Spade Neutral Newbie December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 (edited) Horning is GOOD! I love horning at idiots... too many idiots on the road. I will install an fog horn from a ship next time and scare the daylights out of these idiots. If I could I would take a big stone and throw at the windows and remind to stop acting and driving like IDIOTS. Idiot behaviour includes : - not signalling when changing lanes - change lane overtake and then slow down again (sign of just wanting to be in front of any car for lame or no reason). - swerving in and out weaving through cars for thrills - (i hope very much these idiots hit something EVERYDAY). - thinking that every car in front of the IDIOT is a roadhogger, when he's obviously way past the speed limit and the general road speed of every other car on the same road - thinking that every car zooming past the IDIOT is a tailgater, when obviously he/she slower than the general road speed of every other car on the same road. - stopping in front of the side-left-turn slip road, and blocking it during a traffic light stop when there is obviously a generous amount of space in front before the traffic light and next car - the IDIOT should move forward a bit, to stop a huge pile up of jammed cars behind and the cars who want to turn left and have the right of way to have to wait till the IDIOT moves. LTA should put a yellow box here too. - 2 lane right turns, outer one is optional to go straight and turn right, while waiting for cars to clear and green arrow, and the IDIOT is the the only car on the outer lane, the idiot should inch forward till the edge of the turn box to make space for cars behind to move straight through. Stopping there when obviously there was the option of using the inner lane is a sure sign that a jam / pile up will be caused behind the IDIOT causing potential accidents, which may include the IDIOT's car. - IDIOTS who don't stay in their lane. Taxi's are the worst at this. Edited December 13, 2009 by Spade ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 Horning is GOOD! I love horning at idiots... too many idiots on the road. I will install an fog horn from a ship next time and scare the daylights out of these idiots. If I could I would take a big stone and throw at the windows and remind to stop acting and driving like IDIOTS. Idiot behaviour includes : - not signalling when changing lanes - change lane overtake and then slow down again (sign of just wanting to be in front of any car for lame or no reason). - swerving in and out weaving through cars for thrills - (i hope very much these idiots hit something EVERYDAY). - thinking that every car in front of the IDIOT is a roadhogger, when he's obviously way past the speed limit and the general road speed of every other car on the same road - thinking that every car zooming past the IDIOT is a tailgater, when obviously he/she slower than the general road speed of every other car on the same road. - stopping in front of the side-left-turn slip road, and blocking it during a traffic light stop when there is obviously a generous amount of space in front before the traffic light and next car - the IDIOT should move forward a bit, to stop a huge pile up of jammed cars behind and the cars who want to turn left and have the right of way to have to wait till the IDIOT moves. LTA should put a yellow box here too. - 2 lane right turns, outer one is optional to go straight and turn right, while waiting for cars to clear and green arrow, and the IDIOT is the the only car on the outer lane, the idiot should inch forward till the edge of the turn box to make space for cars behind to move straight through. Stopping there when obviously there was the option of using the inner lane is a sure sign that a jam / pile up will be caused behind the IDIOT causing potential accidents, which may include the IDIOT's car. - IDIOTS who don't stay in their lane. Taxi's are the worst at this. You should check your blood pressure regularly. I learnt to accept it and just either ignore or overtake them if necessary. Just want to get to my destination in one piece and most importantly not let my day be ruined by frustration on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 I horn less than 5 times a year. I have no accident in 10 years and I find driving in Singapore relatively stress free. From my observation, people who normally horn a lot have higher chances of accident maybe because they cannot control their emotion while driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 i think it depends there can be polite horns or rude horns Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 if u horn rudely...no one will like....but of course best is not to horn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 I horn less than 5 times a year. I have no accident in 10 years and I find driving in Singapore relatively stress free. From my observation, people who normally horn a lot have higher chances of accident maybe because they cannot control their emotion while driving. i horn when see ccb drivers who kayu and almost going to cause accident....nb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 we should not be unhappy when ppl horn at u , ppl horn at u only when u do some thing wrong , me for example, kenna horn a few time this year, cos i drive till fall asleep, or i dreaming at traffic light. i didnt drive off when green light its ok, got once i drive off when i saw the wrong light turn green, i am glad to all those drive that wake me up by their loud blast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 There was once, i was at a Cross junction Split road. After seeing that the road is clear, i proceed to move off. Only to hear a horn, by instinct, i jam break thinking that there is a car speeding past. Only to realise that a stupied biker was horning me from behind because he want to overtake me at a single lane split road... Some more have the check to scold me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 Dear all... its HONK... the device is a horn... but you HONK at someone... cant imagine 'horning' someone... haha i've seen the indoneasians n pinoys.... to them honking is part of daily life... could be a hobbie...imagine tis bugger honking you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lass Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 kerna horned at when you make a mistake, just wave an apology. however, there are those that can't tahan being horned though they r in the wrong, they will horn you back - must be ego thing. then there are those that completely ignores the horn and continue squeezing in or driving at snail pace, what can you do to these ppl? suck thumb and give way or find alternative lane to go to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 You all dunno meh? Honk when you are horny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tourdefrance Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 It is a vicious cicle. Most drivers in Singapore don't like to be honked at because of the mentality of the drivers giving the honk. If everyone is educated on when to apply a horn like giving a warning or friendly gesture, the receipent may not be so agitated. If someone honks at me and if I am at fault, I would wave to apologise. On the other hand, honking me without my fault and just being uncivilised, I will Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rastaman01 2nd Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 kerna horned at when you make a mistake, just wave an apology. however, there are those that can't tahan being horned though they r in the wrong, they will horn you back - must be ego thing. then there are those that completely ignores the horn and continue squeezing in or driving at snail pace, what can you do to these ppl? suck thumb and give way or find alternative lane to go to True bro some idiots like that........there was once, this taxi stopped at a carpark entrance near to loyang point without hazard lights on........as it is 2 lane only at the entrance and i am leaving the carpark, i had to cut into the opposite direction lane, so i tapped my horn n signalled right to overtake n this idiot driver blasted his sonata horn when i was beside him pointing the middle finger..... i quickly jammed my break n got out n he also did.......he shouted that still have place to go so why must i horn ........ I shouted oi UNCLE I HORN TO WARN U I OVERTAKING AS U NEVER ON YOUR HAZARD LIGHTS N HE IS STOPPED AT THE CARPARK ENTRANCE WAITING FOR WHAT!!!...... N TOLD HIM OFF TO BLOODY READ HIS THEORY AGAIN LO.... N i told him he show middle finger for what?? I THEN showed him back the middle finger n told him he will get a call to his company.......but you all know la taxi company all wayang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Usually I do one or two high beam to warn drivers on the oncoming cars or if they are "dreaming" in their own land when iti s time to drive! A short horn only if they do not notice the high beam. A VERY long horn if the driver tried to be funny and act like a king on the road MULTIPLE LONG HORNS if the driver nearly caused any car accidents ESP in CHECKPOINT. A MIDDLE FINGER if you still try to be YA-YA after mutiple long horns. I was talking to my customer in KL & he told me recently, his friend horned someone on the highway during morning peak hour in K.L. That fella stopped, went over, took out a parang & slash my customer's friend's hand..... After that, that fella just simply drove away acting as if nothing has happened.... True or not, i dunno because i was not at the scene & also, i would not have the guts to show finger in Malaysia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sensei_erictan Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 wa... so dangerous... better be careful when in Malaysia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lass Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 True bro some idiots like that........there was once, this taxi stopped at a carpark entrance near to loyang point without hazard lights on........as it is 2 lane only at the entrance and i am leaving the carpark, i had to cut into the opposite direction lane, so i tapped my horn n signalled right to overtake n this idiot driver blasted his sonata horn when i was beside him pointing the middle finger..... i quickly jammed my break n got out n he also did.......he shouted that still have place to go so why must i horn ........ I shouted oi UNCLE I HORN TO WARN U I OVERTAKING AS U NEVER ON YOUR HAZARD LIGHTS N HE IS STOPPED AT THE CARPARK ENTRANCE WAITING FOR WHAT!!!...... N TOLD HIM OFF TO BLOODY READ HIS THEORY AGAIN LO.... N i told him he show middle finger for what?? I THEN showed him back the middle finger n told him he will get a call to his company.......but you all know la taxi company all wayang stopping at carpark entrance is a very inconsiderate act and this taxi uncle is so aggressive, quite scary eh. if you complain to taxi company, demand for a a reply. i did that before and after a wk, the company reverted to say that the driver already quit his job...how true i don't know. _____ Forrestcat : eh in m'sia anything can happen one loh! heard so many stories and i have a personal encounter i was in friend's car driving bk fr kl. my friend's not a v patient driver, think he flashed a malaysian car and ended up in a road rage of chasing and overtaking and they tried to stop my friend's car and wanted to whack him but we managed to escape. that happened a while ago and i swore to not ever take his car again! he's got 3 female passengers and he was the only guy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alantis5981 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 I also encounter this type of driver before. He cut into my lane and nearly cause an accident so I gave him a short horn. Then he let me overtake him and start to horn me back when he is behind me. So I slow down and ask him wat is his problem and he ask me when I horn him? So I told him that he have cut into my lane I'm travelling so I gave him a horn to warn him. Now the best part He shouted at me saying: You think this is your father road huh?? F*ck you lah.......... Then he speed off. Sigh.............. When got this type of driver on the road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perseus76 2nd Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Hate ppl who horn in jams. We know its a jam and will u pls not add to noise pollution. Not like the horn can do anything to improve the situation. wait till u go to india...hahaha....basically, they connect the horn to "Always On" the moment u start engine...the horning is always ON, till u cut off your engine.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...