Generation X?

Thargor

Had a chat with a friend recently, his wife just gave birth to a girl and being a father-to-be soon myself, I tried to engage him to discuss more about his future plans for his daughter.

His reply was pretty short and simple..."My next plan for my family will be an XYZ country address, this place doesn't hold much for me anymore".

His reply is quite typical for my generation or rather group of friends who are educated middle class folks stuck in the bracket with no way up the ladder but instead trying our best not to slip down the ranks.

Unlike some folks who are very well informed with regards to national policies, we usually skip the politics/national building part of the news. Those are good to know...but not need to know. While we can see the rationale for foreign talent policies, we have no opinions on them...not because we can't form our own objective judgement but rather simply because we do not care.

I always read with some level of amusements on political inclined threads in the forum. For an opinionated person like me, some of you must be wondering why do I hardly comment on such threads. The reason is simple, I do not care. I do not care who is running my estates..what are the current policies, pending policies or the unavoidable policies in future. Some of you may say that regardless of my attitude or lack of attitude...the policies do impact me and my family. Agree on that but my point is, whatever the impact whether positive or not...folks like me will just go along with it...neither agreeing or disagreeing...if we get some money out of it (e.g. SG shares), that means a nice weekend dinner. If we end up paying more (e.g. GST), we fit it into our budget and live with it. Even CPF policies changes doesnt really bother us much, anyway we are using the limits of our monthly CPF for housing payment....do we care about how the policies are like now? Nope...not at all. Whatever changes come, we go along with it.

I was young once...and passionate about Singapore once...and concerned about policies and such. I am not sure when did I start to get so nonchalant about things. Will I consider leaving Singapore? Well at least I am not even considering now, not with our parents still around. Filial piety ranks high in my list, so does family ties and love. So does helping the less fortunate and poor.

Maybe you may think i am very micro narrow-minded. Well my reply to you is...ermm frankly I am not sure what my reply will be. Because honestly, I stop caring a long time ago. -_-

Edited by Thargor

Seeing you have reached that point of helping others, I say good for you, you have arrived. PPL get into philantrophical behavior when their Maslow's needs have been fulfilled.

Same here, I am now nonchalant and honestly, it is to each his own. It is a jungle out there, and thus, survival of the fittest. Dun go looking for the gahmen for every nook and cranny of problems u face. Look inward and think out of the box to salvage yourself.

To all, this is another year here in MCF. Have a blessed end of the year and best wishes for 2010

Hehe...ermm good question... I think generation X should refer to those 30-45 right? Those below 30 is definitely generation Y.....someone please correct me if I am wrong [laugh]

1960-1969 - Baby boomers (1969 was the BESTEST year [laugh][laugh] )

!970-1979 - Gen X

1980-1989 - Gen Y

1990-1999 - Gen Z

This what I read somewhere

Generation X is the term for people born in the Western world after WWII (1961-1981). Generation Y (1982-1995) is the group you are a part of. Generation Y is generally considered to be the last generation of Americans wholly born in the 20th century.

i have the impression that generation x was referring to those born in between 1961 to 1970.. earlier than that will be generation w.. :D

[laugh] you may be right...Gen X are those 1961 to 1981....so me also X lor

LOL... i've to agree on that part.. ok, i'll come clean, i'm 40.. so who belongs to the unique "69" group? [cool]

[laugh] Steady lah...All hands and legs up here too [laugh][laugh]

69 was very eventful actually...and the lau tikos nothing to do with the erotica position hor <_<

Seeing you have reached that point of helping others, I say good for you, you have arrived. PPL get into philantrophical behavior when their Maslow's needs have been fulfilled.

Same here, I am now nonchalant and honestly, it is to each his own. It is a jungle out there, and thus, survival of the fittest. Dun go looking for the gahmen for every nook and cranny of problems u face. Look inward and think out of the box to salvage yourself.

To all, this is another year here in MCF. Have a blessed end of the year and best wishes for 2010

Caught a TV reality show last night...the MediaCorp crew were trying to help them improve their life. The father is doing odd jobs as he's battling multiple long term illness, the mum is mentally unstable due to depression, the son is only 12 years old and he's so totally understanding and all that he wishes for is for his father to recover. Their house is so rundown it's not fit for living...fleas, ants, bugs and all the nasty pest have inflested the house (even inside the wall) and they are living in such conditions for 3 years. I got pretty upset at the scene...was watchin the programme with my wife and it was only my pride as a man that held back the tears....

On the other end, I read a news this morning about how Singapore is the 4th most ideal choice for expats...

Of the 2 above, the first case really touches my heart and I told my wife when our expenses are less tight, we will help the less unfortunate more...help one at a time. The 2nd news, frankly I read it and somehow it doesn't register in my head....yes I do not care how metropolitan Singapore has became...it doesn't matter to me because I simply refused to care anymore.

Think I have mentioned it before, I worked in one of the largest global MNC in the world. All around me, I am surrounded by really rich folks...mostly FT. While to some folks, a trip to Penang for holiday at yr end is a big deal...something the whole family will look forward to for the whole year...for some of my colleagues, a weekend trip to Tokyo for food is normal (nevermind they just went to Tokyo 3 months back). Don't get me wrong, I don't get jealous or envy. It's so commonplace that I stopped having any opinions about it.

However, the moment I stepped out of the office...I see old men in their 70s...with hair all whites and still running around as courier boy...under the hot blazing sun.

I hope I make sense, kinda find it difficult to express my feelings...haha which is not often considering what an opinionated b------d I am [:p]

Edited by Thargor

I also dont really care about the what policy the govt use to push out. But then when I have a family meaning kids, well it certainly concern me now since expense go up and money become more scared..Need to understand how those pro-family policy help or affect me like baby bonus, child care leave etc and lastly how those policy going to impact my kids...Obviously I don't want my kids to be born and breed and end of the days feeling been the lesser class of the society. Every parent will want the best for their off-springs

Heheh baby bonus, child care leave, maternity, paternity leave I care about alot also. [cool]