Kia Magentis Taxi

Hungee

2 encounters on Kia Magentis Taxi over weekend.

Friday night boarded one such cab. The cabby was like a F1 driver, he kept shifting gears, dashing fwd, braking excessively over short travel (got cars in front). At traffic light, he shift gear again, move off shift gear again. I look over, eh ? auto gear leh .. he shift what ah? the whole short journey is jerky at times, speedy mostly ...

Sunday evening (730pm) along Bras Basah road towards suntec, 2nd left lane no car, I was abt to filter from left into it, then realised a kia Magentis cab without headlamp on sped up and cut me very closely. then at suntec junction (where the left goes to nichol hwy), it cut to the right lane (3rd lane). as we progress it was blocked by cars in front. I 2nd left lane I was turning left to suntec, he could have filter left behind me, but he decided to continue and wanna cut in front of me. As a bus was at left lane, I turned slowly, it was trying hard to squeezed in, again very close. So I highbeam him once. when he eventually managed to turn left ... he sped off very fast again.

Conclusion - Kia Magentis very good speeding car ? and/or Kia Cabbies are F1 trained/inspired ?

Just to share ... anyone can relate the Hydnai Sonata cabs?

Edited by Hungee

IMHO, cannot conclude like that, get over it n move on, probably its d drivers n not the kind of cab. When U r in it n paying, tell them to slow down loh. :D

for the first case, u should tell him off.

i had a similar encounter as u, i am in a cab on the way to catch a flight. that joker just love to tailgate and driving between 120-140, i just told him off saying i still want to live, if he like to speed and tailgate, do it later.

Friday night boarded one such cab. The cabby was like a F1 driver, he kept shifting gears, dashing fwd, braking excessively over short travel (got cars in front). At traffic light, he shift gear again, move off shift gear again. I look over, eh ? auto gear leh .. he shift what ah? the whole short journey is jerky at times, speedy mostly ...

Sunday evening (730pm) along Bras Basah road towards suntec, 2nd left lane no car, I was abt to filter from left into it, then realised a kia Magentis cab without headlamp on sped up and cut me very closely. then at suntec junction (where the left goes to nichol hwy), it cut to the right lane (3rd lane). as we progress it was blocked by cars in front. I 2nd left lane I was turning left to suntec, he could have filter left behind me, but he decided to continue and wanna cut in front of me. As a bus was at left lane, I turned slowly, it was trying hard to squeezed in, again very close. So I highbeam him once. when he eventually managed to turn left ... he sped off very fast again.

Conclusion - Kia Magentis very good speeding car ? and/or Kia Cabbies are F1 trained/inspired ?

hi bros, just wanna share my experience with a hyundai sonata cab.

took a cab one night. ( a few weeks ago ) to go home. i tell you, the cab driver drove macham like an F1 racer. along PIE, he was on the fastest lane and he never seems to slow down. he 'high beam' at least 3 cars in front of him when they were slower. if i dun remember wrongly, his top speed reach 130 - 140 km/hr.

and you know what he said? when he over take one of the cars, he arrogantly said, 'how can your car win my car? mine is a 2litre lei! if not faster than me, dun block my way la!' then he told me that his car can reach a top speed of 200+ km/hr! better than those other japanese cars! i was like ' ok ok, ur car very good, so now can we slow down? '

wah biang, that 20 minute journey was definitely the scariest ride of my life sia.

maybe he was shifting into neutral when stopping at the light and shift to "D" mode when moving off?

anyway,i had seen just too many of these diesel cab driving like F1 drivers and they think their car is meant for racing.

if iam not wrong,sonata and magentis cab are using the same engine.

their engine has got good low-end torque but the high-end suck which is not good for racing.

only good for city driving.

Edited by Turbonetics

hi bros, just wanna share my experience with a hyundai sonata cab.

took a cab one night. ( a few weeks ago ) to go home. i tell you, the cab driver drove macham like an F1 racer. along PIE, he was on the fastest lane and he never seems to slow down. he 'high beam' at least 3 cars in front of him when they were slower. if i dun remember wrongly, his top speed reach 130 - 140 km/hr.

and you know what he said? when he over take one of the cars, he arrogantly said, 'how can your car win my car? mine is a 2litre lei! if not faster than me, dun block my way la!' then he told me that his car can reach a top speed of 200+ km/hr! better than those other japanese cars! i was like ' ok ok, ur car very good, so now can we slow down? '

wah biang, that 20 minute journey was definitely the scariest ride of my life sia.

as a passenger,you can ask him to slow down and tell him you do not wish to die with him.

anyway,he is just too ignorant.

as a passenger,you can ask him to slow down and tell him you do not wish to die with him.

anyway,he is just too ignorant.

another taxi experience was lagi beta! i took a cab from clarke quay to jurong.

that taxi driver also sped ALL THE WAY! at least 130km/hr too!

then along the way, i paisei and ask him to slow down.

he say cannot coz he very urgent, need to go toilet fter dropping me... :wacko:

think the kia magentis cabs r hell drivers; saw too many speeding / weaving like nobody biz, wonder if they were "pro" b4..

but pls, don't get other drivers involved in ur accident if u happen to incur one!

think the kia magentis cabs r hell drivers; saw too many speeding / weaving like nobody biz, wonder if they were "pro" b4..

but pls, don't get other drivers involved in ur accident if u happen to incur one!

hai but too bad, most of the time, such accidents DO INVOLVE other people or drivers....

another taxi experience was lagi beta! i took a cab from clarke quay to jurong.

that taxi driver also sped ALL THE WAY! at least 130km/hr too!

then along the way, i paisei and ask him to slow down.

he say cannot coz he very urgent, need to go toilet fter dropping me... :wacko:

tell him you are calling the TP now.

or take out your handphone to record his speedometer and send it to TP then see if he is really urgent.

Hmm seems like there's no TP catching speeding at night, everybody speeding like 130 or 140. I always hear extremely loud bikes at night zooming on the expressway.

All taxis are the same. Dunno wanna rush to where sia..They like to tailgate and speed for no reason, also dunno why. There was once i was on nicoll highway and on 3rd lane cos relak driving and drove at 80km/h. Then this sonata came up behind me and tailgate me till i can't see his comfort logo on his bonnet, where the other 2 lanes are empty..Dunno why he dun wanna overtake and rather tailgate..wtf.

Not happy complain lor that's what stinkaporean do best...or better still get a lambo or ferrari so that they won't dare to play with you :D

this is a very common sight nowadays. maybe like my previous experience, they wanna show you how fast their car is. [:p]

btw, are the taxis in singapore have their engines being 'toned' down? or are their engines the same as commercial cars?

Not all are the same lah...

i drove one... only able to drive up till 80km/hr... i am running late that time... tell him still refuse to go any faster..