Cannot bring out more than 20 litre of petrol from JB to SG

Flyerking

KUALA LUMPUR: Foreign-registered vehicles will only be allowed to pump maximum 20 litres of fuel when travelling within 50km radius from the border, said Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

Enforcement authorities at the checkpoints were also directed to ensure such vehicles leave the country with no more than 20 litres of fuel in each tank, said the Domestic, Trade, Co-operative and Consumerism Minister.

Ministry officers were in the midst of issuing a circular on the matter to petrol stations in affected areas.

"This measure is to curb increasing cases of fuel smuggling, as the prices for fuel are subsidised and cheaper compared to prices set by neighbouring countries such as in Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia," he said.

THAT means if u go in with 3/4 tank of petrol ( about 30 litre ) under Singapore ruling, you have to throw your petrol somewhere or burn it before you can leave Malaysia and return to Singapore under Malaysia ruling. Very stressed lifestyle.. Here government make us go over with 3/4 tank and there the government make us return with 20 litre maximum ( 1/3 tank ) . Indeed, Singaporeans are suckers being pushed around everywhere in our own countries and other countries.

The Singapore government must be smiling and preparing for another major "upsize" of salaries since billions of petrol dollars will flow from Malaysia into Singapore coffers even when the Sg government did absolutely nothing. No wonder they are the best paid in the world.

how they going to check that petrol in ur tank, 20L belongs to M'sia?? Unless SG car can only pump 20L at m'sia kiosk. But if that's the case, but pump 20L liao can go somewhere and pump again..

like tat no need come home liao. go in 3/4 tank. planning to for a dinner but at custom. tell u need 1/4 tank then can let u pass. then u need to drive around aimlessly for 200km before u can come home. WTH... This rule cannot work lar...

Edited by Intel

like tat no need come home liao. go in 3/4 tank. planning to for a dinner but at custom. tell u need 1/4 tank then can let u pass. then u need to drive around aimlessly for 200km before u can come home. WTH... This rule cannot work lar...

Precisely, bet the whole surrounding area near the JB checkpoint with be flooded with SG cars driving around aimlessy, "rounding" which most call it. [laugh]

Machiam like plane needing to dump fuel before landing if they are overweight...

This is so stupid!!!

Solution, temper the fuel guage. Button 1, move needle to 3/4. Button 2, move needle to 1/4. Settle liao!!

I don't how they intend to enforce it. Have to see more details from M'sian gov. It will be easier to go by 1/4 tank, 1/2 tank, etc.... or limit to max 20l of petrol within a certain perimeter from the border.

Machiam like plane needing to dump fuel before landing if they are overweight...

This is so stupid!!!

Solution, temper the fuel guage. Button 1, move needle to 3/4. Button 2, move needle to 1/4. Settle liao!!

What this "temper" you talk about hor? My fuel gauge go JB every day happy happy one!

In all seriousness though the guy is talking out his backside and making about as much sense as a rabid sheep. No need to even discuss here because it is not feasible and practical to police.

Can already see what happen when one day check for oil n sugar, jam until can cry. Imagine if try to measure fuel!!

Just trying to play to locals lor...later will quietly die out.

some confusion here..

1)max 20L of petrol allowed to be pump in which the receipt can be used as proof

OR

2)only max 20L of petrol is allowed in ur petrol tank when leaving msia which fellow forumers have alr mentioned it is almost impossible to proof..

since my birth...i only know and respect them (Mahathir) for one decision...currency control during one of the economy crisis....economist say he sure die...the whole world say sure die....he went against all this...and it works....all those talk c_o_c_k sing song people after that all got their mouth stuck!!!