Why road hogger turned racer after being overtook?

Atonchia

I was at PIE towards Tuas this afternoon, started hogged by a car in the 1st lane at 80km/hr after Chantek flyover till the left bend before Ngee Ann Poly.

The 2nd lane was without vehicle and I signal left and filtered out while accelerating, overtook this car at lane 1 with about 3 car lengths ahead (at Anak Bukit flyover).

I didn't signal my intention to return back to lane 1 as normally road hoggers would not be bothered too much.

This car, suddenly from hogger turn tailgater and racer. Follow me closely. Trying to overtake me. I wasn't too bothered when he overtook me from 2nd lane and back to the 1st lane....than less than a split second, he went back to 2nd lane. I was between 100-110 all the while. When I pass him. This guy was like mid 40s to early 50s, had a female passenger in the front seat around the same age.

I was thinking why so, childish? [hur] Want to drive fast then drive all the way lah. Sudden burst of speed to show what?

He was like back to 80km/hr on lane 2 when I exit at Toh Guan.

What was he trying to show me? He actually know how to overtake and his car can 'chiek' mine too?

or he was pissed because I overtook him from the left and I don't signal while he was hogging on lane 1?

My reason: I was at Turf City proceeded to Bedok to send off my colleague's mum last journey, then when the casket was loaded, I headed back to Bt Batok for another customer. The schedule was tight, but still manageable. I wasn't speeding excessively.

Sometimes these jokers really :wacko:

Edited by Atonchia

Are you asking a real question or are you just relating a story so that forumers will come in and bash this guy for first being a hogger and then being a tailgater?

Not directed to just this guy.

I think there are many here whom have met with similar circumstances before.

It just really hard to understand why these people behave this way.

Is such behaviour age related ie: male menopause syndrome for middle age man, or high testosterones and adrenaline symptoms for young drivers?

Is it gender related?

So far have not encounter such actions from female drivers - whom are usually 'hoggers but remain hoggers'

Does a [gorgeous] female front passenger bring out the primitive male instinct of flight or fight or rather in this case 'fight and flight'

[:/]

These types of road-hogger think they are pace-car or safety car or speed marshal.

Expect everyone LL must follow them at their hogging speed, not allow to overtake them.

emm, then whats the 'ideal' speed that you shld travel on 1st lane? (limited to 90 wor) [:p]

The answer is that you can travel at any damn speed you like provided there's noone behind you who clearly wants to go faster. In which case, either a) speed up or b) filter left (with signal) and give way as soon as it is safe. This applies even if you're at the legal speed limit, and the guy behind you wants to exceed it. You are not the traffic police, and neither should you be an unpaid vigilante for them. Just be a considerate road user.

Honestly, what's so tough about this for some people?

met with a weird driver recently too. i was in the 3rd lane, the guy was driving in lane 4 and always trying to come into 3rd lane. i tried to slow down to let him change lane, but then he will go back his lane again. this continued for awhile. in the end, i horned him, n went pass him. but shortly after that, he accelerated all the way and slowed down when beside me as if to prove something. i didnt react, n he zoomed pass me, zigzagging thru the traffic.

ego fella....

1st lane for fast moving cars..........even u travelling at a high speed.....got someone behind u.....jolly well give way or speed up....simple as that......... <_<

Encounter once behind a car at 1st lane......was wondering why the driver step on the brake once every few seconds when there is no car in front and the traffic is smooth......... :huh: Finally i know why!!!! The driver trying to stay at the speed limit of 90km/hr! If exceed the speed limit....he will apply the brakes........wow........really strange driver huh? [wave]

Horning in SG means = GET OUT OF MY F**K*** WAY... When u go Cameron Highlands, Horning is either greeting or warning that there are oncoming/incoming cars at a bend...

I didn't signal my intention to return back to lane 1 as normally road hoggers would not be bothered too much.

kpkb so much for F? idiot next time wanna overtake signal 1st, u were basically asking for it. pissed off that old man who is just trying to observe speed limit.

u're just another toilet bowl driver

kpkb so much for F? idiot next time wanna overtake signal 1st, u were basically asking for it. pissed off that old man who is just trying to observe speed limit.

u're just another toilet bowl driver

Then why do you want to pass motion here too? [laugh]. Remeber to flush hor. [laugh]

Yalor my IQ is only averaqe at 129 leh, hope your are a better idiot than me hor. [smash]

If he's hogging why should he be bothered since he is maintaining the same speed and not accelerating?

I pass him with more than 3 car space too. Unless it's about 1 car length then I'll signal right to filter back to let the driver know I'm getting back.

My overtaking manoeuvre does not require the overtaken car to slow down or brake, he or she can continue to hog.