City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 I think nobody in their sane minds is asking for us to close up completely.. we cannot..we need to allow competition even in the labour market but I think what irks many of us is the ease of some "talents" sneaking in couple of months ago, it was reported that "Singaporeans" productivity has dropped..how true is that..a workforce bloated with "FTs" whose productivity has dropped cannot just be blamed on Singaporeans.. in real experience, I have seen "foreign talents" working in our manufacturing sectors just wasting time, doing tons of OT (they dun have other life outside) and generally producing little..that's where "our" productivity went i agree but facts are facts many in singapore are not willing to take up hdb rubbish cleaner jobs, kopitam cleaners, toilet cleaners these workers will eventually have to come from somewhere ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Talent? I dunno what they mean by talent till now. Is it better den sporean consider a talent? Imo the talent in spore is not consider really a talent coz real talent will not come here and work. We got nothing to offer them imo. For instance spore football, those ang moh is a talent to the FAS, what abt cristiano ronaldo, kaka, rooney, drogba? They muz be god liao if those ang moh in spore is talent. If we can import roandlo, kaka, rooney here to play in sleague, den its really call import of talent to improve spore sport. Too bad spore got nothing to offer to them. Same goes to the rest of the industry, real talent will not come here. Face the fact. Is it better den sporean consider a talent? I would say yes.. if you cannot find someone here with the skills the talent has, then import him.. if you can't import no.1, how about no.2? if you are always gunning for no.1 (who you yourself say they won't come), then you would have been left behind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 i agree but facts are facts many in singapore are not willing to take up hdb rubbish cleaner jobs, kopitam cleaners, toilet cleaners these workers will eventually have to come from somewhere yes pray, did you see what I wrote? these jobs you qouted are those that are shunned by locals..there's no denying that someone needs to come in from somewhere what about secretarial jobs? what about customer service jobs? do we just import because they are cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 im sure we all see the pros, the issue here, for us, is that the cons outweigh the pros. i agree that we should brace ourselves for competition, but the govt must also realise that MANY of these so called FTs have absolutely no talent. So if so many FTs have NO talent are coming, then the talented Sinkie have NO FEAR, isn't it? Unless, you tell me the Sinkie also have NO talent? What about the rate of increase? within 10 years, we have been overrun by them. True, i agree that we should open our doors to competition. But shouldnt its impact have been mitigated. They have, imo, lowered the standards, issuing passes to every tom dick harry with an inkling of use. was that necessary? Why should the rate of increase bother the talented Sinkie as from above, unless the complains are from untalented Sinkies? im not even sure if you grasp the capabilities of some of these so called Talents. perhaps you dont need to deal with them, but most of us do. Plus the fact that there are so many complaints would give you an idea. If you need to deal with them, then I can only assume you have no talent. And if that is the case, the Papies also don't want you. Harsh but true. finally, i blame the government for its failed 2 child policy 30 years ago. for me to now blindly accept today's policy because "its policy", would mean my children would suffer 30 years from now. Wrong assumption, the number of children one has, does not mean your children will be failures in their lives. It's your entire way in the of unbringing of them, which translates as to HOW WELL THEY WILL GROW UP to become successful. As a matter of fact, with lesser number of kids, the chances of them becoming successful ARE HIGHER. Anyway, your comments have been highly provocative, which leads me to suspect theres more than meets the eye. so peace out, ill refrain from putting further thought into your comments. cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 By accepting all these FTs, we are helping all other countries solve their unemployment problems while allowing our own citizens go unemployed. Wow, Buddhism act? "If I dont go hell, who go hell?" Self sacrifice. Any idea does FT view us the local in this manner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 what about secretarial jobs? what about customer service jobs? do we just import because they are cheaper? i suppose it was rhetoric, but i'll answer anyway. yes. of course. did you think there was ANY quality in our "customer service" jobs? haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 u go to a countryclub, u flash ur membership card u can access to their only to member places. if u r not a member at best u can go to their toliet to pai liu oonly i remembered recently paying my meal with my gold credit card, the next door FT (chinese sounding - no offences) paid with an infinite card how i know because the waitress and I saw them pay SICC membership quality has also drop with alot of FT buying their way into the club it is really easy suppose i want to be elected as an executive member rub shoulders buy these executive members expensive meal and gifts and come next election pai seh dont vote for him it is called i scratch your back you scratch my Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 i think cannot say the FTs here have no talent . Like my work place where every worker has at least a bachelor degree, some doctorate, there are many foreigners who hold higher position than local singaporeans, and they earned it the hard way. some of them are malaysian and hongkongers, i hate to admit it but they are better than some locals, myself included. you cannot think that all FTs are road sweepers or table cleaners, there are different levels of working FTs. What you mentioned that is minority lah. That is always happen seen many many years ago. How during the recent few year, the growth is different now. I believe ppls here are targeting on the not so call FT (the one that sell pirated DVD etc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 i suppose it was rhetoric, but i'll answer anyway. yes. of course. did you think there was ANY quality in our "customer service" jobs? haha haha..upgrade la I meant, don't just import for cheapness..or rather, don't allow it that easily..because businesses being businesses, they will go for low costs..cannot blame them for the bottomline..but the govt should be there to act as a countermeasure there probably is one but not darn good enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 yes pray, did you see what I wrote? these jobs you qouted are those that are shunned by locals..there's no denying that someone needs to come in from somewhere what about secretarial jobs? what about customer service jobs? do we just import because they are cheaper? i think part of the strategy of our government policy is opening the flood gates for FT is for us local to open our eyes so that we do not have the crutch mentality if we continue to be pai see (naughty) worse will be coming so next election be good boys and girls the government (or should it be the PAP) I keep getting the two mixed up we will decide to close the gate tighter if we have a resounding yes from the public Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 What you mentioned that is minority lah. That is always happen seen many many years ago. How during the recent few year, the growth is different now. I believe ppls here are targeting on the not so call FT (the one that sell pirated DVD etc) actually nowadays there are thousands of hungry graduates waiting to come in..e.g. from China..the next wave's english is relatively good..if the flood gates are opened and hiring is based on cost alone, then it's clear where local grads stand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 i think part of the strategy of our government policy is opening the flood gates for FT is for us local to open our eyes so that we do not have the crutch mentality if we continue to be pai see (naughty) worse will be coming so next election be good boys and girls the government (or should it be the PAP) I keep getting the two mixed up we will decide to close the gate tighter if we have a resounding yes from the public bro, I am sorry but I have to disagree with you "we will decide to close the gate tighter if we have a resounding yes from the public" <- I think this is...nonsense..sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samster69 Clutched December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 I worked in an ang mo MNC company. Head of department is a PRC, deputy also PRC. The PRCs below all ho sei. Well taken care, more projects. Attend good courses. The locals and Malaysian all suffered. Everyday kena F everyday. Really CCB!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 one of the reason for the high cost of living in singapore is the cost of labour hence lower cost of labour by bring in cheap FTs government policy also get screwed both ways glad i am not a civil servant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 we as a country do not have natural resources after a certain time we need to move to other countries to invest including moving our locals as FT in their country if we close up then we can at the end chiak sai that why I am seeking which countries is similar as Sgp that can give us the similar benefit that is given to other national? Free study, better exchange rate, higher salary, more prestige experience gain when return back to home country, better sercurity, equal opportunity as local, give PR status easily etc. Can just give us the advise tip on which country? So that we may consider to try our luck there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 bro, I am sorry but I have to disagree with you "we will decide to close the gate tighter if we have a resounding yes from the public" <- I think this is...nonsense..sorry i agree with you the latter was meant as a pun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 I worked in an ang mo MNC company. Head of department is a PRC, deputy also PRC. The PRCs below all ho sei. Well taken care, more projects. Attend good courses. The locals and Malaysian all suffered. Everyday kena F everyday. Really CCB!! if you girl ok but if you guy better buy vaseline on the serious side of things prove to them you are better go do your own studies or courses and in a few years show them who is boss i suspect your company is a PRC company Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 yes pray, did you see what I wrote? these jobs you qouted are those that are shunned by locals..there's no denying that someone needs to come in from somewhere what about secretarial jobs? what about customer service jobs? do we just import because they are cheaper? Yes just go to Sony customer service and u will know all the counter staff are FT...do we really need them. We have many "O"level and ITE grad to fill in this type of job. Why hire "FT" the only reason I can think of is cheap..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...