Jetta vs lancer ralliart

Spoony

Insurance and petrol consumption can add on to total ownership cost of the car. Therefore it doesn't mean that owners who can afford 110k car will not care about insurance. Why pay more? Lets take an example. A car with insurance of 2400 vs 1200 will mean an additional $100 a month on the ownership cost. As for FC, assuming one car has 10km/L while the other is 8km/L, travel an average of 2000km per month, the additional petrol cost will be about $90 based on 98 octane petrol. So that will be about $200 more per month.

I have seen many cases of people owning cars more than 100k taking 10 years loan with minimal downpayment and even with cashback. The most extreme cases I have is having friend's with 4k salary per month buying brand new 320 with minimal downpayment and 10 years loan. So fo those cases, I am sure insurance cost and FC will play a part.

If insurance is something that is negligible, we won't be seeing so many people complaining about the rising insurance cost over the years as well as increasing petrol cost. I believe everyone has a certain budget as running cost to own a car. It doesn't mean a rich man will not bother about wasting unnecessary money on insurance when he or she knows that it can be spent elsewhere useful. So I always believe every cent counts. Why waste unncessary money on insurance when its mostly the "model" of car that gives the perception that it is under the high risk group and therefore warrant a higher insurance.

I personally own a Jetta GLI. I dun think maintenance wise its going to be much more expensive than a Jap. VW is service at every 15k and for the usual 15k servicing, price is about 180+ for the GLI. I paid 180+ for my Civic last time for 10k servicing.

I am biased in my opinion on which is better since I own one. However, after getting one, Jetta is really a very good car in terms of functions, comfort and stability. I have totally no complain of the car and I am getting a decent FC for a 2.0T. My average FC is 10km/L for a 70% City (with lots of jam) and 30% highway driving. That is even better than my Civic 1.8.

how old is your Jetta?

Haiz... The problem is this problem is extended to their non sport cars like Impreza and Lancer...

I'm not sure if it's a case of 'spreading' from the sports to the non-sports model but some of the Impreza drivers themselves also drive like they own a WRX / STi. in fact, the recent punggol accident in which a girl died was due to a Impreza owner. if you drive on the road, i'm sure u have seen some WRX or Evo-wannabes doing some crazy driving

which PI still brings in the 2L turbocharged Jetta GLi?

I think they only bring in the 2.0T. Not the GLI anymore. If I am not wrong, There should be less than 30 GLI on the road as VW only brought in one batch.

Would recommend the Subaru Impreza WRX STi 2.5 A-line(automatic), $119,000 for 300 bhp!

but it has 57Nm less than the manual. You get a powered driver's seat (eight-way adjustable) in a nod to comfort, and there's also an exclusive pearl white colour too.

Hope this helps.

Bang for buck cannot hiam liao...

Insurance and petrol consumption can add on to total ownership cost of the car. Therefore it doesn't mean that owners who can afford 110k car will not care about insurance. Why pay more? Lets take an example. A car with insurance of 2400 vs 1200 will mean an additional $100 a month on the ownership cost. As for FC, assuming one car has 10km/L while the other is 8km/L, travel an average of 2000km per month, the additional petrol cost will be about $90 based on 98 octane petrol. So that will be about $200 more per month.

I have seen many cases of people owning cars more than 100k taking 10 years loan with minimal downpayment and even with cashback. The most extreme cases I have is having friend's with 4k salary per month buying brand new 320 with minimal downpayment and 10 years loan. So fo those cases, I am sure insurance cost and FC will play a part.

If insurance is something that is negligible, we won't be seeing so many people complaining about the rising insurance cost over the years as well as increasing petrol cost. I believe everyone has a certain budget as running cost to own a car. It doesn't mean a rich man will not bother about wasting unnecessary money on insurance when he or she knows that it can be spent elsewhere useful. So I always believe every cent counts. Why waste unncessary money on insurance when its mostly the "model" of car that gives the perception that it is under the high risk group and therefore warrant a higher insurance.

Goodness me...your fren $4k salary dare to buy 320.....either he failed his maths or accounts...but then...he may have a secret stash of cash hidden somewhere [lipsrsealed]

Think it is Insurace Agent lah and coming in for management role. They need the car for recuitment lor.

too early to say it's low maintenance. wait until your warranty is over. [knife]

Same can apply for Ralliart wah... remember its a new engine and plateform from Mitsubishi. [sly]