Teen with H1N1 flu left to fend for herself

Thargor

Can't really fault them. If you ask anyone of that age group on the street, how many are aware of the safety precautions concerning H1N1? If whole family go it, no one brings home any $$, who's gonna pay for the medical bills? At least they did not kick her out of the house, instead the parents left. They did not abandon her, I feel that the report is exaggerated. Anyway it's a family decision, not just her parents'.

The public awareness on H1N1 is still a big question mark, even worldwide. The Tamiflu shots are not 100% fail safe. There's a chance that the virus will mutate at this current climate. Fearing the unknown is understandable. If they are aware and go around spreading the virus, dan that's unforgivable.

Can't really fault them. If you ask anyone of that age group on the street, how many are aware of the safety precautions concerning H1N1? If whole family go it, no one brings home any $$, who's gonna pay for the medical bills? At least they did not kick her out of the house, instead the parents left. They did not abandon her, I feel that the report is exaggerated. Anyway it's a family decision, not just her parents'.

The public awareness on H1N1 is still a big question mark, even worldwide. The Tamiflu shots are not 100% fail safe. There's a chance that the virus will mutate at this current climate. Fearing the unknown is understandable. If they are aware and go around spreading the virus, dan that's unforgivable.

if no one bring home any $$, I rather this be the case than to leave my loved ones alone.

What if there's a fire and she's fast asleep. Who would save her?

Don't think can fault the parent. I myself kenna pneumonia once. But before I knew what it was already sent my wife and kid to stay with inlaw . As long not bed ridden, still can take care of one self by cooking simple meal. And without the kid and other people around, I get to rest better.

Some more her parent are old and belong to high risk group, i.e. kenna H1N1, fatalilty is higher that normal young people. If I'm the girl I would understand why they move out. And would take responsibility and quaratine myself from my love ones.

Edited by Ender

if no one bring home any $$, I rather this be the case than to leave my loved ones alone.

What if there's a fire and she's fast asleep. Who would save her?

You win lor. Might as well say an aeroplane fall from the sky and hit her apartment. Who would save her? [rolleyes]

I'll not even let anyone I consider a true friend to go thru tis s--t... No way I"m gonna do it to my own flesh & blood.

That pair of parents really ought to be shot!

Don't think can fault the parent. I myself kenna pneumonia once. But before I knew what it was already sent my wife and kid to stay with inlaw . As long not bed ridden, still can take care of one self by cooking simple meal. And without the kid and other people around, I get to rest better.

Some more her parent are old and belong to high risk group, i.e. kenna H1N1, fatalilty is higher that normal young people. If I'm the girl I would understand why they move out. And would take responsibility and quaratine myself from my love ones.

During the SARS period, I was once suspected of having that virus because fever & breathing problem (actually its hyperventilation).

My dad, despite being almost 60 yrs old and battling with his own weak health, still put on a N91 mask and personally rushed me to the hospital A&E when he could have easily asked my mom who is much stronger (in terms of health) to do it. That shows the love of a dad.

During times when I'm sick, I'd also automatically quarantine myself in my room just to make sure i dun get my family members down as well.

Edited by Rickster

won't be surprise when her parents reach golden yrs and she decides to put them in old folks home, citing the same reason as what her parents gave....thats really karma....

what's wrong with staying in an old folks home? it is a place meant for u to be taken care of well. u dont have to do anything just stay there relax, make frens with other old folks there. send these parents there to old folks home also count them as gd life liao...

i wouldnt mind if my kids send me to old folks home in the future. at least i wont feel bad needing them to spend time to take care of me.

erm...dun jump to conclusion 1st...since the father is govt officer, i believe they have those policy if family members have h1n1, they cant stay with them etc...it should be the govt idea again...but if the parent dun even feed the kid then i tik they r too much,,,,,

it is different u are a full grown adult and can jolly well take care of yourself but a 15yr old to fend for herself....even if really afraid to spread, the mum a hse wife should stay with the daughter and the dad can go stand with relative since he is the bread winner of the hse and can't fall sick.