Zyrofillica 1st Gear December 9, 2009 Share December 9, 2009 (edited) i wish we all had huge garages like the ang mohs. They have the liberty of space and lax laws on car modification. So loads of them become part time mechanics as a hobby. true la, singapore cars outside all flawless, owner want exterior to be swee swee, inside falling apart from lack of maintenance. Speaks volumes for our mindset, "face" more important than substance. Edited December 9, 2009 by Zyrofillica ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Japanese car owners don't have the luxury of parking space let alone service/repair space but all their vehicles are very well maintained as they believe very much in preventive maintance. They are so well maintaint that even after scrapping the vehicle the chomp parts are also in great demand all over the world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fattychubby 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 any good power steering oil to recommend for Hyundai cars? i read and find the DIY challenge is to suck out the old PS fluid... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 This is one of the tools used by workshops - oil suction gun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 10, 2009 Author Share December 10, 2009 This is one of the tools used by workshops - oil suction gun get a 50ml syringe and 12 inches of those air pump tubing from local fish shop. total damage $1 only.... thats what i use... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 10, 2009 Author Share December 10, 2009 okie, I hace just change 2 round of my PS fluid today. just nice 150ML bottle for 2 rounds change. My millage is 120K and nvr get the PS fluid changed b4. I look at the drained PS fluid... nothing unusual, just that colour is darker compare to the toyota type IV ATF that i bot. not too sure whether the darker colour its due to diff oil or its containminated, toyota is using D2/D3 oil for Vios & ALtis... As for the diff b4 and aft change. i cant feel anything... as usual. maybe i am a bit too kayu I will do another 4 rounds of change at the interval of 3 days. the fluid will be collected and picture will be taken for comparison. Will post it here once its done... Equipment, tools & cost. 1) Toyota Type IV ATF 4L tin from Sungai Kadut industrial park- $30 (knn... heard can get it as low as $26) 2) Funnel + 1 feet silicon hose from local ABC shop- $1.50 3) 50ml syringe- $0.80 4) 1 feet air pump tube from local fish shop- $0.20 5) 1 roll of toilet roll (MUST HAVE)- $0.80. PS: if you want to change it more efficiently. change it while the engine is hot. you can suck out more oil as the oil level at the PS fluid reservoir is higher. However, if your PS fluid reservoir is located at some difficult to reach location. Ready to get burn.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 It's ok to use improvised home make suction gun if you are doing DIY and have the time to slowly drain the total volume but for shops they are in business and therefore time is money.Using a 0.5litre manually suction gun is already a obsolete method, most would have use a air operated vacuum brake bleeders to do the job that may takes only few seconds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 May I add one more item - one pair of disposable glove Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spawnstar 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 can i confirm that power steering fluid = ATF or it is NOT the same . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken1898 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 can i confirm that power steering fluid = ATF or it is NOT the same . ATF = Auto Transmission Fluid Recommend to renew every 40K interval for most cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 can i confirm that power steering fluid = ATF or it is NOT the same . Most car power steering fluid is using ATF. But Honda I hear are fussy, their ATF is quite special. I read AFT and power steeing fluid are very similiar, except AFT having more additive for gear box environment where as a power steering system is just a simple hydraulic system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roadhogger 2nd Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 confirm have lah... and the manual recomended to use D2 or D3 rated ATF. I thought G10 electric power steering? No PS fluid leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 10, 2009 Author Share December 10, 2009 (edited) can i confirm that power steering fluid = ATF or it is NOT the same . To be honest, i dunno.... Think you may wanna check with your car owner manual from my vios owner manual, it was telling me to use dextron 2/3 ATF for my Power Steering fluid.... Think toyota cant be wrong since they are the one who make the car.... i checked/searched from BITOG and MCF. ...members confirmed that toyota type IV ATF is 1 grade higher than D2/3, I double checked my my Mech and they told me that any ATF can be use... therefor, i get the toyota ATF. cheaper and more readily available. Edited December 10, 2009 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 10, 2009 Author Share December 10, 2009 May I add one more item - one pair of disposable glove hahaha... dun need lah, i use syringe this afternoon, no dripping at all. very clean job... just use toilet roll to wipe the PSF cover & dip stick nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 (edited) "Japanese car owners don't have the luxury of parking space let alone service/repair space but all their vehicles are very well maintained as they believe very much in preventive maintance. They are so well maintaint that even after scrapping the vehicle the chomp parts are also in great demand all over the world." actually, singapore vehicles are in great demand all over the world too, even to be used as spares. can go those car export sites and see all the vunderfull singapore cars for sale in export market. why? cos we change cars at 50000km lol. (other drivers in the americas/europe drive them to hell) regarding jap exports, japs have a culture of not accepting 2nd hand goods. so most of their vehicles are exported instead of being resold within their market. on top of this, they have subsidies to upgrade their vehicles (only for made in japan models) so, just like us, they export their vehicles at pretty low mileages. Hence the creation of japanese export "heaven". Edited December 10, 2009 by Zyrofillica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 can i confirm that power steering fluid = ATF or it is NOT the same . ============= Check your handbook to b very sure but all the cars I owned with PS fluid used Dexron ATF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 ATF = Auto Transmission Fluid Recommend to renew every 40K interval for most cars. =========== ATF in the autobox is recommended to replace at intervals mentioned but PS fluid is never mentioned. Maybe is like use till PS fail. Then repair & change fluid at the same time? But Im sure its good to practice preventive maintenence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 "Japanese car owners don't have the luxury of parking space let alone service/repair space but all their vehicles are very well maintained as they believe very much in preventive maintance. They are so well maintaint that even after scrapping the vehicle the chomp parts are also in great demand all over the world." actually, singapore vehicles are in great demand all over the world too, even to be used as spares. can go those car export sites and see all the vunderfull singapore cars for sale in export market. why? cos we change cars at 50000km lol. (other drivers in the americas/europe drive them to hell) regarding jap exports, japs have a culture of not accepting 2nd hand goods. so most of their vehicles are exported instead of being resold within their market. on top of this, they have subsidies to upgrade their vehicles (only for made in japan models) so, just like us, they export their vehicles at pretty low mileages. Hence the creation of japanese export "heaven". =================== Last time I drive a COE Corona with milage of abt 200K km & my German fren see get shocked. He say in Germany most cars not more than 100K km or 3 years old wil b sold already. I think ty wil b exported to poor East European countries. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...