Anyone changed/flushed their power Steering oil?

Tigershark1976

read from BITOG & undestand that the ang moh change/ flush their power steering oil. but i dont think its a common practice here. We only bleed brake oil, change gear/ engine oil & flush radiator... i try to look at my vios owner manual and it doesnt mentioned anything about changing the power steering oil as well... just top up if the level drop.

Can anyone advise?

Edited by Tigershark1976

You can DIY...

1. Use a shampoo pump to pump out the old PS fluid from reservoir.

2. Pour in new PS fluid.

3. Start engine.

4. Drive and at the same time turning your steering wheel left and right as the vehicle is moving.

5. Repeat turning of steering wheel for ~10 times.

6. Repeat steps 1 and 2.

7. Repeat steps 4 to 6 for 3-5 times and you should have relatively new PS fluid in your reservoir.

read from BITOG & undestand that the ang moh change/ flush their power steering oil. but i dont think its a common practice here. We only bleed brake oil, change gear/ engine oil & flush radiator... i try to look at my vios owner manual and it doesnt mentioned anything about changing the power steering oil as well... just top up if the level drop.

Can anyone advise?

I used a suck and fill method. But you need to do a few times to get most of the old fluid out.

The other method is to jack up the car, disconnect the return hose and put it into a container to collect the old fluid. Disconnect the spark plugs and crank the starter motor while turning the steering at the same time. This will force the old fluid out. At the same time, the fill up the reservoir with new fluid. You may need to temporary plug up the return line hole.

Then put everything back and start the engine. Turn the steering lock to lock a few times to purge the air bubbles.

I did my own steering flush at 20k and a recent one at 40k km. Similiar method as yours, except i using 2 jacks to support the front of my car, so just start engine and I can turn the steering wheel to full right and full left a few times, followed by a few drain and refill and repeat the steps.

Using a short piece of 10mm hose at the outlet of shampoo pump helps to discharge the steering fluid into another container without making a mess.

So far a can (4 litre) of stock ATF can use for around 3 flush. After finishing the stock ATF I plan to use Amsoil ATF for longer drain.

No fix rule, but I feel better to flush the fluid slighly earlier to get the wear metal and dirt out of the system after run-in. Now I trying to use up the stock AFT which I bought, so can switch over to synthetic AFT sooner for longer drain.

Even my manual gear box oil I change after clocking 10k km, to flush out the wear metal after run-in. Later can go for longer drain.

alot of workshops out there also provide this service so if you are lazy to DIY, can get this workshops to do for you, think should be less than $50 for this job.

including ATF?

hi all... thanks for all the feedback. How come the owner manual never mentioned anything about replacing/ bleeding the PS oil??

think the more comprehensive way will be draining off all fuild by disconnecting the return hose but sounds a bit complicated... easy way, suck out and refill, on the other hand, is simple as 1,2,3 but not too sure whether the possible debris/ metal particle could be removed from the Power Steering system...

Im driving Vios and the stupid PS reservoir is hidden at the back of the engine... to make it more challenging, so low that its almost same level as the extractor... knn.... think i may ask workshop to do it for me....

No fix rule, but I feel better to flush the fluid slighly earlier to get the wear metal and dirt out of the system after run-in. Now I trying to use up the stock AFT which I bought, so can switch over to synthetic AFT sooner for longer drain.

Even my manual gear box oil I change after clocking 10k km, to flush out the wear metal after run-in. Later can go for longer drain.

talking abt Manual gear oil... i really regretted to change it at 20K, I shoukld change once i got the car.... when i drain off the gear oil, my mech shows me the "milky" colour gear oil and told me that it was contaiminated by water... no wonder my gear shift was so tough.

Changed mine at workshop during 80K.

Kept hearing weeeeweeee sound when turning at low speed, especially in MSCP.

After flushing and replacement, sound gone [:)]

Can anyone advise?

I changed mine at 40k mileage and recently did it again in my 80k servicing.

Cheers!

talking abt Manual gear oil... i really regretted to change it at 20K, I shoukld change once i got the car.... when i drain off the gear oil, my mech shows me the "milky" colour gear oil and told me that it was contaiminated by water... no wonder my gear shift was so tough.

My gear oil also don't looks good when drain at 10k km. Kind of greyish fluid instead of the normal golden oil colour. I assume its the factory gear oil without dye and perhaps some assembly grease?

greyish fluid? dunno that, must ask experience mech... for mine, confirm contaiminated by water. the milky coloured gear oil is caused by water mixed with oil...

wow power steering fluid really must change that often? every 20k?

===============

Ang Mo r more aware of preventive maintenence.

Here its just use till spoil then change lor. More expensive long term option.

But slowly we r learning. Some going the DIY route cos many ws still not keen to do it for u unless u willing to pay high labour charges.

Genie47 has a sticky explaining how to DIY the PS fluid flush in detail. [thumbsup]