Mamamia Clutched December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Alternative is to save money and just get the A5 2.0t quattro s-tronics, with a respectable 211hp with mod potentials to prob below 7 secs Have u driven both the A5 and the S5? I have tested both and I felt the A5 Cab with 2.0TFSI Quattro is a better bet. The 60k differences, I can do a lot more and the S5 stock to stock is not much faster IMO. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinalim Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 fren, for a real head turner... i'll go for Audi S5!!! it is uncommon on Sg rd. what's more... the S5 handles better than 335. fyi, i'm not a beemer fan =p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinalim Neutral Newbie December 10, 2009 Share December 10, 2009 Have u driven both the A5 and the S5? I have tested both and I felt the A5 Cab with 2.0TFSI Quattro is a better bet. The 60k differences, I can do a lot more and the S5 stock to stock is not much faster IMO. totally in agreement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy82 Neutral Newbie December 13, 2009 Author Share December 13, 2009 Have u driven both the A5 and the S5? I have tested both and I felt the A5 Cab with 2.0TFSI Quattro is a better bet. The 60k differences, I can do a lot more and the S5 stock to stock is not much faster IMO. Yeah, i did driven both, The S5 twice. Yeah, i agree the A5 is pretty powerful too. But somehow it just doesnt give me the special feeling. Juts dunnoe wanna go dwn the route of my friend who got the 323 cabrio becoz he doesnt wanna spend so much. End up bigger hole in his pocket as he upgrade to 335 8 months later. However, A5 2.0 t is a far superior car to 323 and with mod potential, the difference in the power is indeed not big enough to justify the $60k. Hai, Headache headache, still haven't booked yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy82 Neutral Newbie December 13, 2009 Author Share December 13, 2009 Hey Eddy82, if u r 27 yrs old this year, dun get the S5/335 lah... personally i feel its a tad uncle leh.. unless u need the 2 extra seats lah of cos.. i am 28yrs old and though i think the S5 / 335 is nice, i am looking at the Z4 / TT(S) range cos its cooler and younger looking... btw know anyone wanna sell a (white colour preferred) mk2 Audi TTC/R with nappa/milano leather seats? pm me with specs / price. Cash transaction for suitable car.. Drawdeknight, i am 30 yrs. I agree with what you said. 2 years ago i should have gone down your route. Was eyeing a 2nd hand Z4. But thought i needed 4 seats, end up my back seats are still like new. I guess i lost my chance to own a 2 seater till maybe next time with the ability to won 2 cars. Has never considered a 2 seater this time round until i saw a slightly over 2 yrs boxster S with low mileage at $190K few days ago! I m thinking, "hey! i will lose lesser money driving this than getting a new S5 cabrio" and its a porsche!! Though some said its a poor man porsche..haha 2 yrs $190k, PI boxster S tiptronic gd deal?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy82 Neutral Newbie December 13, 2009 Author Share December 13, 2009 fren, for a real head turner... i'll go for Audi S5!!! it is uncommon on Sg rd. what's more... the S5 handles better than 335. fyi, i'm not a beemer fan =p Don't agree with that, BMW still handles better though the gap is closing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamamia Clutched December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 (edited) Don't agree with that, BMW still handles better though the gap is closing Depends on what u want. Exclusivity versus mundane BMWs. The 335s are plentiful, especially the 2nd hand import market. I do like rear wheel drives like BMWs, but the interior is old looking. The S5 seriously doesnt give me a special feeling. No wide wheel arches etc when comparing A4 versus RS4 for example. The only differences I can make out is the interior ie. seats and trims and the exterior chrome parts which are matt. Porsche Boxster is a good buy. Take the S which you have mentioned. I also missed a deal on a Cayman S for a mere 170k, 10k kms, Stuggart car. WTF. Right now, still sticking with my Audi cab happily. Edited December 13, 2009 by Mamamia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy82 Neutral Newbie December 13, 2009 Author Share December 13, 2009 Depends on what u want. Exclusivity versus mundane BMWs. The 335s are plentiful, especially the 2nd hand import market. I do like rear wheel drives like BMWs, but the interior is old looking. The S5 seriously doesnt give me a special feeling. No wide wheel arches etc when comparing A4 versus RS4 for example. The only differences I can make out is the interior ie. seats and trims and the exterior chrome parts which are matt. Porsche Boxster is a good buy. Take the S which you have mentioned. I also missed a deal on a Cayman S for a mere 170k, 10k kms, Stuggart car. WTF. Right now, still sticking with my Audi cab happily. Cayman S, stuggart at $170k ???????? Its a no-brainer leh! Age? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear December 13, 2009 Share December 13, 2009 I would go for the newer audi. I think audi is a youngish brand then bmw. Very cool to be seen in an audi lately. The led lightings are one-up the other cars. I am also considering audi for my next car, not the convertible thou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamamia Clutched December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 Cayman S, stuggart at $170k ???????? Its a no-brainer leh! Age? 2 years old Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drawdeknight Neutral Newbie December 14, 2009 Share December 14, 2009 Eddy82: Sigh i have the same thoughts cos sometimes i give my friends a lift (i find that 3 people in a car seems to be the magic number) and hence an option to squueze 1-2 more people behind is good.. hence the audi tt. otherwise i would have gone for either the Z4 or the brera spyder.. porsche is cool.. just tat i m not in the league yet and think i should start off with a simple TT.. haha.. all the best! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy82 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2009 Author Share December 14, 2009 Eddy82: Sigh i have the same thoughts cos sometimes i give my friends a lift (i find that 3 people in a car seems to be the magic number) and hence an option to squueze 1-2 more people behind is good.. hence the audi tt. otherwise i would have gone for either the Z4 or the brera spyder.. porsche is cool.. just tat i m not in the league yet and think i should start off with a simple TT.. haha.. all the best! Used boxster same league as new TT i feel.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liquidfx Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Cars are like girlfriends or party babes for me, when unsure i go for the one i find best looking. LOL, if I still can't decide who is best looking, then the one with biggest boobs would do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 LOL, if I still can't decide who is best looking, then the one with biggest boobs would do yeah, something like that. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diablow Neutral Newbie December 19, 2009 Share December 19, 2009 Audi S5 for me.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azrielsc 1st Gear December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 Both cars are really nice! I have both cars but in coupe forms. The 335 is a lot more moddable, in terms of cosmetics and power, since it has been out for about 3yrs. Driving it hard does put a big grin on your face. Stock-wise, it does look bland and does not excite much. The S5 doesn't have much mods BUT it looks nicer stock-wise. With its LED DRLs, buff rear wheel arches and quad exhaust, it does look menacing. And it sounds great, especially the rumble of the V8. Some facts: 1. S5 is slightly longer amd wider than the 335i. 2. S5 interior is smaller than 335i 3. S5 has lots of buttons in the cabin, 335 is more spartan 4. S5 MMI is more powerful, but 335i iDrive is simplier to use (Gasp, I couldn't believed I said that iDrive was easy! :)) 5. S5 boot space is 1L more than 335i's. 6. S5 moonroof doesn't open totally, it only tilts upwards. 7. Both are pure 4-seaters, unles your passenger is willing to sit on the middle transmission tunnel separating the 2 rear seats. In terms of driving, the 335i steering is heavier than S5, even if u choose Dynamic mode on the S5. My experience is that whilst taking a corner, the S5 allows you to go fast, knowing that it has AWD, but it doesn't excite u as much as the 335 with its RWD. Cheerio! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddy82 Neutral Newbie December 23, 2009 Author Share December 23, 2009 Both cars are really nice! I have both cars but in coupe forms. The 335 is a lot more moddable, in terms of cosmetics and power, since it has been out for about 3yrs. Driving it hard does put a big grin on your face. Stock-wise, it does look bland and does not excite much. The S5 doesn't have much mods BUT it looks nicer stock-wise. With its LED DRLs, buff rear wheel arches and quad exhaust, it does look menacing. And it sounds great, especially the rumble of the V8. Some facts: 1. S5 is slightly longer amd wider than the 335i. 2. S5 interior is smaller than 335i 3. S5 has lots of buttons in the cabin, 335 is more spartan 4. S5 MMI is more powerful, but 335i iDrive is simplier to use (Gasp, I couldn't believed I said that iDrive was easy! :)) 5. S5 boot space is 1L more than 335i's. 6. S5 moonroof doesn't open totally, it only tilts upwards. 7. Both are pure 4-seaters, unles your passenger is willing to sit on the middle transmission tunnel separating the 2 rear seats. In terms of driving, the 335i steering is heavier than S5, even if u choose Dynamic mode on the S5. My experience is that whilst taking a corner, the S5 allows you to go fast, knowing that it has AWD, but it doesn't excite u as much as the 335 with its RWD. Cheerio! Azriel, you are really lucky to own these 2 great cars..but am surprise you have them both as coupes. Would u still get the S5 if its not the V8 u are having but the V6 supercharge (but with s-tronics) ? Somehow my feel is the S5 has lost a bit of that WOW!" feel...with the V8 ,its such good-value i can almost compare her to the granturismo which almost double in price! My main criteria is a cab this round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azrielsc 1st Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 Azriel, you are really lucky to own these 2 great cars..but am surprise you have them both as coupes. Would u still get the S5 if its not the V8 u are having but the V6 supercharge (but with s-tronics) ? Somehow my feel is the S5 has lost a bit of that WOW!" feel...with the V8 ,its such good-value i can almost compare her to the granturismo which almost double in price! My main criteria is a cab this round. Thanks, we have a cab at home as well, hence the choice of coupes for the 335 and the S5. Honestly, I cannot be bothered if it came with a V6 SC or a V8, as long as the performance stays about the same. Even with the V8, there is a very slight lag when u decide to mash the accelerator because the S5 is no lightweight and the 2008 S5 coupes didn't come with the s-tronics gearbox though, but I have to say that the autobox is still quite impressive. With a V6 SC, I guess that modding it for more power may be slightly easier than a NA engine. Another thing is that savings for the road tax can amount to quite a bit, going from a 4.2L V8 to a 3.0L V6 SC. :) Overall, stock to stock, I love the S5's beautiful lines and shape more than the 335i. And I believe that the folding cloth roof of the S5 resolves the lines of the car better than the 335i metal roof. But in terms of driving dynamics, I prefer the 335i. I know it's a tough choice, but a good problem! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...