers got really unhappy and started bitching behind her back to me. u can imagine, one by one drop by my cubicle to complain. piangz...

i chose to remain neutral thou i feel the actions of bride to be was not gracious. just listen nod and shake head. :D

You still got time to listen to them bitch? I couldn't even give a crap to the woman in my office, everyday in and out is nothing but pure crap.

One of them, working upstairs, think she';s so farking pretty, thinks the world of herself, but cannot do anything one, everyday sit there looking pretty,

well, think she is, ask her do work, half the time she's planning on hwo to make work easier, by cross crossing the OLD system of doing things,

and end up with her own bloody system, and it doesn't get the work done any faster then the usual way, which has been in place for donkey years now. (Tried and tested)

and when she writes a email to you, you spend half the time trying to understand the damn written English, which in the end doesn't make any sense at all.

I stick up a "RESTRICTED ACCESS, ONLY AUTHORIZED PERSONNEL ALLOWED" (you saw it the last time you came my office) on my server room, which is also my office

so I don't get people of this nature coming and washing my time. I don't take sides either, if step on my tail with regards to work, right is right, wrong is wrong, I will not keep quite, end of the day, not happy, job gone only.

Don't waste time lah, 6pm, leave the office and leave everything to do with the office in the office. It's work, not a lifestyle.

You still got time to listen to them bitch? I couldn't even give a crap to the woman in my office, everyday in and out is nothing but pure crap.

One of them, working upstairs, think she';s so farking pretty, thinks the world of herself, but cannot do anything one, everyday sit there looking pretty,

well, think she is, ask her do work, half the time she's planning on hwo to make work easier, by cross crossing the OLD system of doing things,

and end up with her own bloody system, and it doesn't get the work done any faster then the usual way, which has been in place for donkey years now. (Tried and tested)

and when she writes a email to you, you spend half the time trying to understand the damn written English, which in the end doesn't make any sense at all.

I stick up a "RESTRICTED ACCESS, ONLY AUTHORIZED PERSONNEL ALLOWED" (you saw it the last time you came my office) on my server room, which is also my office

so I don't get people of this nature coming and washing my time. I don't take sides either, if step on my tail with regards to work, right is right, wrong is wrong, I will not keep quite, end of the day, not happy, job gone only.

Don't waste time lah, 6pm, leave the office and leave everything to do with the office in the office. It's work, not a lifestyle.

bo pian me small fry + youngest in the company.... however as i nod and shake my head, my eyes are glued to the screen. [laugh]

also mine cubicle only mah.. so they bitch i hear. <_<

just to share.. i was like you! and believe me, it didn't work out very well... [:|]

well.. different environment, didn't work for me but could be wonders for others..

i believe.. colleagues can never be friends, and friends better not become colleagues.. most of the time..

ok, there are exception cases.. i have a good honest friend, was an ex-colleague of mine [:p]

affair with female colleagues is another thing though.. [grin]

Do what you think protect the interest of your family at the end of the day. Playing against the forces to reckon may make you a hero in the eyes of the oppressed...by end of the day when you get show the door out, the words of comfort or sympathy can't feed your family [cool]

excellent advice

practical step to take in this urban jungle

i believe.. colleagues can never be friends, and friends better not become colleagues.. most of the time..

ok, there are exception cases.. i have a good honest friend, was an ex-colleague of mine [:p]

affair with female colleagues is another thing though.. [grin]

i try and maintain a working relationship only with my colleagues. when my friend ask for recommendation, i will try to avoid also. but most of my friends are in different industry thou.

abt affairs... dont eat and sh1t at the same place la... :D

well.. regretted my moment of folly many years back.. hooked up with a hot divorced gal at my ex-company, needless to say that i became a "d**khead" in the eyes of female colleagues, but the "you-da-man!" amongst male peers :wacko:

ok.. the "birds & the bees" were fantastic! :D

Edited by Yorkshire

u neber fark her upside down meh?? [sly][laugh]

I feel female colleagues are most difficult to deal with. It's peaceful at my side but girls can come out with something from nothing. We have our own job scope and schedule, so our work load differs time to time.

When they are more busy than me, they will complain why is boss so unfair and say why didn't I help them.

When I'm more busy than them, they will keep quiet and surf net, surf facebook, pretend not to see me doing things.

One thing is we seldom do OT, even if we are very busy, most of the time can knock off on-the-dot. If they do slight OT, they will feel they are extremely hardworking and unhappy.

Now they are not happy with the bonus I'm getting, say it's unfair. I should be getting lesser than them and not on par or more.

seriously, si buay boh leow [shakehead]

for me, i think wedding will only invite people who are close and will give u their blessings. no point invite people who fill up the seats. so the bride to be deserve it. [smash]

bo pian me small fry + youngest in the company.... however as i nod and shake my head, my eyes are glued to the screen. [laugh]

also mine cubicle only mah.. so they bitch i hear. <_<

I got no time for them. Besides, I don't need peopel to talk behind my back that I have some relationship with this or that person,

my family always comes first.

just to share.. i was like you! and believe me, it didn't work out very well... [:|]

well.. different environment, didn't work for me but could be wonders for others..

I'm deemed as "unapproachable" and I prefer it this way. Like I said, work is work,

Keeps these people away from me and I get my work done on time and well.