English5b Neutral Newbie December 12, 2009 Share December 12, 2009 I think their serious problem is at Thai border, they want to stop "subsidizing" foreign car owners. Fair enough, but I don't see how their new policy will work. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear December 12, 2009 Share December 12, 2009 Regardless towards north or south, if the ruling is fair and logical, then its understandable. I don't hide my disappointment of not being able to pump full tank on way back but lets wait and see as the answer to this equation is still not balanced. Personally, I don't see how its going to benefit the Johor economy based on the current information gathered. Then again, if this is how this love-hate relationship between 2 sides are being played, then i rather pump my money back to Singapore economy. No more road trips up north for weekend getaways (at least for now). This also means that I have to be careful and plan extra well just to visit my grandparents in law in JB so as not be caught for either 2 of the so called 'policy' and ruling. My Msia colleague driving SGP vehicle is now scratching his head on how to interprete this situation. I am sure many Msian working and driving SGP car is wondering as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acevin Clutched December 12, 2009 Share December 12, 2009 I dun think this will roll out.. If not wrong, boleh land had been talking abt this for sometime and still status quo.. Frankly then shld think many times cz it will kill their economy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 12, 2009 Share December 12, 2009 I think their serious problem is at Thai border, they want to stop "subsidizing" foreign car owners. Fair enough, but I don't see how their new policy will work. =================== Yes I too think their more serious problem is at the Thai border but maybe they must show "fairness" & implement at all borders. Even in East MY they face same problem. As usual, most of their policies dont work cos they just like to tok c0ck & cant think things tru & work out all the details. Too troublesome to think so hard. Wait they get headache then how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 erm.this morning around 5+ i headed into JB via 2nd link .from then until about 8.30am which is about 3 hrs i head out of malaysia and back into singapore.i pumped at shell which amts to a total of around 50 litres ,which at that time my fuel light comes up . journey goes like this SG --> kulai/senai --> JB and back to SG.where got pple check ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 They have not implemented the new rule yet. The ministry in charge of this will meet up with the petrol station operators to hear their opinions first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 erm.this morning around 5+ i headed into JB via 2nd link .from then until about 8.30am which is about 3 hrs i head out of malaysia and back into singapore.i pumped at shell which amts to a total of around 50 litres ,which at that time my fuel light comes up . journey goes like this SG --> kulai/senai --> JB and back to SG.where got pple check ? Which means you entered into My in a near empty tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 (edited) Which means you entered into My in a near empty tank. wrong. my car is pretty petrol thirsty + - about 6km/L if i m heavy on foot.full tank is somewhere around 55L.running on 800cc injectors. went it at 3/4 tank and they check all the cars infront of me this morning .whacking from 2nd gear onwards to 8k rpm each .good way to de stress. Edited December 13, 2009 by Rb26dett Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 I reckon that once the restriction is imposed, black market for My fuel will surface. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 wrong. my car is pretty petrol thirsty + - about 6km/L if i m heavy on foot.full tank is somewhere around 55L.running on 800cc injectors. went it at 3/4 tank and they check all the cars infront of me this morning .whacking from 2nd gear onwards to 8k rpm each .good way to de stress. Any car that does 6km/l would be a boy's dream car as long as there are sufficient moola to keep it running. Nice ride. So they are now more active in checking the position of the fuel needle? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 Today's papers just reported that the petrol station owners were only recently asked to attend a briefing about implementing the new rule. So its not started. erm.this morning around 5+ i headed into JB via 2nd link .from then until about 8.30am which is about 3 hrs i head out of malaysia and back into singapore.i pumped at shell which amts to a total of around 50 litres ,which at that time my fuel light comes up . journey goes like this SG --> kulai/senai --> JB and back to SG.where got pple check ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 Today's papers just reported that the petrol station owners were only recently asked to attend a briefing about implementing the new rule. So its not started. and some JB MPs making noise....aiyah wayang oni lah..guarantee u-turn again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 wrong. my car is pretty petrol thirsty + - about 6km/L if i m heavy on foot.full tank is somewhere around 55L.running on 800cc injectors. went it at 3/4 tank and they check all the cars infront of me this morning .whacking from 2nd gear onwards to 8k rpm each .good way to de stress. Say your fuel gauge is in between 3/4 and 1/2, would the officers pull your over and give you a summon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 Just heard the Ch8 news that the rule will be implemented TOMORROW 16 DEC 2009. Stay tuned... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gobbler Clutched December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 ya, ch 8 & CNA mentioned Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anavar Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 hahahah..no more jam .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 lj plan. go in full tank and only go shopping never top their oil den i must empty out and left only 20L ? lj bodoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bencts 2nd Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 taken from The Edge http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/political-n...-20-litres.html ----------------- KUALA LUMPUR: To curb the smuggling of petroleum products, the government will limit foreign cars to 20 litres of petrol or diesel as soon as possible. As a result of the difference in prices of petrol and diesel between Malaysia and its neighbours, smuggling of the items had increased, said Domestic Trade and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob today. "Malaysia's subsidised petroleum is only meant for its people and it is not fair that (other) people take advantage of this," Ismail Sabri told reporters in the parliament lobby. According to Ismail Sabri, the ministry will limit the sale of petrol and diesel to foreign registered vehicles to 20 litres per petrol station. The restriction covers petrol stations within a 50km radius of border entry points. "And to ensure that this is not abused by a person going to different stations and buying 20 litres at each one, the limit will be monitored at the border points," said the minister. "Vehicles going in and out of the country will be checked to ensure that there are only 20 litres in the vehicles when they exit Malaysia." The restriction will be implemented at all of Malaysia's border points with Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia. According to the minister, local prices for petrol and diesel were far lower than in neighbouring countries. RON 95 is priced at RM1.80 in Malaysia, RM4.01 in Thailand, RM4.31 in Singapore, RM2.26 in Indonesia and RM5.49 in the Philippines. Diesel is sold at RM1.70 in Malaysia, RM2.76 in Thailand, RM3.04 in Singapore, RM2.58 in Indonesia and RM3.99 in the Philippines. The figures were supplied by the ministry and were taken as at November 2009. When asked how the limit would be implemented for Malaysians working in Singapore or Thailand who owned foreign registered vehicles, Ismail Sabri said the ministry was working on another system. "We are trying to see if petrol stations can check their identity cards at the point of purchase," he explained. ---------------------- ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...